We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,720)
Filter reviews
3,720 results
Traveller rating
1,914
1,159
370
181
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,914
1,159
370
181
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports piccolo mondo rainbow garden atlantic side a la carte st james beachfront room beach front per person all inclusive package shirley heights royal suite nightly entertainment tennis courts catamaran trip rum punch lobster
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 3,720 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stayed as part of an agents educational trip, 2 nights here following Pineapple Beach Club.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Royal Suites - which have some great benefits. Private check in and concierge service available, beautiful views out over the marina, and incredibly spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. There's also access to a small pool area exclusive to Royal Suite guests, though I found this a bit underwhelming - it would be great if you want a peaceful area away from the main pool, but it didn't strike me as anything special or luxurious considering the extra you pay. Better loungers, and a nicer bar area would help this massively.

Breakfast was very good in the main restaurant, it was busy and service was a little chaotic, not a problem in a quiet time but I wonder how it copes during peak season? Again simple fixes here - if someone showed you to a table and took a tea/coffee order straight away it would be a vast improvement. Great omelettes! Good choice on the buffet but a bit lacking in fresh fruit.

We were out on the first evening so only ate in one restaurant for dinner - the Italian Piccolo Mondo. It's a beautiful establishment in a great setting, it's not part of the all-inclusive package and you pay a $40 supplement. Many of us opted for the lobster special which was delicious; and I had the seafood soup which was fantastic. Again just tiny tweaks would make this so much better - presentation on some dishes was beautiful, on others very basic; service was again a bit mixed, friendly but a bit abrupt - as a 4* hotel restaurant there's really nothing to complain about, but it just felt like it was trying (and charging) to be a 5* fine dining restaurant, but not quite getting there.

The water sports facilities at the beach were great, lunch at Cocos restaurant was very good and views from here are amazing - again just a bit friendlier service would have helped! All in all a very good standard of hotel, but it is very large and so perhaps this leads to the slightly impersonal feeling I was left with - but of course if you want an intimate hotel you'd choose differently. I honestly wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to the right customer, but I'd be careful with expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was an outstanding trip and well needed! The rooms were great with one slight hitch with AC. Once we contacted the front desk, the issue was addressed and resolved immediately. The beaches were pristine and well kept. All the sailing toys were a blast...not to mention very friendly folks willing to teach you how to sail or paddleboard.
The Dive Shop was one of the best ever! Linda and her staff were amazing! The equipment and dive boat were top notch. The availability of cabs off the premises were simple and trustworthy. The food was good to great depending on the day or night. The Fresh Catch at Coco's was off the chain! And the beverages were SUPER great!
If I had to improve on anything...it would be the internet. But to be honest, maybe we shouldn't be working when we visit a great place like this.
I can only hope we return again in a year or two.
The best part of the trip: The views---great definition of Paradise!

Room Tip: Beautiful Views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us at St. James's Club Antigua for your Caribbean holiday. It is always a great pleasure to hear from our guests, and we were so happy you had such an outstanding experience!

We are very pleased to know that your visit was filled with days enjoying our beautiful beaches, complimentary watersports, excellent service from our friendly staff, as well as delicious cuisine and cocktails!

Likewise, we were thrilled to hear that you loved our Mamora Bay Dive Shop and had a truly unforgettable time.

On behalf of our staff and management team, we are incredibly grateful for your feedback and support, and we certainly hope you will visit us again soon!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We just spent a week at st James club we had a great view from our room meant wonderful people from the U.K. And our friends on Facebook now all ready planning our trip back for the same week it will be our 35 wedding anniversary lots of excision right at the resort the reef bar device is great

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for a few days on our way to St Kitts. Although it wasn't our first choice hotel, we had a good time. The resort is well kept, although our rooms were both in need of some updating, nothing terrible though.
The staff are nearly all very friendly and there's as much to do as you want or simply chill by one of the pools or on the beach.
Water sports and other activities are great- little chance of getting into big trouble in the lagoon. Bars and restaurants are all good standard, with plenty to choose from.
If you want to meet and chat to new friends you can, and if you want to be private, then that's good too. Everyone's cool and respectful which makes for a restful holiday, so having some concerns when we arrived, we had a very good time!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your time and consideration in leaving your review of our resort. We were gladdened to hear that your holiday exceeded your expectations, and we truly appreciate your kind compliments regarding our deliciously varied dining selection, our hospitable staff, and excellent watersports and activities.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your positive feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely hope you join us in idyllic Antigua for another unforgettable holiday in the future!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Quality large property with a host of amenities , spread out over a large are with two main beach areas , watersports available , good choice of restaurants , limited entertainment when we were there but it was low season and more is provided at busier times. Accommodation of high standard and there are also villas plus a good spa.
As it is a large property guests can take advantage of complimentary golf cart transport to get around the resort

Room Tip: Royal suites are very spacious with fabulous water view , separate check-in area , close to reception, private pool for Royal Suite guests
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dccsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews