We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$52
Expedia.comUS$52
PricelineUS$52
eDreamsUS$52
FindHotelUS$52
TravelocityUS$52
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
54
55
15
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
55
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south downs bell tent self catering kitchen great facilities drying room hostel renovation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2019

I enjoyed camping on the hostel grounds. The facilities were well maintained with bar and food service as well as a self-catering kitchen. The drying room was excellent during the wet weather of my stay. A stop not to be missed by those walking the South Downs Way.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2019

Fred, Thankyou for your review, we do have some great camping facilites. Our campsite is open from May-October. We are the perfect stop if walking the South Downs Way. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

We stayed in the premium bell tent with another family in the tent next door. Had fire in the firepit and told spooky storied. Bought our pumpkins along too! Woke up to a windy misty morning and a lovely breakfast made for us by the manager.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Cath, Thankyou for your review, we are pleased you had a great time over Halloween and enjoyed staying in the Bell Tents.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

all very good however the hostel is now looking a bit tired and could do with some renovations and up dating. the position of the hostel on the south downs is very good as the footpath goes right past the hostel.The staff at the hostel were very good and most helpful.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank passandco87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Thankyou for your positive review. We are in a great location for the South Downs Way, and we are pleased you found our staff helpful. You will be pleased to hear that we do have a refurbishment planned for the near future :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

My wife and I had a private 2 bed room. It was basic - bunk beds, simple sink, wardrobe and one plug socket - but clean and functional. The lounge/dining room had a great view over the Southdowns/Shoreham. Appreciated the secure bicycle storage (we were on ebikes) and the showers and toilets were clean and tidy. Staff were friendly and the food was fine (don't expect fancy, but pleasant enough and value for money).

Room tip: Great for outdoor activity enthusiasts.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidHbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

Thankyou for your review, we are pleased you had a pleasant stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay. The views are wonderful of the south downs are wonderful. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Made you feel very welcome. In evening you can see the bright lights of shoreham by sea. I deal place to stay when hiking up the downs link

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank fransisurquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHATruleighManager, Manager at YHA Truleigh Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2019

Thankyou for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that the hostel is in a great location for walkers. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews