We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colossal disappointment ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I am not a fan of all inclusive resorts and this place reminds me why. The food is downright awful and the drinks aren’t much better. It is a shame as the staff is mostly pleasant and helpful. They also do have a golf cart bar going around the beach but the beaches were some of the worst in the Caribbean I’ve ever encountered. No reason to stay here!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank geegeethebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time and consideration in leaving a review of your experience at St. James's Club Antigua. While we were gladdened to learn that our wonderful staff served to make you feel warm and welcomed, we were saddened to know that you were disappointed with your experience.

Firstly, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our all-inclusive dining. Our Chef and his entire restaurant team work very hard to provide excellent food and beverage options for every palate. However, we certainly understand each guest experience is unique. We rely on our guest feedback to learn and continuously improve our services, and thank you for your honest feedback.

In addition, we were incredibly disheartened that you were not pleased with either of our two beaches. We hosts hundreds of guests each week most of whom are very satisfied with our beaches, and we are certainly sorry if this was not the case in your instance.

Your candid feedback is most appreciated, and we sincerely hope you grant us another opportunity to provide you with an ideal holiday experience in the future!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 3,460 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stayed as part of an agents educational trip, 2 nights here following Pineapple Beach Club.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Royal Suites - which have some great benefits. Private check in and concierge service available, beautiful views out over the marina, and incredibly spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. There's also access to a small pool area exclusive to Royal Suite guests, though I found this a bit underwhelming - it would be great if you want a peaceful area away from the main pool, but it didn't strike me as anything special or luxurious considering the extra you pay. Better loungers, and a nicer bar area would help this massively.

Breakfast was very good in the main restaurant, it was busy and service was a little chaotic, not a problem in a quiet time but I wonder how it copes during peak season? Again simple fixes here - if someone showed you to a table and took a tea/coffee order straight away it would be a vast improvement. Great omelettes! Good choice on the buffet but a bit lacking in fresh fruit.

We were out on the first evening so only ate in one restaurant for dinner - the Italian Piccolo Mondo. It's a beautiful establishment in a great setting, it's not part of the all-inclusive package and you pay a $40 supplement. Many of us opted for the lobster special which was delicious; and I had the seafood soup which was fantastic. Again just tiny tweaks would make this so much better - presentation on some dishes was beautiful, on others very basic; service was again a bit mixed, friendly but a bit abrupt - as a 4* hotel restaurant there's really nothing to complain about, but it just felt like it was trying (and charging) to be a 5* fine dining restaurant, but not quite getting there.

The water sports facilities at the beach were great, lunch at Cocos restaurant was very good and views from here are amazing - again just a bit friendlier service would have helped! All in all a very good standard of hotel, but it is very large and so perhaps this leads to the slightly impersonal feeling I was left with - but of course if you want an intimate hotel you'd choose differently. I honestly wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to the right customer, but I'd be careful with expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was an outstanding trip and well needed! The rooms were great with one slight hitch with AC. Once we contacted the front desk, the issue was addressed and resolved immediately. The beaches were pristine and well kept. All the sailing toys were a blast...not to mention very friendly folks willing to teach you how to sail or paddleboard.
The Dive Shop was one of the best ever! Linda and her staff were amazing! The equipment and dive boat were top notch. The availability of cabs off the premises were simple and trustworthy. The food was good to great depending on the day or night. The Fresh Catch at Coco's was off the chain! And the beverages were SUPER great!
If I had to improve on anything...it would be the internet. But to be honest, maybe we shouldn't be working when we visit a great place like this.
I can only hope we return again in a year or two.
The best part of the trip: The views---great definition of Paradise!

Room Tip: Beautiful Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us at St. James's Club Antigua for your Caribbean holiday. It is always a great pleasure to hear from our guests, and we were so happy you had such an outstanding experience!

We are very pleased to know that your visit was filled with days enjoying our beautiful beaches, complimentary watersports, excellent service from our friendly staff, as well as delicious cuisine and cocktails!

Likewise, we were thrilled to hear that you loved our Mamora Bay Dive Shop and had a truly unforgettable time.

On behalf of our staff and management team, we are incredibly grateful for your feedback and support, and we certainly hope you will visit us again soon!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We just spent a week at st James club we had a great view from our room meant wonderful people from the U.K. And our friends on Facebook now all ready planning our trip back for the same week it will be our 35 wedding anniversary lots of excision right at the resort the reef bar device is great

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for a few days on our way to St Kitts. Although it wasn't our first choice hotel, we had a good time. The resort is well kept, although our rooms were both in need of some updating, nothing terrible though.
The staff are nearly all very friendly and there's as much to do as you want or simply chill by one of the pools or on the beach.
Water sports and other activities are great- little chance of getting into big trouble in the lagoon. Bars and restaurants are all good standard, with plenty to choose from.
If you want to meet and chat to new friends you can, and if you want to be private, then that's good too. Everyone's cool and respectful which makes for a restful holiday, so having some concerns when we arrived, we had a very good time!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your time and consideration in leaving your review of our resort. We were gladdened to hear that your holiday exceeded your expectations, and we truly appreciate your kind compliments regarding our deliciously varied dining selection, our hospitable staff, and excellent watersports and activities.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your positive feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely hope you join us in idyllic Antigua for another unforgettable holiday in the future!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
20.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,902 reviews
7.5 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
10.5 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
17.6 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,333 reviews
20.7 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range: $458 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing