We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay right next to one of Britain's greatest gardens!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Sissinghurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I love gardens, and Sissinghurst was at the top of my list to see, so when I found out that the National Trust had a B & B right next door, I had to book. It was a great choice! Even though I arrived a little late, Sue could not have been more welcoming and brought me restorative tea and delicious lemon cake.

My room was the Hazelden, and was very comfortable with a small, but updated shower, toilet and lavatory. It had a great view of Sissinghurst's greenhouses and the Tower. Only one caveat--the room faces east and the rising sun will wake you early--could use a window shade.

Breakfast was in the lovely dining room with tables set out with Spode and other blue and white china.. And what a delicious treat it was every morning with choices of juice, fruit, yogurt, cereals, some of the sweetest strawberries I've ever tasted--tea or coffee, and that was just for starters. The main course was eggs however you liked with farm fresh bacon, sausage, or smoked salmon, broiled tomatoes, mushrooms and asparagus, toast and homemade jams and marmalade. Excellent!

The Sissinghurst Castle Garden is a short walk away, and a more more lush and romantic garden would be hard to imagine. The gardens surrounding the Farmhouse were lovely, too.

In short, a delightful place to stay, and thanks to Sue for her hospitality and wonderful suggestions for restaurants and places to see.

Tip to American travelers: Join the Royal Oak Foundation to get free access to all of the National Trust properties in Britain.

Room Tip: There is an elevator which is a great help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

We just completed 14 days visiting English gardens and Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse was our base for the first 4 nights. It was perfect! Great location. Fabulous restaurants nearby and comfortable accommodations. Sue is a terrific hostess and has great recommendations for places to go.
We also used this as a base to go into London one afternoon for a theatre matinee. Easy access by train.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We had such a relaxing, wonderful stay here. Rooms are homely yet elegant with wonderful views over the Sissinghurst estate. Delicious tea and cake in the afternoon plus one of the best breakfasts we've had all cooked to your liking. Bed was very comfortable and lovely to sit in the lounge to read the newspapers. We had lots of recommendations for supper ( do book ahead). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Purbecks68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Super stay in the lovely cosy home. Sue was brilliant at organising things for us to do and was very hospitable. The beds were amazingly comfy. The breakfast was also yummy. Would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeshisf00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Spent a weekend at the farmhouse and combined it with a visit to a vineyard. Sue and her team are great. Sue is incredibly helpful with making arrangements and suggestions. Our room was lovely and comfortable and the breakfast and afternoon tea were excellent. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FizzChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissinghurst
3.7 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
333 reviews
8.1 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
8.1 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Address: Sissinghurst Castle Farm House Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sissinghurst
Price Range: $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing