We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hôtel in the student area, pleasant stay, awesome pool area and atrium - AVOID GRECO RESTAURANT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 30 August 2012

It is my third stay at the Hôtel Universel Québec. It is located close to the university and the students surroundings, and close to a few bars. Hôtel has a free parking.

Everytime I rented a king size standard bedroom and I was never disapointed. They are well decorated, beds are comfotable, and they have everything you need : hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffee machine, flat screen tv, and lots of pilows. Rooms has air conditionning but it is very noisy. Floor is made of carpet but it seems clean.

This time, the bedroom I had was a little bit run down, but nothing serious - broken hangers, scratched desk and table. There was a stain or 2 on the comforter but I took it out, it's too warm this season to sleep with one anyway - the sheets were clean though. But they should clean and inspect the white comforters.

If you book online in advance you will likely get a cheap deal - around 89$ +tx but if you book last minute the room cost can go up to around 150$ to 200$.

The best thing is the pool area - the design of the atrium is awesome. There are lots of tropical plants and tropical birds, rocks with water coming out of it, a suspended-bed hanging from logs and ropes, a cold water cave, a hot thub, and a swimming pool. The jacuzzi-part of the pool was not working, and the sprays of the cold thub were not working either. They were not working the last 2 times I stayed here either. The pool area has it's own towels, but bring your night coat if you want one the bedrooms don't have any.

The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpfull.

Overall I had a plesant stay and will come back again.

Room tip : 3rd and 4th floors do have better rooms.

Strongly avoid : the Greco restaurant next to the hôtel. I will never go there again as the food was uncooked, the staff was rude and the place was noisy as hell - very, very unpleasant. Reed the whole review in "Brochetterie Chez Greco". Bring your own food or go in the Old Town to eat - restaurants are way better out there for a better price and it's only about 10 mins drive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliiMaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Good day,

We thank you for your comment about our hotel. Comments help us improve our services and facilities.

We are happy to know you enjoyed all your stays with us. Of course, comforters should never have any stain: a follow up will be done about it.

About the pool area, in fact, the cold tub doesn't have any spray, there is only a fall; the hot tub has sprays. We are also really happy to know you enjoyed your experience in the nordic spa.

Thank for the comment about our staff, we will share your comment with all our employees.

Finally, please take note that we will switch restaurant in early 2013, but since then, we will do our best to make our guest's experience the best we can.

In hoping to welcome you again

Thank you

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel, is an older hotel with lots of rooms. The people at reception are very friendly and helpful,service with a smile. There is a well set out, indoor pool and spa area, with a very popular Greek Restaurant attached. The hotel is not far from other restaurants and a good supermarket, it is still a long bus trip into town and "Old Quebec City", but you don't have to change buses, it's just the one trip.
Our room was quite comfortable, it had a good bathroom, with good water pressure, free wifi, TV and coffee making facilities, no fridge. However we did hear the plumbing from surrounding rooms, which woke us up in the morning and the ends of the beds, had brackets jutting out, which probably had bed ends screwed to them at some stage, but my wife and I hit our feet and shins on them several times.
The hotel was okay, but you need transport to get to any tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MitchMitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Hello,

We thank you for your comments about our hotel. Comments are very important to us in order to improve our services and facilities.

We are happy to that you enjoyed your stay: the room, the spa area and the hotel's restaurant. It is true that we not down town, but as you said, it is really easy and fast to get there (one bus).

We hope you said your comment about the beds when you checked out, so we can fix the problem right away.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel

Thank you

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Our room was remodeled but some are not so ask to see the room. Easy access to downtown on #7 bus every 15 minutes. Greek restaurant is 1/2 price on Monday. Staff is helpful. There is a hot tub and sauna near the lobby. Good and free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Good day,

We thank you for your comments about our hotel. Comments help us improve our services and facilities.

It is true that Old Quebec is easily accessible from our hotel even if the hotel is not directly down town. We are happy to know you enjoyed your room and the hotel's restaurant, just as the pool and spa area. Thank you for the comment about the staff, it is nice to know that they are always giving the best service they can.

In hoping to welcome you again.

Thank you

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Room was spacious and clean, but we were not impressed with certain aspects of the service. Hotel information book was entirely in French; not very considerate of travellers who are not bilingual. We had to spend an extra day here because I was sick. The hot tub was not open until noon, which was a pain because we set our alarm for the 9AM pool opening and then had to wait 3 hours.
We received a "free" upgrade when we arrived; the front desk did not let us know this until the next morning. When we needed an extra day, that was when we were made aware of the upgrade and told that it cost more than a standard room. That seemed like a sneaky and shady business practice.
Stay away from the Chez Greco restuarant! The food is terrible. I ordered a filet mignon and it came with no bacon wrapped around the steak.The salad was dead and the potatoes were seasoned with lemon pepper-YUCK! There was a VERY LOUD tour bus group who loved to sing French kids songs at the top of their lungs. In the morning, my husband and I were very disappointed in the breakfast selection. The website menu needs to be updated.
I realize the hot tub was likely a one off situation. I just didn't appreciate having to wait so long when I woke up early specifically to use it. The screaming while we had dinner was unacceptable and there is no excuse for having a different menu online than what is truly offered.
Make sure that you ask if an upgrade has occured, in case an extra night is needed. Don't waste your money at Greco either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelesteG722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Good day,

We thank you for your comment about your recent stay in our hotel. Comments are very important to us because they help improving our services and facilities.

First of all, about the information book, as we told you during your stay, all our books are in both French and English. We are sorry that the english section was missing in your book, which why we brought it to you.

Second of all, it was a mistake not telling you that you had received a free upgrade for the first night. That is why you had the second night (the one added) for 169$ instead of 249$.

Third of all, an infortunate situation happened at 9am in the hot tub, which is why we had to close it for 2 hours, but it was back at 11am. We did our best to fix it as fast as we could.

Finally, we take good note about all the comments about the restaurant. All comments will be given to the right person and mesures will be taken. Also, it is the first time we have a situation like this one with the group that was very noisy. Usually, you don't even know there are all together. We would also like to know were you saw the breakfast menu, because it is not on our website.

In hoping to welcome you again

Thank you

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel is excellent value for the money. It is quiet, the rooms are well appointed, and the pool and spa area is lovely and very well kept. Get a one or two day pass at Couche Tard to save money on the bus ride to town. The #7 runs every 10-15 minutes unti around 1:00 am.

Room Tip: Ask for the back away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctbeachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Good day,

We thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. Comments are very important to us to help us improve our services and facilities.

We are really happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The spa and pool area is a must-see in our hotel and we are really proud of it, it allows people to relax and have a nice moment away.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#77 of 102 in Quebec City
570 reviews
3.5 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
6.4 km away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#68 of 102 in Quebec City
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#23 of 102 in Quebec City
501 reviews
9.6 km away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
342 reviews
6.7 km away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $90 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing