We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
57
58
16
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
58
16
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south downs bell tent self catering kitchen great facilities drying room hostel renovation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2019

Wonderful place to stay and explore without the car! Accessible by public transport No2 bus from Brighton to Steyning. (Sunday very limited) 50 min walk to Hostel. Beautiful cooked breakfast. Peaceful.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Chicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, General Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

Thankyou for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at Truleigh hill. We wanted to have a break from hectic city life and enjoy stunning walks in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great and bonus points for allowing our small dog in to the dining room so we could all relax and enjoy breakfast together.
They serve a range of snacks and drinks, we had some excellent tea and cake after a long walk. Cakes were fresh, moist and delicious. Lots of cyclists stopped off to use the cafe and that all looked great.
We stayed in a bell tent which was great. The communal areas such as the lounge and self catering kitchen look quite tired but I overheard a member of staff say they'd be having a refurbishment over the winter.
The toilet and shower facility for those not in main hostel were very tired, not all that clean and 1 toilet and 1 shower is not really enough, hope that gets refurbed too!
Superb location, friendly staff and great cake. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank EatReadSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

Thankyou for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed using the cafe. You will be pleased to hear that we are increasing the bathroom provision for campers, but in the meantime campers are more than welcome to use the additional facilitates inside the hostel. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Great staff, arrived very late due to mechanical problems but receptionist waited 'til past 10pm for me. Breakfast was superb, all freshly cooked and to order with plenty of choice. Great value for money.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Wilson8267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Thankyou for your review. We are pleased that we could help you on the occasion. Our breakfast is great value for money, we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019

From the moment you drive up to Truleigh Hill Youth Hostel, the magic beings. Views across rolling downlands (with added bonus this visit of a setting crescent moon and glorious sunset colours), the hostel is set on the South Downs Way with easy access to the footpaths. Fabulous views from the communal areas, looking over the Downs and the sea. The staff are always happy to help and the kitchen for self catering is always clean and even with a seemingly full house, tidy with plenty of space. We cannot recommend Truleigh Hill enough! Book early to avoid disappointment!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank KookieGolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Thankyou for your lovely review. We agree the location is something special. We are so pleased you had a fantastic stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Great value for money, Truleigh Hill had great night skies and amazing views, good location for walking SDW and access to the coast. The facilities were clean and accommodating, staff helpful 2nd time we have used this YHA this year, expect to be back. Great for a weekend camping.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank IanS4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Thankyou for your review, we are so pleased you had a geat stay again. Our Location is great for looking at the night sky - and is part of the South Downs International Dark Sky Reserve. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews