We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$50
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
373
62
34
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
62
34
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster of ceremonieswedding venuewedding receptionfrom start to finishwedding breakfastfood was amazingmr mrsfunction roomperfect wedding dayfamily and friendsheld our weddingbridal suiteattention to detailmany thanksfirst classlovely groundsamazing wedding
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Well what can we say..??? Apart from a big thank you! We had our wedding at Briars Hall on Tuesday 27th Dec 11 and it was perfect! Nothing was too much trouble from the first time we met Mark to set a date, then all the help from Paul, Karen inbetween, and then Billy and Kev on the day! Everyone enjoyed the day from the food to the rooms! As one guest said ' if this place cant please you then your not worth pleasing!!' We think that says it all! Thanks again Briars Hall for such a wonderful day!
Anthony and Diane White.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your amazing comments regarding your wedding with us in December. May I say that your hard work in planning your special day made it very easy for us to deliver your perfect day. I love that quote from one of your guests, I have already used it in two training sessions with my staff!!!
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had our darts team night out at Briars Hall, Sat 10th Dec 2011. It was our first visit here as a group, having done similar "party nights" at other venues in north west in the past.

Have to say, we were all pleasantly surprised with the standard offered at this venue. As said previously, the food was of a fantastic standard, served promptly, without huge gaps between courses, and most importantly HOT. And the service from staff excellent.

The bar prices were very sensible (Dont change them !!) for a party venue, we were certainly expecting them to be more expensive than they were.

The entertainment was very good, getting invlolved with audience straight away, and had people dancing straight away!

All 20+ in our party also stayed the night, and the rooms were of excellent standard, clean and presentable, and the breakfast following morning was excellent, and plenty of it !

Thanks for a fantastic night, and Paul please pass on our thanks to your wonderful team for such a night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had our works xmas party for the fifth time in six years at this excellent venue.The food was served promptly and was of the usual high standard.The entertainer was first class and the bar prices are not over the top.The rooms are a little expensive but a number of our group stayed the night and found the experience good.We will be returning for a seventh year.Thankyou to all the waiters and barstaff who worked hard all evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aptrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

To all at Briars Hall , on behalf of Debbie and myself we would like to thank you for all your hard work in making our wedding day a truely magical event, one that is still being talked about 2 months later .
From our first meeting with Paul, to sitting down with Karen and then being guided through the day by Kev and his team, it was all down to their hard work and dedication that made our day stand out .
No matter how much money you spend or how meticulously you plan the event at the end of the day its only going to be as good as the people who host it, and they could not be faulted in any way .
The room was dressed exactly as Debbie had envisaged it, down to the smallest detail, the food was what can only be described as perfect, given that all guests had a choice in all courses and there was also another wedding to cater for, even the buffet at the evening reception was faultless, the proof being no food left even though we had over catered for the people invited .
The attention to detail was unbelievable, from the heart shaped butter on the tables to our names wrote in chocolate on the dessert plates, which all came as a suprise to us .
Our guests and ourselves had taken 18 of the 24 rooms and again no complaints from anyone, after the wedding was over we retired to the residents bar for a nightcap or 2 before retiring for the night, then over a delicious cooked breakfast we chatted with friends and family before bringing our Briars Hall expierience to an end .
We only hope that anybody planning a wedding in the future, who is undecided as to where to stage their event, might read this and decide on Briars Hall, you will not be dissapointed.
Once again on behalf of Debbie and myself many thanks to all involved in making our day one that we will always remember .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had our Wedding yesterday at Briars Hall and I felt compelled to write a review (never bothered before). We were made to feel comfortable from our first visit as the Staff (Paul, Karen, Kev and Billy) were all extreamly helpful and accommadating. They made our day very special by reassuring us through out the whole process. We looked at several wedding venues before we went to Briars and it was the least expensive of the lot and as Paul went through everything included far better value for money. Our day yesterday was amazing the rooms and orangery looked perfect all dressed up, the food was great quality and the amount fantastic (nobody was left hungry) The in-house DJ was very good and everyone was dancing all night. The Bridal suite is great complete with a jaquzzi and champagne. A huge huge thank you to everyone at Briars Hall for making our day enjoyable and memorable, I could not have asked for anymore and could not recommend you highly enough. Stephen & Rachael Ashcroft

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews