We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkgate Farm(Holmrook)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
63
35
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
35
9
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2017

It may be that I've been spoiled by some other places in England, but my boyfriend and I found this place a bit wanting. We had finished hiking Scafell Pike, and we were looking forward to a nice, warm shower. However, in room 15 - a room with an obscured view of the city - the shower ran either scalding hot or ice cold. Check-in was easy, and the woman who checked us in was very nice, but the woman who checked us out tried to charge us for the room even though we had already paid online. The (free!) breakfast was delicious, but the restaurant's offerings for dinner left something to be desired, so we went to one of the other places suggested by the woman who checked us in. Reception in the town was spotty, which made the weak wifi more disappointing - make sure you have your maps already downloaded! The bed was comfortable, but the small comforter just barely covered the two of us (normal-sized adults - truthfully it just covered the bed)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skolhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I stay here regularly on business, and whilst many of the rooms are a bit tired and some of the decorations/furnitureis a bit odd, I keep coming back because the people are so nice.

The food is great too, and if you like a full English breakfast go for the small one as the big one is a monster!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Stayed there in June on the eve of the "Coast to Coast in a Day" cycle ride, check in was smooth and friendly , the rooms nice and clean with nice touches and a spotless bathroom.
Due to the cycle ride starting at 6am i thought breakfast would be a sat on the bed in my room affair, but all credit to the wonderful staff they were up and offering continental or full English from 5am onward.
Should the need arise to visit Seascale / the lakes i would not hesitate booking the Bailey Ground again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiddlyDodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 2 years ago, so when business brought me back to the area there one choice..... This hotel is clean tidy the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent, can't fault it. It a stones throw from a quiet beach and has fantastic views

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Sensibly priced hotel for either business trip or leisure in West Cumbria. Right at the beach front allowing pleasant evening walks and a dip for the more adventurous. Food is excellent both at breakfast and in the evening, the latter offering a wide range of British cuisine with some international dishes thrown in. I was with an international group on business and wasn't sure how they would cope but they all loved the location and the food. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are generally quiet
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pmbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews