We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
53
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juan carlos yoga retreat spanish steps warm hospitality judy fuentes lucia meals week hiking asturias mountains comfort environment accommodations ingredients
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2021 via mobile

We love Spanish Steps! This was our fourth yoga retreat at Hotel Fuentes de Lucia and it won’t be our last! The accommodations are comfortable and clean with spectacular views of the Quirós Valley. Judy, Juan Carlos and their staff create nutritious and delicious meals often using ingredients from their own garden. This place is a gem! The guides for our hikes are so knowledgeable and funny and go out of their way to insure our comfort and safety. To top it off, they have created a fully appointed yoga practice room that invites you to watch the sun rise over the valley during the morning classes. Thank you Judy and Juan Carlos! Thank you also to their expert hiking guides, Mario, Jen, and Lorraine. See you next year!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 913jenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2019

Although there are many retreat options listed on the website, our group--four septuagenarians--opted for a hiking retreat designed specifically for us. We were picked up in Oviedo by Mario, our hiking guide for the week, and transported to the Hotel Fuentes de Lucia in the hamlet of Faedo. There, we met Juan Carlos, who cooked two daily fantastic meals for us and regaled us with stories. For six days, Mario guided us on a variety of hiking trails that took us to centuries old villages, the seaside, through a beech forest glimmering with autumn color, on a portion of the famed Camino. The natural beauty of Asturias is stunning, with lush green valleys, tiny villages nestled on hillsides, rocky outcroppings, a backdrop of mountains. Mario not only chose trails suitable for us and mid-day restaurants that specialized in local fare, but also educated us on customs and traditions. Both he and Juan Carlos were excellent companions for our week, making our Asturian adventure one we will never forget.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Pam43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

A wonderful location for a relaxing yoga retreat! The hosts were super accommodating with special local foods and vegetarian options. I woke to a gorgeous mountain view with nearby hikes and bike trails reminiscent of Yosemite Valley!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Stay739620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2019

This magical rural hotel/retreat center in the mountains of Asturias has been home for my annual Yoga Retreats. Judy and Juan Carlos are the perfect hosts, taking care of every detail with loving care - from the delicious meals, the crisp white cotton sheets and the impeccable environment. My students and I are always grateful for the warm hospitality of their cozy mountain hotel, where we can relax and deepen our practice. It's also a great place for venturing out on long or casual hikes.

Room tip: Mountain views are best.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

This hotel is located in an idyllic location one hour and a half from Oviedo. We were a group of women taking part in a yoga retreat and hiking. We were welcomed by the host Juan Carlos who prepared excellent meals for us, meat dishes as well as vegetarian. I can't say enough about how gracious the small staff was and how much I enjoyed this week in Shangi-la

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank 781annetteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews