We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies, do not underestimate a good concierge”
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #21 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My girlfriend and I took an off-season weekend trip to Montreal in January. Needless to say, we knew what we were getting ourselves into with the temperature in single digits. I chose the W Hotel based on it's solid reputation and also because they were offering some pretty good deals being, again, that it's January. The Hotel is nicely located near Old Montreal, a five minute walk from Notre Dame, and a short cab ride from just about every other neighborhood. Working in the food industry, our Montreal itinerary consisted mostly around restaurants, eating, and drinking. I had only 1 or 2 places I knew I wanted to visit in advance. 1. The amazing restaurant, Au Pied Du Cochon, and 2, Dieu Du Ciel! Brewpub. With only two solid stops I knew I needed back up. We approached the concierge and asked for advice. My girlfriend are both in our mid-20's. At first glance the Concierge told us all about the club scene, outdoor parties, etc..However, once he found out we were serious about the food scene ( a la reservation at Au Pied Du Cochon I made a month in advance) he pulled out all of the stops. Right away he gave us a LIST of local brewpubs and microbrasseries along with his beer recommendations (all of which were spot on). Followed by a LIST of amazing 'foodie' restaurants. As far as the Hotel itself, exactly what you would expect from the W. Clean, hip, trendy, comfortable. Montreal, in my book, one of the most underrated foodie cities, and that's coming from a resident of the NYC suburbs..

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciccotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,030 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

Our room was huge, super-clean, well-lit, very cozy. The halls were spotless. We faced the street, but heard not a peep. We received great service from Daniel and Mireille at the concierge desk. The spa folks did a wonderful, but rather expensive, job.

Our complaints: Sky-high prices in the restaurant and/or room service, and stupidly high-priced internet service in-room. There are lots of dining options a short walk from the hotel (although, when we were there, it was -18F!), so don't bother. And you can get free wireless service in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

My husband and I have been coming here for several years--for romantic getaways and when we have business in Montreal. Very hip design, great location near old Montreal, and wonderful staff. Over the years reception, concierge, valets, room service, and housekeeping have always been excellent. Classy, comfortable place. HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaJBJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Hello dear guests!
Thank you for this beautiful review of our hotel. We are thrilled that the W Team made the difference during your experiences! Aren’t we excellent? As I can see, the W Montréal is the perfect fit for both of you when you are in town, so how about contacting us before your next trip at the W Montréal?
Have fun!
Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I am writing this from the W and while the rooms are adequate and modernly decorated, the room is incredibly dark. I have a window but it appears I am on the interior of the hotel looking out into office space. The W is one of the many hotels that no longer put a coffee pot in the room, which is incredibly annoying if you are like me and require a cup to get the day started. They do offer coffee in the lobby, but I'm not usually presentable when I want the first morning jolt. My flight was delayed and I arrived after midnight. The appearance of the hotel is really not that of a normal hotel. No drive up, check in area. I drove around the block several times before calling and asking where the main entrance was, it's the appearance of an office building and the valet was nowhere to be seen. It was late, and when they appeared they were very cordial--albeit I was cranky from being late and wishing to get a workout in before bed. I made it to the gym and was sorely dissapointed by what they offer. It's better than most Hilton gyms but offers a few free weights and cardio--not as much as I had hoped for. I am a fit traveler and would gift the gym 2.5 out of five stars. The room does have a DVD player, so I'll use that for my evening workout w/a DVD I brought from my fitness collection. I also went in search of some hot water for tea an hour ago. I found a bar but they said they couldn't help me--I guess they don't have hot water to go ? I went to the front desk, but they were too busy. I called and asked if someone would bring me a pot of hot water, it seems like it should be easier. They said they'd send it up. That was over an hour ago----really tough to find hot water for a cup of tea in this hotel. I really hate it when they don't leave a coffee pot in the room--I probably wouldn't have been driven to type a review otherwise.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

It's overpriced for what you actually get. The ambience is nice but the Sheraton and Westin etc deliver better value.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,460 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,727 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $235 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing