We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good experience.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Rooms are quite comfortable, what attracted me to it (and as you will see from most of my reviews to generally all hotels) was the free parking and wifi. Wifi was good, decent speed and not subjected to any silly tricks like reduced bandwidth or limited time.

Parking was plentiful

Restaurant was sluggish, left waiting for ages to be served. Perhaps a one off but given I will be returning frequently I will probably eat out next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarjBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for spending the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that you didn't receive the correct service in the dining area during your stay. I would like to investigate this matter, but to do that I would really like to know when you stayed? As you can see from our other comments on TripAdvisor we do not usually have a problem with slow service. I'd like to thank you for bringing this to my attention and can assure you that it will not happen again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    55
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
136
126
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

myself and my boyfriend recently booked a valentines package to stay here as it seemed cheap and all inclusive. we were even upgraded to the executive suite (just for asking). I kept thinking something was bound to go wrong because everything ran so smoothly and it was such value for money. but everything was great. champagne waiting in the room, meal pre-booked. Staff are very helpful and make everyone feel so welcome and important. There is no snobbery that I usually find as a young couple.

There is something very peaceful about Briars Hall, and I would most certainly recommend here for a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: always worth asking if the executive suite is free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us at Briars Hall. I like to say 'GOOD VALUE' rather than cheap!! I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening and that you felt important, that's the feeling we want all our guests to have.
Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upholland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Myself and my partner of 8 years recently had our wedding at Briars Hall Hotel and needless to say they completely surpassed our expectations. We booked in January 2011 for Jan 2012, needless to say we visited many times and every time the staff knew our names, knew the key details and were more than happy to make us comfortable, get us drinks while we discussed our plans and from the very start of planning the service has been top notch. Building up to the wedding, the wedding planner Karen helped us organize the big day and was very understanding on any last minute changes we had, as well as how to create the day we wanted. We added and changed all sorts via email, text, visits and phone calls. Karen was so wonderful and always on hand. On the day our toastmaster (Billy) was always there, as well as making sure ourselves and the guests were looked after, he informed and co-ordinated the photographer, camera crew, dj and outdoor entertainment. Like any wedding day, problems can arise but Billy took great care of any problems. The food was first class, with all our guests fit to burst by the end, and ready to retire to the excellent rooms. One thing that surprised us was how amazing and brilliant the house dj (Steve) was. He went above and beyond by balloon modelling for the children and played the perfect songs which got everyone to the dance floor - even Gran. He never dwindled and his energy was contagious, I would recommend him to everyone and he really is worth the money.
Finally, the serving staff for the main meal and buffet were so polite and couldnt help more. They provided a sliver service to all the tables and ensured everyone had hefty portions of meat and veg. They also went round a second time with veg and gravy to ensure everyone had enough. With that in mind all the food provided was Delicious, the meats melted in your mouth, the potatoes were splendid and fluffy and the pudding was perfect. I really cant sing there praises enough. They have made our wedding day special and a day to remember as perfect for ever. Nothing was to much of a problem, we changed our first dance song while eating our starters and they were constructive and happy to ring the dj who found the new song and all was well. When we retired for the night, waiting in the room was a lovely chilled bottle and two plates full of buffet, by this time we were hungry again and enjoyed the bubbly in the Jacuzzi tub before the best hotel nights sleep iv ever had. Id recommend room 225. Because we had so much stuff in the morning to move we requested a later check out time and the staff on the desk were amazing and so helpful. We didnt check out until 11.30am due to having to do a few car trips of presents and decorations.
The next day we all enjoyed a wonderful full English, and our toastmaster Billy was even there early to wave us off. 10 out of 10.

All night and over breakfast the conversations were on how amazing the service was, the attention to every detail, the luxury rooms, the amazing food and the dj. Perfect!

Room Tip: All the double rooms are identical but we had the bridal suit which was fantastic (225). Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaJayneHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your amazing comments posted on TripAdvisor regarding your wedding with us last month. I am pleased that we surpassed your expectations for your special day. I have printed your comments and put them on the staff notice board. Billy was on cloud nine reading them.... We have extremely high standards and all the staff take great pride in delivering those standards to all our guests. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Briars Hall in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent months searching for the perfect wedding venue and had given up hope of ever finding it - we wanted somewhere a bit different, stylish, classy and romantic, but the venues we went to see before Briars Hall were missing that special something. We'd decided we'd have a registry office do and go for a meal in the nearest pub afterwards and had given up entirely on the idea of a lovely wedding... Until my other half found Briars Hall online and arranged a viewing.

When we rolled up to the hotel for the viewing on a hot summer's day in July, we fell in love wholeheartedly. Inside, we were not disappointed. We loved the beautiful furniture, clean lines and romantic touches inside Briars Hall hotel.

Paul took us on a tour of the hotel and spent a couple of hours talking us through what they could offer. Our decision was made before we'd left the car park - Briars Hall was the perfect choice for a romantic and luxurious winter wedding.

Our recent wedding was the most perfect day, one that we will treasure for the rest of our lives. Karen was a wonderful co-ordinator and worked tirelessly to make our day so special. Kevin was our MC and I have never met someone so genuinely lovely, good-humoured and always at hand to ensure the day ran smoothly. We didn't have to worry about a thing. The food was absolutely gorgeous - my family and I had dinner in the Bistro the night before and thought we'd died and gone to heaven, and the food served on the wedding day was absolutely divine, with a fantastic variety of dishes enjoyed by all guests. I put my diet on hold to enjoy a stack of American-style pancakes with maple syrup on the morning after the wedding - delicious!

All of our relatives have told us how they thoroughly enjoyed the day, being treated like royalty by the attentive staff and, of course, the food - we've never eaten so well in our lives.

We couldn't recommend Briars Hall highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Having just got married at Briars Hall this weekend I have to say that the venue, the food and the staff made our day perfect in every way. Nothing was too much trouble. We can't recommend them highly enough. It's a lovely country house that's warm, friendly and relaxed. Many of our guests stayed the night and everyone, young & old, has nothing but praise for every aspect of their stay.
Go there and be well looked after.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Room 225 which is the Bridal Suite is a beautiful room, large and light with a great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAbrams77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Dunbavin, General Manager at Briars Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor regarding your wedding with us last month. As you know we do a lot of weddings here, but one of the many things we have got right is that we treat every wedding as though it is the only wedding we have all year. I think reading your comments that is how you and all your guests felt on the day.
Thank you for your recommendations, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathom
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
25.9 km away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.1 km away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
25.9 km away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.6 km away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Briars Hall Barn Briars Lane, Lathom, Ormskirk L40 5TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Lathom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathom
Price range (per night): $110 - $164
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an 18th century Manor House Briars Hall at Lathom has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel. Briars Hall has an excellant reputation for its attentive and friendly staff making it the perfect venue for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Briars Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing