We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beauteful beach and gardens - paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The best part of the island, beauteful beach, nice service and food. Best place to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,990 - 2,994 of 3,514 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2009

Just came back from St.James Club in Antigua. Was a very nice visit. Rooms clean and nice, had "beach-front" so just walked out onto beach. Restaurants nice, better than most in carribbean. Found staff 100% friendly and helpful. we preferred the ocean beach due to nice breeze. Not a huge amount to see on Antigua, but took Jeep Explorer (Happy Trails) day visit and saw most sites. Most folks were middle-age plus, or young with kids. No "Night-Life" disco/dancing (which was fine for us). 3 restaurants, but DockSide was the nicest atmosphere (all were nice, but DockSide wonderful). will attach several photos. PS: small touch (but typical), they had a "Drinks-BeachBuggy" go up and down the beach every morning and afternoon if you were too lazy to walk the 100 feet to the nearest bar. All-In-All likely one of the nicest vacation sites we have visited.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barry_from_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Have been going to the St. James's Club since 2001, and look forward to our stay each time. We own the 10th week of the year at the vacation club. Our Villa sits on the hillside looking over Mamora Bay. What a beautiful site sitting on your deck relaxing looking at the boats. Just a few steps away from our villa is the beach. Two beaches are in St. JAmes's, one on the bay, the other on the Atlantic. Several pools are avaialbe. Watersports are available, a beach grill so no need to go to the restuarnat. A beverage cart comes around to offer refreshments. The service is excellent, great meals. Trips can be made around the island and a visit to the capital of St. John's is fun. English Harbor is near by with a lot of history. All in all, St. James's Club is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billandlinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Property is a bit out of the way, but in a very nice location with 2 beaches. The only negative is the road into the place is full of potholes. We drove from the airport and once the wife figured out how to get into the correct side of the car, we were able to navigate the island easily. The maps leave a bit to the imagination, but if you're patient, exploring the beautiful island is great fun. Having the car also let us try many of the restaurants around the island and in English Harbour. The food at the St. James Club is fair at best and I would not recommed going 'inclusive' . Just too many other options nearby. See TripAdvisor for tips on where to go.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

St James Club
A very relaxing 8 days, booked late, just what we wanted. It is a big but very well run place, smart and clean, anything broken seemed to be fixed quick.
No problems with the staff who were interesting and chatty, even about the forthcoming elections, with the exception of an indifferent young lady on checkin.
Our room was a standard but good and well fitted with 2 wash basins and a huge bath. If you must, BBC World is on 19.

The food was excellent if maybe not very adventurous, but whatever they did, it was very well done. And the staff never forgot anything we asked for, ever! Evening restaurant booking was a bit of a nuisance, you have to remember which we often failed to, what with being so relaxed. I means you have to eat a bit later than you may want. Sometimes there was no one there to take the booking. With more units being built they will have to get this sorted. Only go here on an all in deal as listed resaurant prices were high.

With the food being so good, trying to get hungry was a problem. I went snorkelling to try and build an apatite. There is a safe shallow reef just 8 minutes swim off the Atlantic side, way before the white water on the main reef. You can almost walk out to it, only the first bit that is even out of your depth and ocean side only goes down to 15 ft. It obviously takes a hammering in storms but there is still a lot to see and, as always, the more you look, the more you see. Even met some surprised looking big fish in 3 ft of water.
If you are a diver there are some brilliant dives just out of the bay, in lively water beneath the cliffs and we has excellent vis. I went with on site Mamora Divers, who were good.

Although you cant really walk anywhere off site, the yachties paradise of English and Falmouth harbours are only a 5 min drive over the hill, ask politely and you can walk up to some of the most exotic yachts in the world. We saw the 3 master hi tech Maltese Falcon and the retro looking Nero.
Nearby Nelsons Harbour is worth a morning to look around

Dont go to St Johns on Sunday, its shut. But the churches are all full and you can listen to the singing outside.

Our one real complaint with St James was the lack of dancing. There was a sort of disco billed to start late but I never saw anything happen there. We prefer a more inclusive, earlier start with a reggae or steel band that we have always had in other hotels, and we missed it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boeingbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
20.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,926 reviews
7.5 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
10.5 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
18.7 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,061 reviews
17.6 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range: $446 - $1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing