We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend - great food, wine and service”

The Pool Room at Oak Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Relax on The Pool Room terrace, relishing country inspired cuisine, with ingredients sourced from the farm where possible. Feast on free range grass-fed beef, acorn-fed pork, charcuterie, naturally grown vegetables and freshly baked artisanal breads from the wood-burning oven. Wagyu, the famous cattle breed from Japan, where it is better known as Kobe beef, will be on offer from time-to-time depending on availability. Wagyu is a delicacy famous for its incredible marbling and flavour.
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This place is the full package! We went for lunch and were blown away by the setting, food quality, service and wine. A real gem. Book ahead for this one. Varied menu with something for everyone

Thank Travels2often
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Travels2often,

Thank you for the lovely review, what a great way to start our week. We are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of the restaurant - thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2018

we had an all inclusive 4-course menu, so including wines. Beautiful cooked ànd presented! But more important: tasting good!
Portions had a pleasant size, not too big and service was what you expect from such a place.
Never had ice cream with blue cheese, but must admit it tasted great.
The pool ads to the nice atmosphere. After dinner we had a little walk in the garden, everything was so beautifully maintained, a real pleasure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1902alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Alexander,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the Discovery Menu, we really enjoy doing them! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

The food is out of this world and the wine tasting was great. Bought some of the most beautiful flowers. Treat yourself !

Thank Henry6402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Good Day Henry,
Thank you for review and kind words - we are so pleased you enjoyed the food and came back again to enjoy it! We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The Pool Room is situated on the picturesque Oak Valley Wine Estate. Excellent service supporting great food. A little pricy but worth it. Try the pork belly....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Williamhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Good Day William,
Thank you do much for your review and for always enjoying! We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

The gazpacho soup was really delicious and we would have been happy to have a bowl with about three times the amount as a main course. Excellent in hot weather but it really was delicious. My wife had the chef’s choice of the day (Sirloin) and I had the Hang Steak (I think that was the name). Both cooked perfectly. Great location, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Good Day Alan,
Thank you for your kind words- we are so pleased you enjoyed it and we agree the Gazpacho on a hot day is perfect! We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pool Room at Oak Valley also viewed

Elgin, Overberg District
 
Grabouw, Overberg District
Grabouw, Overberg District
 
Grabouw, Overberg District
 

Been to The Pool Room at Oak Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing