We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely brfeakfast buffet”

The Barn at Old Mac Daddy
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Elgin
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: Looking for a scenic spot for a lovely dining experience with friends and family? Why not enjoy a day out in beautiful Elgin at the Barn Restaurant at the magical Old Mac Daddy. Located about an hour’s drive from Cape Town city, the Barn Restaurant can be found within Old Mac Daddy’s main communal hub, offering up a sumptuous range of wholesome and delicious eats. The Barn’s menu focuses on using only those ingredients that are fresh, local, organic and free range (wherever possible), catering to all types of appetites and tastes, with delicious vegetarian options too. Under exciting new management, the Barn Restaurant is open to the public daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So you don’t need to be staying overnight at Old Mac Daddy to enjoy the Barn’s flavorful fare! Feast on the restaurant’s famous wood-fire pizzas or choose from a selection of freshly prepared salads and locally produced charcuterie, cheese and bread boards. If that doesn’t entice, go for one of the renowned burgers or yummy main meal options. There’s more than enough to choose from. And if you’re coming with little ones there’s also a varied kiddies menu with something to delight even the fussiest of eaters. The Barn is fully licensed and boasts a stocked bar, including the famous wines and ciders from the Elgin region. Our seasonal cocktail menu will also be a winner so you can shake off the city and really unwind amongst the sweeping Elgin Valley views.
Restaurant details
Description: Looking for a scenic spot for a lovely dining experience with friends and family? Why not enjoy a day out in beautiful Elgin at the Barn Restaurant at the magical Old Mac Daddy. Located about an hour’s drive from Cape Town city, the Barn Restaurant can be found within Old Mac Daddy’s main communal hub, offering up a sumptuous range of wholesome and delicious eats. The Barn’s menu focuses on using only those ingredients that are fresh, local, organic and free range (wherever possible), catering to all types of appetites and tastes, with delicious vegetarian options too. Under exciting new management, the Barn Restaurant is open to the public daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So you don’t need to be staying overnight at Old Mac Daddy to enjoy the Barn’s flavorful fare! Feast on the restaurant’s famous wood-fire pizzas or choose from a selection of freshly prepared salads and locally produced charcuterie, cheese and bread boards. If that doesn’t entice, go for one of the renowned burgers or yummy main meal options. There’s more than enough to choose from. And if you’re coming with little ones there’s also a varied kiddies menu with something to delight even the fussiest of eaters. The Barn is fully licensed and boasts a stocked bar, including the famous wines and ciders from the Elgin region. Our seasonal cocktail menu will also be a winner so you can shake off the city and really unwind amongst the sweeping Elgin Valley views.
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We have just come back from a night at old macdaddy.The stay includes a buffet breakfast.
The food was yummy and the setting beautiful.
all the staff are very friendly and are quick to assist with any requests.
We celebrated a friends birthday and the staff surprised him with a muffin on a beautifully decorated plate and sang happy birthday- a really nice touch.
Buffet is served from 08h00.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbieSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRoux, General Manager at The Barn at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear debbieSouthAfrica

Many thanks for your awesome review.
Happy that you enjoyed your stay and our food.
The staff are ecstatic regarding the great comments.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Have a fantastic day.

Adventurous regards

Leon & The Barn Team! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018

We stayed in the Daddy Villa on Sunday the 28th of January.

I would just like to compliment the hotel on the amazing service we received, especially from Nelson, Kevin and Mariska. The accommodation and food was fantastic. We also really appreciated the fact that they packed us breakfast because we had to leave so early the next morning.

We will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sanchia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRoux, General Manager at The Barn at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Sanchia F

Awesome! Thanks for the great five star review, much appreciated.
We are very happy that you loved your stay with us and the staff are truly appreciative of you flowing praise.
Old Mac is calling and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience all we have to offer.
Have a fantastic day.

Adventurous regards

Leon & The Barn Team! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

The kids are well looked after. this was a real vacation as I could relax while the kids were well taken care of. The Staff is friendly and there are loads of activities for the family

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rushdah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRoux, General Manager at The Barn at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear 322rushdam

Old Mac is paradise for kids and we are super happy that you got to relax and enjoy your holiday while the kids explored all the adventures on offer.
Thank your so much for the awesome five star review, much appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back soon for more adventures.
Have a fantastic day.

Adventurous regards

Leon & The Old Mac Team! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We had a great stay at Old Mac Daddy's with breakfast included. Spectacular views from our trailer and restaurant.
Food selection for breakfast was good. We had Dinner the night before which we thought was average and a bit expensive also the pizzas.
Great atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay in the trailer park which made up for the Dinner.
Great place for a weekend breakaway.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maryna451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRoux, General Manager at The Barn at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear maryna451

Very happy that you had a great stay with us here at Old Mac.
The Barn certainly has a great atmosphere and thanks for the great feedback.
We hope to welcome you back soon to the magical Elgin Valley.
Have a fantastic day.

Adventurous regards.

Leon & The Old Mac Team! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We stayed recently and ate breakfast daily at The Barn. The food selection was average but well prepared, and the service was friendly and helpful. There are gluten-free options for those who need them (but be sure to confirm your order; the first time we ordered a gluten-free pizza, a regular pizza was served). Delicious curry served in a tiny potjie, good pizzas, nice selection for kids, including spaghetti bolognese and chicken strips. Nothing jaw-dropping on the menu, but the setting is lovely and comfortable, and there's a playground for the littles.

Thank JennieCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRoux, General Manager at The Barn at Old Mac Daddy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear JennieCSA

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the positive feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the amazing view from The Barn and our menu selection.
We are currently expanding our kids activities to ensure more adventures for them.
We hope to welcome you back soon to the magical Elgin Valley.
Have a fantastic day.

Adventurous regards

Leon & The Barn Team! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn at Old Mac Daddy also viewed

Elgin, Overberg District
 
Grabouw, Overberg District
 
Grabouw, Overberg District
Grabouw, Overberg District
 

Been to The Barn at Old Mac Daddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing