We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good boutique hotel made great by the staff”
Review of Hotel du Capitole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Capitole
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The location of this hotel is excellent. The rooms are all very clean and extremely comfortable, but may lack all of the conveniences of a 5 star hotel. There is a small lobby. I also like larger rooms and separate walk in showers. The building is older and the room size and conveniences are limited to the footprint.

What made this hotel great is the attention and personal service that is given by the staff. We stayed 2 nights, and they really made our stay so much more enjoyable. From suggestions to directions they were so very helpful. I also greatly appreciated that they always greeted me by my name. Two outstanding employees were the general manager and the lobby staff. A big thank you to Roger-Marie and also Charles-Antoine.

I travelled with a group of eight. Although there was not a large formal lobby, there was an outdoor patio on the fourth floor. It was heated and had great views.

We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast each day, and again the staff were very attentive.
I look forward to returning to this hotel, and would highly suggest it to others.

Room Tip: Book an upgraded room, it is a bit larger and worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalina36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

It is with pleasure that we read your great comment. Your kind words will be forwarded to the concerned team. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

It has a very good location, very near to the center of Quebec. The building is singular, is very nice outside..

On the other hand the reception service, in almost all cases (depending on the person) was not very helpful and friendly.

The room was a little bit old (otherwise the bathroom was nice), and smelly (perhaps was the carpet's fault... in our floor it was old).

But the worst thing was de housekeeping... first the sheets weren't change in 4 days, and also didn't do the bed properly, just stretching the cover... Our bed was an absolutely mess... When we complained about that, we didn't get any solution.
And they didn't change the shampoo and shower gel until it was totally empty.

At least Quebec is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merylu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hello Merylu80,
Thank you for writing. We are very surprised by your comment on the service you received during your stay. Be assured that we change the sheets every two days, and amenities at every clean up of the room. Also, we always take the time with all our guests in order to fulfill their expectations. We convey our most sincere apologies. Such a situation cannot be considered lightly on our part and we will make every effort so that it never happens again. We ask you to believe in our most sincere regrets and hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel itself is a landmark. The people working there were all friendly, professional & accomadating. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night we checked in, it was amazing. They had a great bar for drinks. The location was just outside the walled city of Old Quebeck. Everything was great, almost. If you like springs from the matress sticking into your back, then the beds are freat, otherwise, you would be better off sleeping on the floor. I would go back to this hotel only if they promised me they changed the matresses. Otherwise the stay was great. The only other issue was this hotel has an autitorium, when there are events there, don't plan on staying in the room until after 10:00 pm.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat9639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Hello pat9639,
Thank you very much for your comments. In order to make the verification of our mattress, would it be possible for you to give us more information on your room number if you are able to remember it. We really care of your experience in our hotel and we want to make sure that next time you are coming back, we will proof you that we made the adjustments.
Regarding the noise coming from the theatre, we do have rooms close to the theatre but also we do have rooms farther from it and that will be perfect for your next stay with us. We usually inform our guest when there are events and make sure that they are not too close to the theatre but when the hotel is full we do have to assign these rooms.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed at Hotel Du Capitole while visiting the quaint and beautiful city. There was a large Hilton uptown but that's just another chain hotel. Hotel Du Capitole was perfect. It had a great feel to it, the people that worked there were all so very accommodating and were happy to give us directions or their opinions. You can park your car and never use it again because the hotel is right in the city and close to all the sites and attractions. We will definitely go back there on our next visit and highly recommend this hotel. Special thanks to all the great front desk staff!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riskybusiness2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

It is with great pleasure that we read your nice comment. Your kind words will be forwarded to the concerned team. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Went on business trip , this hotel was very clean.
I also recommend the Hotel Restaurant. Food was good & affordable.
We got to enjoy the outside Patio not cold on a cool September evening as they had overhead heaters on their patio. Heater also on the outside Terrasse on the 4th floor
Parking across the street(Youville Parking Lot)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 102 in Quebec City
2,118 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,841 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 102 in Quebec City
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,313 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
787 reviews
0.7 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Capitole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Capitole

Address: 972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $160 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel du Capitole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Capitole, in the heart of Old Quebec! This small four-star 40 room hotel will charm you with its warm and personalized hospitality. At L'Hotel du Capitole, we always roll out the red carpet to pamper our guests with special attention. Discover the warm ambience of our hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec. Whether for a romantic stay or for a business meeting, you will be delighted by our wide selection of packages, which include lodging, meals and dinner shows. Small and large meeting halls are also available for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Capitole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capitole De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Capitole De Quebec City
Hotel Du Capitole Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing