We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
30
63
42
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
63
42
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub enjoyed my stay off street parking overnight stop cape town barman vibe personnel yard hote route tasty afrikaans kgalagadi
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Much improvement must be done in terms of the blankets in the cold season. Should people ask for extra blankets they are supposed to be provided. i almost died from the coldness as their airon was not functioning properly and at some point i had to switch it off as i have sinuses

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank samkelisiwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariolane N, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Samkelisiwed

We apologize for your inconvenience.

Blankets are provided in each room and extras are given when requested.

Kind regards

The Calvinia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Hotel was very accommodating and everything was on point. The room that I stayed in was perfect only the food takes long to be made and served and also most of the things that were on the menu were not available.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gontsanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariolane N, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear gontsanap

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Locality makes it difficult, however we appreciate your feedback. We are looking into ways to get this solved.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

The Calvinia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

I don't usually write reviews about the places that I stay for business as they are usually of great standard and offer everything needed, however Calvinia Hotel was very disappointing to say the least.

Upon arrival I was allocated my room, after receiving my room I decided to make coffee, but realized the kettle was not working. Again, not that big of a deal, coffee and tea is complimentary, so not expected, but if you have the facilities why aren't they being checked before a new guest arrives? One of my female colleges had a room with a bathroom, but the paint on the walls of the bathroom where falling off! She was then kindly allocated another room, which is very fair, but again, aren't these rooms being checked as this is a pretty obvious matter that needs attention.

We decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant the evening and that is where our own episode of

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lindylouiseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariolane N, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

We apologize for your experience.

Regards

Calvinia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We had a great overnight stay, linen was clean and fresh, the carpets was a little dusty - need a good vacuum. ( not good for sinus and ashmatic people. )
Kindly please add a fridge to this family room , travelling with children there is always some goodies that need to be kept cold.( food ,drinks and medicine )

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ric12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariolane N, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to write the review.

We urge our guests to come and speak to us when there are specific needs like fridges in order for us to see how we can accommodate them as not all rooms are equipped with said. Please do not hesitate to communicate your needs with us on your next stay?

Safe travels.

The Calvinia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Although some areas are showing age,everything worked and place is well run.Had evening meal and breakfast- will recommend even if you are only passing through (as we have done in the past). Secure parking for our motorcycles was also great.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariolane N, General Manager at Calvinia Hotel by Country Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is much appreciated.

The Calvinia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews