We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$156
US$146
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$387
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Palace Royal(Quebec City)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL(Quebec City)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Littoral - Hotel & Spa(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
79
69
25
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
69
25
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstory roombathroom downstairsgreat locationold quebecmini vacationon site restaurantbeautiful cityspoke englishmain floorstay in quebec citytubfurniturefrenchheart
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Sadly we had a horrible experience at this hotel due to an uncomfortable mattress. Both my husband and I barely slept and woke up with shooting back pain everyday. When we went to the front desk to complain they told us we would have to deal with it as all the beds were the same. I can now barely move and had to wake up in the middle of the night to stretch in order to function during the day. On top of this, the washroom was in a closet (actual childhood closet door from the 80's was there) and super cramped. The tub doors were in the bedroom. When we left an hour ago, the staff didn't even offer to call us a cab. Not impressed. We are both seasoned travellers, having travelled all over Europe and North America, and this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Sarah B,
We are very sorry to read that your experience was not what you expected. Our priorities will always be our guest’s satisfaction and we will share your comment with our team to make sure that this never happens again.
We sincerely apologize if the comfort of the bed was horrible. We are planning to renovate the hotel in 2018 and it will be the perfect time to review the size of the bathrooms.
Again, we sincerely apologize for the bad experience you had and we would really appreciate knowing wich rooms you occupied to make the verification and adjustments regarding the comfort of the bed.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Our room was fantastic, loved the old vintage vibes, and the mezzanine where our bed was located was fantastic!
Although the furniture is more decorative than comfortable, it was usable and we had everything we could possibly need in the room.
The staff were courteous and kind, and provided us with a complimentary late checkout which was very appreciated.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Quebec city, it is walking distance to many tourist attraction and the hotel has a great on site restaurant.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure you get the best room for your needs
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelafauteux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello Pamela Fauteux, thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We grabbed a hotel room for a last minute stop over in Quebec before catching our flight out the next day back to PHL. We found the hotel very charming, a bit quirky but the location could not be beat.

Rooms were very comfortable, right outside St John's Gates great access to shops and restaurants. We had room 203 which faced the wall and found it very quiet for sleeping.. The staff was terrific, very helpful and courteous. Free wifi and valet parking made it an great choice for an overnight in a beautiful city.

Don't hesitate to book this property - you'll find it great value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PAJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for the weekend. The hotel has a quirky theatre theme to it, the room and decor is a little dated but the bed was super comfy. The bathroom is very small but then again what do you need a massive bathroom for. The hotel is in the perfect location to visit the lovely old town area. All in all this hotel is great as a good value stay.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank WEEJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Our stay at the hotel was a wonderful part of our Quebec City visit, as noted by other travelers. Its location right outside the wall of Old Quebec along Rue Saint-Jean is ideal. We had our car conveniently parked and didn't use it for the 3 days we were there. Our bellman, Alexie(?), was delightful as was the wonderful young woman at the front desk (my apologies for forgetting your name). The ambience of the hotel was wonderful, including the views, the rooftop garden and the theater. We were fortunate to catch a jazz performance while there and, amazingly, had front-row seats where we chatted with a wonderful local couple. We were at the end of a hallway and had a very quiet stay. One last big plus: the water pressure in the shower was fabulous! Bed was adequately comfortable and mini bar was well-stocked, although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GJDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews