We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,852)
Filter reviews
2,852 results
Traveller rating
2,087
563
132
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,087
563
132
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old montreal junior suite rain spa notre dame exposed brick rooftop bar chocolate covered strawberries beautiful hotel electric fireplace high ceilings jacuzzi tub perfect location turn down service huge bathroom beautiful room hotel bar hardwood floors
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 2,852 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We were exploring Montreal for the first time, splurging on a hotel that would be a relaxing place to return to as we explored. We got everything we could have hoped for, a rooftop cafe in the hotel, a nice city view from our room.

Room Tip: City Veiws, floor 5+ of Bldg 1, South side looks down on the Notre-Dame, we enjoyed our north-ward view out onto Downtown & China Town.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya B, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Bonjour Alex T,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this 5star review with us.

What a pleasure it is to read that your stay with us was a luxurious one.

Hoping to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Tanya Bourdeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a presidential suite. The room was clean, spacious and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The terrace bar had a good vibe and had a great selection of drinks. The decor was modern and we had plenty of space for our belongings. The gym was a decent size. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank S7777P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya B, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Bonjour S7777P,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us.

It is such a delight to read how much you enjoyed your overall experience.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
Tanya Bourdeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Spent 5 nights in a Junior Suite. The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable, and well appointed. And the exposed brick wall added a special charm. The bathroom looked as though it had been just been updated with a high-end, modern feel. Truly gorgeous!! The location was absolutely perfect, on a corner across from the Notre Dame Basilica large courtyard. A perfect spot to sit and people watch. Great base to explore Old Montreal as well as other areas of the city. Also, the extensive, clean, inexpensive metro system is very close by. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops, but the food at the hotel is very good and very reasonably priced. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will absolutely stay here again, and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnV4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya B, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Bonjour John V,

What a pleasure it is to read that your stay with us exceed your expectations.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our showers, location and friendly staff.

We would absolutely love for you to stay with us once again!

Best Regards,
Tanya Bourdeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Only one night here - what a shame. Great hotel in an excellent location. Terrific rooftop bar for a glass of fizz before heading into town. Lovely rooms with huge, comfortable beds. A real (albeit expensive) treat.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya B, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Bonjour Alistair G,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this 5 star review with us.

It is great to read how much you enjoyed our location, rooms and rooftop bar.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tanya Bourdeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We'd booked this hotel not BECAUSE it was "swanky"... but it ended up being just that. It was pricey (close to $300/night) but we figured that was just "how it was" in Montreal, in July (and it is...).
We wanted something special - something that looked like "Paris" or as close as possible. And this was perfect. We did book 3rd party. Travelling as a couple with a 19 year old son (and trying not to totally break the bank) we booked a King Room plus a rollaway. Checking in, we learned the rollaway would be $40 /night! (about 4 x what I expected. The site just said "extra fee may apply". ).
INSTEAD they offered us a "junior suite", for $60 more / night. And this junior suite (7th-8th floor) might possibly be THE nicest place we've ever stayed, all dark wood and brick.

The upper loft was perfect for our son (complete with big screen TV, office area, pull out couch, private bathroom, closet, AND its own entry out to the 8th floor hallway). The "main / downstairs" king room was beautiful too. Full wall of brick, really high ceilings, large bed, 2 night stands; closet, TV, etc. The bathroom was amazing: the shower was large and had multiple shower heads. All amenities were provided. The view was not much - but that didn't matter to us (city is city...).
LAUNDRY: I thought "you know you're in a classy place when the laundry bags are linen...). there is no self-serve laundry at this hotel, so plan your laundry-doing accordingly. That must be an "Americans travelling with families" thing. They are happy to send it out though.

THE HOTEL ITSELF: You're greeted by valets - everyone speaks English and French, so not to worry. Generally you're greeted with: "Hello-Bonjour" or "Bonjour-Hi" .. to see how YOU respond. Then they'll speak english or french. I found them to be quite patient while I dredged up my french conversation skills.
The lobby is grand and beautiful . We did not go to the restaurant or bars. There is complimentary coffee in a sitting area just off the lobby, but it was out of cream when we tried to get some. The front desk person 'called for more' but it never showed up.
There is a large room with a pool table, TVs and couches, for just relaxing. Remember with European hotels, the bottom floor is NOT the "first floor". It's called the Rey-de-Chausee (or... RC on the elevator buttons). The first floor is the next one up.

THE SERVICES: they offer turn down service (seems to just come with it... they just ask you what time you'd like it). chocolates provided, music on, sheets turned down. (for our room AND the son's space). There is a mini bar but we didn't touch it.
PARKING: I think parking added about $40/day to the bill. We never used the car. We were there only 2 nights.
THE AREA: this is right in the heart of everything you'd want to walk to. There are quaint old streets and shops, and alot happening in the nearby plaza. Restaurants, live music, people watching and more.
CONSTRUCTIVE FEEDBACK RE: HOTEL: The room needs more LIGHTS! maybe it's an american thing, but I like alot of light available. Also could use a suitcase-valet or two,and another waste-basket / trash. There was no where to put a suitcase, and only 1 small trash in the bathroom cabinet.

All in all, a "parfait" place to stay, especially when discovering Montreal for the first time.

Room Tip: the rooms are probably SMALLER than you'd expect at an american chain hotel, so don't try to cram too many people in.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMTSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya B, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Bonjour EMTSanDiego,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this detailed review.

We are happy to read that overall you enjoyed your experience with us
.
Please note that your feedback is important, as it helps us work daily on meeting our guests expectations.

We surely hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Best Regards,
Tanya Bourdeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews