We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December Party NIghts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had our darts team night out at Briars Hall, Sat 10th Dec 2011. It was our first visit here as a group, having done similar "party nights" at other venues in north west in the past.

Have to say, we were all pleasantly surprised with the standard offered at this venue. As said previously, the food was of a fantastic standard, served promptly, without huge gaps between courses, and most importantly HOT. And the service from staff excellent.

The bar prices were very sensible (Dont change them !!) for a party venue, we were certainly expecting them to be more expensive than they were.

The entertainment was very good, getting invlolved with audience straight away, and had people dancing straight away!

All 20+ in our party also stayed the night, and the rooms were of excellent standard, clean and presentable, and the breakfast following morning was excellent, and plenty of it !

Thanks for a fantastic night, and Paul please pass on our thanks to your wonderful team for such a night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 381 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had our works xmas party for the fifth time in six years at this excellent venue.The food was served promptly and was of the usual high standard.The entertainer was first class and the bar prices are not over the top.The rooms are a little expensive but a number of our group stayed the night and found the experience good.We will be returning for a seventh year.Thankyou to all the waiters and barstaff who worked hard all evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aptrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

To all at Briars Hall , on behalf of Debbie and myself we would like to thank you for all your hard work in making our wedding day a truely magical event, one that is still being talked about 2 months later .
From our first meeting with Paul, to sitting down with Karen and then being guided through the day by Kev and his team, it was all down to their hard work and dedication that made our day stand out .
No matter how much money you spend or how meticulously you plan the event at the end of the day its only going to be as good as the people who host it, and they could not be faulted in any way .
The room was dressed exactly as Debbie had envisaged it, down to the smallest detail, the food was what can only be described as perfect, given that all guests had a choice in all courses and there was also another wedding to cater for, even the buffet at the evening reception was faultless, the proof being no food left even though we had over catered for the people invited .
The attention to detail was unbelievable, from the heart shaped butter on the tables to our names wrote in chocolate on the dessert plates, which all came as a suprise to us .
Our guests and ourselves had taken 18 of the 24 rooms and again no complaints from anyone, after the wedding was over we retired to the residents bar for a nightcap or 2 before retiring for the night, then over a delicious cooked breakfast we chatted with friends and family before bringing our Briars Hall expierience to an end .
We only hope that anybody planning a wedding in the future, who is undecided as to where to stage their event, might read this and decide on Briars Hall, you will not be dissapointed.
Once again on behalf of Debbie and myself many thanks to all involved in making our day one that we will always remember .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had our Wedding yesterday at Briars Hall and I felt compelled to write a review (never bothered before). We were made to feel comfortable from our first visit as the Staff (Paul, Karen, Kev and Billy) were all extreamly helpful and accommadating. They made our day very special by reassuring us through out the whole process. We looked at several wedding venues before we went to Briars and it was the least expensive of the lot and as Paul went through everything included far better value for money. Our day yesterday was amazing the rooms and orangery looked perfect all dressed up, the food was great quality and the amount fantastic (nobody was left hungry) The in-house DJ was very good and everyone was dancing all night. The Bridal suite is great complete with a jaquzzi and champagne. A huge huge thank you to everyone at Briars Hall for making our day enjoyable and memorable, I could not have asked for anymore and could not recommend you highly enough. Stephen & Rachael Ashcroft

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Briars Hall Hotel is a fabulous place and helped make our wedding the most amazing day ever! We held our wedding reception here on 15th September and haven't got one bad thing to say.

From the moment we first looked at Briars Hall a year previous to our wedding, we were treated brilliantly by staff. Considering that the hotel seems to be becoming an expert at hosting weddings - they treated us as though we were their only wedding - totally special and attentive with nothing too much trouble.

The staff are all lovely and incredibly helpful. Both Paul and Karen are a huge credit to Briars Hall and were a brilliant help in the run up to the wedding. Having handed over all our setting up decoration to the staff, they put our tables together exactly as we had hoped :-) Family & Friends all commented on how polite, friendly and helpful all the staff were.

The food was also amazing, with lots of our guests again telling us how much they enjoyed everything.

Our only regret is that we can't do it all again!

Thank you Briars Hall for being a very big and special part of our day :-)

Claire & Paul (Mr & Mrs Rogers)

p.s. we also ate in the pub before the wedding with the meal and wine deal and that was amazing too!!! We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathom
6 km away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
281 reviews
8.1 km away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
25.9 km away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton
8.1 km away
Birches Brow Boutique Guestrooms
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Briars Lane, Lathom, Ormskirk L40 5TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Lathom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathom
Price Range: S$116 - S$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th century Manor House Briars Hall at Lathom has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel. Briars Hall has an excellant reputation for its attentive and friendly staff making it the perfect venue for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Briars Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing