We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
390
65
34
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
390
65
34
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master of ceremonies wedding venue wedding reception from start to finish family and friends wedding breakfast food was amazing attention to detail many thanks special thanks mr mrs held our wedding perfect wedding day feel special first class thank you so much bridal suite
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had our works xmas party for the fifth time in six years at this excellent venue.The food was served promptly and was of the usual high standard.The entertainer was first class and the bar prices are not over the top.The rooms are a little expensive but a number of our group stayed the night and found the experience good.We will be returning for a seventh year.Thankyou to all the waiters and barstaff who worked hard all evening.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aptrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

To all at Briars Hall , on behalf of Debbie and myself we would like to thank you for all your hard work in making our wedding day a truely magical event, one that is still being talked about 2 months later .
From our first meeting with Paul, to sitting down with Karen and then being guided through the day by Kev and his team, it was all down to their hard work and dedication that made our day stand out .
No matter how much money you spend or how meticulously you plan the event at the end of the day its only going to be as good as the people who host it, and they could not be faulted in any way .
The room was dressed exactly as Debbie had envisaged it, down to the smallest detail, the food was what can only be described as perfect, given that all guests had a choice in all courses and there was also another wedding to cater for, even the buffet at the evening reception was faultless, the proof being no food left even though we had over catered for the people invited .
The attention to detail was unbelievable, from the heart shaped butter on the tables to our names wrote in chocolate on the dessert plates, which all came as a suprise to us .
Our guests and ourselves had taken 18 of the 24 rooms and again no complaints from anyone, after the wedding was over we retired to the residents bar for a nightcap or 2 before retiring for the night, then over a delicious cooked breakfast we chatted with friends and family before bringing our Briars Hall expierience to an end .
We only hope that anybody planning a wedding in the future, who is undecided as to where to stage their event, might read this and decide on Briars Hall, you will not be dissapointed.
Once again on behalf of Debbie and myself many thanks to all involved in making our day one that we will always remember .

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had our Wedding yesterday at Briars Hall and I felt compelled to write a review (never bothered before). We were made to feel comfortable from our first visit as the Staff (Paul, Karen, Kev and Billy) were all extreamly helpful and accommadating. They made our day very special by reassuring us through out the whole process. We looked at several wedding venues before we went to Briars and it was the least expensive of the lot and as Paul went through everything included far better value for money. Our day yesterday was amazing the rooms and orangery looked perfect all dressed up, the food was great quality and the amount fantastic (nobody was left hungry) The in-house DJ was very good and everyone was dancing all night. The Bridal suite is great complete with a jaquzzi and champagne. A huge huge thank you to everyone at Briars Hall for making our day enjoyable and memorable, I could not have asked for anymore and could not recommend you highly enough. Stephen & Rachael Ashcroft

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Briars Hall Hotel is a fabulous place and helped make our wedding the most amazing day ever! We held our wedding reception here on 15th September and haven't got one bad thing to say.

From the moment we first looked at Briars Hall a year previous to our wedding, we were treated brilliantly by staff. Considering that the hotel seems to be becoming an expert at hosting weddings - they treated us as though we were their only wedding - totally special and attentive with nothing too much trouble.

The staff are all lovely and incredibly helpful. Both Paul and Karen are a huge credit to Briars Hall and were a brilliant help in the run up to the wedding. Having handed over all our setting up decoration to the staff, they put our tables together exactly as we had hoped :-) Family & Friends all commented on how polite, friendly and helpful all the staff were.

The food was also amazing, with lots of our guests again telling us how much they enjoyed everything.

Our only regret is that we can't do it all again!

Thank you Briars Hall for being a very big and special part of our day :-)

Claire & Paul (Mr & Mrs Rogers)

p.s. we also ate in the pub before the wedding with the meal and wine deal and that was amazing too!!! We'll definitely be back again.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is a lovely little hotel. We had an exellent evening meal and wine deal, all very good value. Our room was clean, modern and well decorated. The bed was perhaps a bit soft for us, but good nevertheless. A nice bathroom, with a slightly noisy fan, as is the case in lots of hotels we find. Breakfast was excellent, the best we have had for some time - we stay in a number of hotels for business - and how good to be served - everything was hot and tasty. It was a bonus to have free wi-fi and a good well stocked hospitality tray. The staff are all lovely, friendly and helpful - We are thinking of going back for a few days stay.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Willowslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Briars Hall. I'm delighted you enjoyed your experience and your comments about breakfast really please me. I see a lot of other hotels doing buffet style breakfasts these days and although nice being able to help yourself, I think when you come to a hotel it is nice to have the pleasure of being served by a member of staff.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews