We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
25
5
7
10
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
5
7
10
79
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Booked this place weeks in advance, because it is near the bus terminal, in the city and cheep so I thought. I called to ask about certain things like the shared bathroom, i was told i was only sharing the bathroom with the person i was with,not the whole floor i was on. Spoiler alert they lied... there is two rest rooms and one shower on each floor, for all of that floor. Reminds me of dorm rooms. When we arrived. I ended up paying a lot more then I expected. Was expecting to pay $285 USD and ended up paying $350 USD .booked a single bed and got put in a double bed room. I mentioned and brought in a printed page of the booking. and he said yes the price was what the booking was, he lied again. Once to the room, we found no a/c, only a ceiling fan that shut off when you turn the light out. It was so hot in the room we were leaving our hotel room door open just to get air to cool it off. My husband got bite so many times by spiders it was terrible. And had a mouse come to visit and stay in the room with us , that was just great... not. We had to walk down the two flights of stares to ask for bath towels, there was none in the rooms. Not to mention the loud bar down stares of the hotel, where drunks, and people asking for money or a smoke every time you walk out the door. Parking, oh just forget it, not gonna happen, have to park in certain areas on the street at different parts of the day to not get a ticket... which I got one...... or pay $4.00 CAN an hour for a metered spot IF you can find one. Worst Place to even call its self a hotel.

Room Tip: Never Go Here
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam a, Directeur général at Hotel Arena Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We are sorry that you have not found satisfaction. We are doing our best to resolve the problem you have encountered. Thank you for sharing.



Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I stay in this hotel in this hotel in the heart of Montreal, nice staff and respectful. Reception opened 24h. There is a security at the front. The price is affordable. Close to everything and the subway 10 feet away. I recommended this hotel to anyone looking for nice and affordable place for short stay.

Thanks Hotel Arena palace for making my stay in Montreal great. See you next visit

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank issa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam a, Responsable réception at Hotel Arena Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir séjourné dans notre établissement. Nous apprécions vos commentaires, et soyez le bienvenu a Hotel arena palace montreal.


Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I've travelled the world and saw more than one dirty cheap hotel rooms, but this one really stands out.
Hotel staff is very rude and asked to be paid cash otherwise they would charge me more than what was written on my Hotels.com confirmation, I had money on me so I paid cash(mistake). I was then given a handwritten receipt, on which was written : ''NO REFUNDS'', as if they already knew that I would ask for one as soon as I would open my room door. Check-in really felt wrong and awkward(and illegal?).
The room was dirty, really dirty. The bedding was very obviously not clean, there was mold all around the window, and the smell, oh god, the smell was the worst...
It really smelled like something died in that room, maybe under the bed? I checked, there was nothing but a mouse trap, A MOUSE TRAP?? Yeah, that made me feel better about sleeping there... That is the kind of Palace Hotel that I want to bring my girlfriend to, yeah, she likes animals, what about sleeping with rats and bedbugs? (*sigh...)
The hotel did not felt safe at all, i would have never left my room without my belongings.
Shared toilets and showers were disgustingly dirty.
The area where the hotel is located is very far from being nice as well.
I decided to leave my room and get something better, now I will never book a room without reading comments first !!
There is such a thing as cheap and decent hotel rooms, this one is NOT one of those.
Don't encourage scammers !

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JujuHache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam a, Directeur général at Hotel Arena Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We are sorry that you have not found satisfaction. We are doing our best to resolve the problem you have encountered. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks


Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

low budget hotel, 3 days to explore Montreal. hotel seemed as if is the great location for the area. Metro and st Catherine. owner took time to individually meet guest and offer suggestions on what to do and see. would definately stay here again. very charming, staff has limited english yet you can easily get what you need from the personal attention of the security who is on the premises.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Vick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam a, Responsable réception at Hotel Arena Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback, and welcome to your Hotel Arena palace Montreal


Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Went to this hotel on a weeknight. Showed up in person last minute & paid cash. Didn't have any problem. Booked again this time from an online website. On the same day of my check-in they cancelled my reservation saying my credit card was declined. Clerk lady said my credit card info was wrong but the website showed no mistake. The scam is simple: Once they reach full capacity, they cancel reservations of those who paid less and book other clients at a higher rate accepting cash payments upfront. I don’t recommend this place unless you’re already in Montreal and stuck. As for the hotel itself, it is really outdated but clean. Shared bathroom and shower on each floors. Shower and bathroom are divided which is good. Expect a lot of stairs. Without a key getting in is complicated as you have to ring a bell and there is no staff at times to answer the front door. The hotel is in a very sketchy but convenient location downtown close to everything. Lots of panhandlers and druggies. I would not go again. They are not trustworthy with reservations and you will have your weekend ruined.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank flirtsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews