We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bua River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$8
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Thokozire Lodge(Nkhotakota)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Grace Motel(Nkhotakota)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Nawo Rest House(Nkhotakota)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Sungu Beach(Nkhotakota)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
89
18
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
18
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbua riverisland roomshidden gema great stayon the rocksloveliest staffpacked lunchgin and tonicgame reservejohntenthillsidewalkscampwildlifetranquility
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We came here for two nights. we stayed in the backpacker section, which was not really backpacker like at all. there were lots of really nice touches. we were the only ones there and looked after so well. sunset drinks, yummy dinner and beautiful location all made this place truely special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buariverlodge, Owner at Bua River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

I have only just learned how to respond to your review of Bua River Lodge! Thank you so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had planned to stay in the Hillside Tents but since they were (fortunately:-)) occupied, we were upgraded to the Island Tents. And what a treat that was! Bua River Lodge is a special place, you are pretty far away from everything, you don't see the other tents, there is no cell phone reception, so you are "forced" to enjoy the silence and the beauty of the landscape. The Island Tents are very luxurious (for tents), you have comfortable beds with good mosquito nets, armchairs on your private deck (where the very nice staff serves you dinner, coffee, breakfast if you want). You shower under the stars or the sun and the dry toilets work just fine. Just don't make the mistake I did and shine your flashlight inside the toilet to make sure there are no spiders. Just trust that there are none because as nice at it looks, it still is a long drop toilet and you see too much if you look too closely;-)
We felt it was so very beautiful on our deck that we did not even bother to take one of the guided walks. Concerning animals (you are in a wildlife reseve...): We saw just three crocodiles and a lot of monkeys but you could see that there are elephants around frequently, too.

Room Tip: If you can, consider to pay the extra money and stay in the Island tents. It is absolutely worth the money.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alesig_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buariverlodge, Owner at Bua River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

I have only just learned how to respond to your review of Bua River Lodge! Thank you so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I wanted to add something to the glowing revie- ws of this place - which I wholeheartedly agree with - and that is to highlight that it's a great choice for backpackers too. I stayed for 2 nights and my room was clean, simple and the showers were in the same block so practically felt en suite. The real plus though was the fact that I was welcomed as warmly as the guests staying in the posher accommodation options - right down to being given a lovely fresh facecloth and drink of juice to replenish me on arrival! When not out on walks with their great guide Clifford I enjoyed hanging out in the fabulous main lodge building, where the food is so tasty and not over-fussy or overpriced - just good food cooked well. John has done a cracking job in choosing and training his staff too - they were friendly and efficient and not to deferential. All in all it was a brilliant weekend and great value when staying in the backpacker rooms. As great as they were though, I definitely plan to come back with my boyfriend and treat ourselves to the island accommodation some time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AverageJo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A really relaxing place to stay. Simple but excellent food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have just spent 2 months voluntary work at Bua River Lodge and how priviliged i feel with a stunning location over the Bua River. The wooden lodge is cleverly designed to be open, giving the sense of truelly being amongst nature. The atmosphere is relaxing and unpretentious. Peaceful and serene - an amazing place to unwind, read a book, watch the birds and monkeys and take in the beauty of Nkota Kota Nature Reserve. Staff are delightfully friendly and the food is superb- tasty with special attention to detail, without being over the top. So go, spend a few days soaking up the wonderful atmosphere of the lodge. A gem awaits in Malawi!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleyp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews