We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with a reggae reggae twist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had an amazing time here at Bhu Nga Thani, staying for 8 days last Feb 2011. It was 5* facilities wise, the set-up is near perfect and you wont be disappointed. The rooms are really great, huge beds, shower room, day bed, turn down service, very good set-up. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the block at the back in standard rooms.

We travelled the world and met friends here for some luxury, it really was great to spent time here with our buds, we spent a different night at each restaurant, explored the beaches and enjoyed the pool, and i climbed the view point 8 years after walking past it - very rewarding. Such a good week, please take my comments in balance Bhu Nga Thani, I felt like I should share with your future customers as you could improve. For me the bad points were a fly in the aftersun, which you forget about but trip advisor allows you to share - some problems could be sorted easily, others im not so sure.

Sure the service could be improved in the restaurant, but im not a stickler for this particularly when away. It is expensive, but for the treat it was well worth it. There was a billing mistake that charged us three times for our transfers, instead of twice, which did annoy us a little when we left. This was not so great, as it was our leaving memory. I would make sure you check your bill, I did not expect this type of mistake in a high end resort and must admit relaxed a bit. I would usually trust reception in 5* places, and I did here, but got caught out. It was only a small amount extra compared to our bill, but it is the principle. This should be noted Bhu Nga Thani.

Unfortunately the major fault with the place, knocking at least 2 stars off, is the noise at night. It was tricky sleeping even with ear plugs which does take the shine off a week of r&r.
It is 5*, but there is the reggae reggae twist, the resorts cannot really exist in such proximity to clubs with pumping tunes into the night (2am-5am), and I have updated my view of Railey to one on the way to becoming a party island, instead of a chill out place.

Sort the noise and billing and Bhu Nga Thani would be indeed be perfect. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jossemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 522 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

Wonderful resort hotel, great rooms, great huge beds and linen, everything new, good pool area, good breakfasts, excellent service. located on the east side of Railey, which means it is good during the night time, but farther from the west beach of Railey (which is the prime beach). the eastern side is a thick mangrove beach, so swimming there is not prime. also sunsets are nicer on the west side, naturally. but as distances are very small, its not at all a problem to go and spend the day on the west side or south and then go back home. very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calidrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband, four year old, and I stayed at Bhu Nga Thani for two nights in mid-November. We had arranged through the hotel to be picked up from our hotel in Phuket, and didn't have to worry about anything. A driver was waiting for us right at check out time and transferred us to the pier where we took a longtail to the hotel.

I'll admit I was a little hesitant to book here after reading a couple of poor reviews (one regarding a tractor accident - during low tide a tractor takes guests from the longtail to the hotel - and another about a "bad feeling" in the room. However, upon arriving in Railay, all my fears disappeared. The location is phenomenally beautiful. The hotel itself is, architecturally, quite beautiful too. The rooms were the most spacious and modern we had in Thailand. We never had any problem with mold issues, as some other reviewers mentioned. The balcony view from our room was beautiful.

For the price, I think this is a nice option. Railay itself is so small that everything is only a short walk from the hotel. The food was all right, and the breakfast buffet wasn't anything fancy, but for our family, going to Railay was about beach time, so we didn't really spend a significant amount of time at the hotel. The beaches are insanely beautiful, and Bhu Nga Thani was a good priced, clean option for allowing us to see the sites in Railay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Good location near the middle of the east side with the path connecting to the west side very close by.

Good layout to the room with a decent amount of space for belongings. Separate toilet/shower which is always a bonus.

Shower was moldy however and didn't drain well for showers of longer than a couple of mins.

Service was definitely below average compared to all the other places we've stayed at in Thailand. Breakfast was ok but again service was below average.
One of the guys was meant to order our transfer and forgot to do it! Another young fellow looked like he was stoned the whole time.

We had staff huff and puff when we ordered cocktails at the pool as we interrupted his sleep on the job!!!

Restaurant was nice when lit up at night and food service food was ok.

A little more attention to service and cleanliness would make this place great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooneymadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here with my 4 year old daughter,mother, sister and brother in law.

We had 2 rooms and stayed in low season (mid-October).We managed to get a great deal on a travel website so were very excited to be staying somewhere that looked so lovely!

When we first arrived ...after catching the ferry back from Koh Phiphi... we had to call the hotel to tell them that we were waiting on the beach which was the other side of Railay from the Mangroves where the hotel was situated. It took about 25mins for someone to walk across to show us the way to the room,but luckily the naughty monkeys entertained my daughter during this time!! We were aware though that had the ferry taken us to the mangrove side (its usual route if the tide is high) then we would have experienced no wait at this stage.

On arrival at the hotel we were given complimentary drinks and a refreshing flannel which was lovely after a few hours travel. Our rooms were adjacent to one another on the 1st floor which gave us beautiful views of the lovely rocks which make Railay's beauty.

The rooms are HUGE with the most amazing and comfy bed I have slept in. The bath was like a private pool and although it took a long while to fill up I was impressed it kept the heat of the water very well!

The infinity pool overlooks the mangroves and the swim up bar just made it the perfect spot to relax in the afternoons. My daughter loved the fact that the pool doesnt shut until 9pm so we could go swimming in the dark!!

Staff were always friendly and breakfast was lovely, catering for everyone - and I now have a child who wants pancakes draped in maple syrup and honey every morning!!

There did seem to be an abundance of mosquitoes in the evenings, mainly due to the close proximity of the mangroves, but plaster yourself in ''mozzy spray'' and hopefully they might leave you alone!!

Plenty of places to eat nearby if you dont want to eat in the hotel. We didnt eat in the hotel so can not comment on any meal other than breakfast.

A 10 min walk along a lovely path where you see caves and monkeys, you come to the idyllic Phra Nang Beach .... its beauty is astonishing and it is well worth renting a kayak to explore around the nearby rocks and caves!

As a family we had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend it!

NB... due to it being a resort and SPA we were very much looking forward to treating ourselves to treatments, but the prices are very high (higher than what you would expect to pay in the UK!!) so we did not use the spa during our stay and did not receive a free 15min which may possibly be only for those staying in mid or high season

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to make the most of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aimi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Railay Beach
958 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
842 reviews
1.9 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,646 reviews
13.9 km away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,517 reviews
0.4 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $120 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing