We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #100 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A fun place to stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel with my family this past long weekend. This was not our first time at his place.

Hotel Gouverneur Place Depuis, Montreal

Pros:
- Great location, you can walk to Downtown & Old Montreal.
-An IGA store is right next door.
-Underground connection to the Metro Berri-UQAM, from there you can go in any direction
you wish.
Cold breakfast was included and it had plenty of choices. If you wished to upgrade and get hot
items there was that option too, for an extra fee.
-The dinning room staff was great, perky, friendly and they could switch languages back & forth.
They make you feel welcome.
-Smooth check in & check out. No surprises.

Cons:

A few negatives, as we didn’t get shampoo in our room for the first couple of days,
we had to chase one Housekeeping lady to get some. After that is was okay.
-Noisy, due to the location and the long weekend, lots of parties going on in the building.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonnita02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    361
    345
    143
    123
See reviews for
182
333
123
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Rooms are spacious, hotel is looking a bit tired & outdated. Breakfast was included but is consisted of a choice of 2 pastries & a very small fruit salad.
Although located very close to the Rue Berri Metro train station it is also across the road from a park that was always full of beggars and what appeared to be homeless people. There were a number of adult shops in the area too so this was a negative for the location.

Service at the hotel was ok/good but nothing outstanding.

We did book a second room for our 26 y/o daughter & her girlfriend friend to stay near us rather than at a local hostel and they had a room with two double beds of which we suspect one may have been infested with bed bugs as after only a couple of hours in beds she had a number of bites on her face & shoulder on one side.
The hotel did change their room the next morning but tried to pass it off as mosquito bites! They did give them a free breakfast for one day though.

Be wary if you intend to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oztravellers5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The one thing this hotel has going for it is location. Just off rue Ste Catherine in the gay village, close to good shopping and restaurants. Unfortunately, the hotel has seen better days. Dusty rooms,grubby walls, clogged bathtubs, all lead up to the impression that the owners aren't interested in maintaining standards. Even the lobby chairs are frayed. And as for the morning desk clerk, as pleasant as she was, I don't think the hoodie and cutoff jean shorts presented a professional image. We won't be back until this place has had a serious upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights after booking through Priceline. It was a very convenient location, near the subway and not too far of a walk to old Montreal. Despite this, we were a bit nervous at night as many, MANY homeless people troll the streets around the hotel begging for money.

Our rooms were, again, adequate, but not great. One double bed, tv, wifi. We arrived to a clean room, although there was someones old soap left in the tub. We did think the room felt a bit dank at times and had trouble cooling the room down. there was a constant hum from the ventalation system that we could not get to go away. At one point a lady sneezed next door and we could've sworn she was in the room with us!!! (Otherwise there was no noise. She must have been standing beside the door that connected the two rooms)

Overall, there is nothing 'special' about this hotel. If you are just looking for a place to sleep then you should be fine!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank erobb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel was in a good location for walking around downtown and the service was good. However, the hotel was dated and in need of some TLC. Also, after staying for two nights, we noticed bed bug bites on our arms on the way home from the hotel. When we called the hotel, they checked the room and let us know that we had most likely been bitten by bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#118 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Property: Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price range (per night): $155 - $379
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing