We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Universel Montreal
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$253
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$157
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Le Petit Hotel(Montreal)
US$353
US$342
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
M Montreal(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$264
US$251
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
80
198
152
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
198
152
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic stadiumbotanical gardensbio domele toitoutdoor poolfree shuttlerecommend this hotelmetro stationshuttle servicesliding doorwalking distancestay there againhotel is greathotel restaurantthe room was niceconvenient locationbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while our daughter attended a conference here. The rooms were quite nice, and we found the staff very pleasant and helpful. It is located quite a way from downtown Montreal, but the Metro is close by, and taxi service is prompt and reasonably priced. The location is close to the Botanical Gardens and the Olympic Stadium and other attractions. We found only 2 restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel restaurant has an excellent menu and a nice wine list.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Universel-Mtl, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Richard W,

We are glad to hear that your stay went well. We look forward to welcome you and your family in a future stay in Montreal.

Kind regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Not a lot of choices around St. Leonard but this one was the best and only 10 minutes from our family. Easy to get to, staff was friendly and helpful, parking is free. The rooms had fridges and were about average size. Bath layout was odd so not very user friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant or the indoor pool so I can't comment except they were frequented quite a bit by others.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed at the hotel for two nights during Easter weekend - The hotel was nice and well located, as we were visiting the Espaces pour la vie all weekend. However, there was an event at the same time, which made our experience much less pleasant. I wrote to the hotel but never received a response, so I am posting it here. Our reservation said free parking, however there were never any spaces available during our stay because of the convention at the hotel. The lady at the desk did not do anything to accommodate us. The least they could do would be to reserve parking spaces for their guests.

Secondly, there was huge party because of the convention. The loud music went on until 2:30 am (we were on the 6th floor and the convention was in the lobby area). At 1:30 am we called to ask if it would eventually be lowered, and the man at the desk said there was nothing he could do and that it would end soon. But it finished later and stayed loud. Next time think of your guests.. I a nutshell, we did not get much rest finally and received terrible service from the front desk.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Universel-Mtl, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Carolyn B,

We are sorry to learn that your stay was unpleasant and affected by the lack of parking space and noise from the halls. We are usually able to accomate all our guests with our 330 parking spaces. We were also surprised by the busy weekend and the amount of guests that came for the halls. We thank you for bringing this into our attention as we wish for all our guests to enjoy their stays. We will investigate with the hall manager on why the music has been put so loud as we don't usually hear noises up to the 6th floor.

Regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

For the price you are paying, the hotel is actually pretty decent. We chose this hotel because it was close the the places we wanted to see for our four year old daughter as well as for my in laws. It was close to the Biodome, Montreal Botanical Gardens and was easily accessible to buses and to the Viau Station. They also sell tickets to the Biodome, Gardens and Planetarium. The restaurant serves Italian food, its good but it lacks variety. There is a Madison's New York Steakhouse nearby for alternative which is a 4-5 minute walk. I really thought I'd be intimidated by the French over there from stories I have heard about people visiting Montreal and Quebec but the staff and the people were very nice and spoke english when they knew you did not know French or had a little grasp for it. It was a comfortable place and worth the money we spent. If you are into the Botanical Gardens or Biodome, definitely a great place to stay.
With regards to the room, the furniture was a bit old, the room we stayed at, the air-conditioning unit made some clanging sounds at times, when we asked for a rubber mat for the tub so my daughter would not slip, they gave us a mop, chiller was old with a broken handle inside, room was a bit dark, even with the lights.
But if you are in a budget and are looking for an affordable place to stay close to the Gardens and subway, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: close to the Montreal Botanical Gardens and Viau subway
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Might be an overstatement - I read the reviews and the + outweighed the -
We found that not to be so - BIG screw-up with our Rez (not the hotels fault, that is the only thing keeping this review at Average instead of POOR)
The Lobby is lovely, they are definitely trying to refurbish and remodel, but lacking even in the positives. Like I said the lobby is lovely, old world charming style, but then you get to a room and it is drab and dark and a little dingy, even with a fresh coat of paint, The beds have not been updated, the furniture other than a new flat screen TV is cheap and seems outdated. The bathroom, OBVIOUSLY where they spent the bulk of the remodel $$ is lacking in fit and finish, pretty fixture, that are all loose, beautiful porcelain with a $2 plastic seat, no thought put into what was spent.
The pool that people raved about as an oasis was actually a green quagmire of stagnant muck.
This Hotel makes its living as a LOCAL spot for meetings and weddings, not as a destination for travelers. That was evident. One final note that sums up the vibe of this property.
We are from the U.S. - I speak kitchen French and Spanish - English is my family's only language. We went to the in house restaurant our first night after checking in, and were greeted by the Hostess in french, and when we responded in English got the standard, upity, rude, Quebec response of "Uh, English - I will not recommend this property. And it will be another 30 years before I go back to Montreal.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews