We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
378
276
116
62
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
276
116
62
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargrand roomsmall gymhuge bathrailay westpool villaminute walkkrabi airportlong tail boatao nangduring low tidebars and restaurantsstayed here for nightsamazing hotelonly accessible by boatbeach sideour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Wonderful resort hotel, great rooms, great huge beds and linen, everything new, good pool area, good breakfasts, excellent service. located on the east side of Railey, which means it is good during the night time, but farther from the west beach of Railey (which is the prime beach). the eastern side is a thick mangrove beach, so swimming there is not prime. also sunsets are nicer on the west side, naturally. but as distances are very small, its not at all a problem to go and spend the day on the west side or south and then go back home. very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calidrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband, four year old, and I stayed at Bhu Nga Thani for two nights in mid-November. We had arranged through the hotel to be picked up from our hotel in Phuket, and didn't have to worry about anything. A driver was waiting for us right at check out time and transferred us to the pier where we took a longtail to the hotel.

I'll admit I was a little hesitant to book here after reading a couple of poor reviews (one regarding a tractor accident - during low tide a tractor takes guests from the longtail to the hotel - and another about a "bad feeling" in the room. However, upon arriving in Railay, all my fears disappeared. The location is phenomenally beautiful. The hotel itself is, architecturally, quite beautiful too. The rooms were the most spacious and modern we had in Thailand. We never had any problem with mold issues, as some other reviewers mentioned. The balcony view from our room was beautiful.

For the price, I think this is a nice option. Railay itself is so small that everything is only a short walk from the hotel. The food was all right, and the breakfast buffet wasn't anything fancy, but for our family, going to Railay was about beach time, so we didn't really spend a significant amount of time at the hotel. The beaches are insanely beautiful, and Bhu Nga Thani was a good priced, clean option for allowing us to see the sites in Railay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Good location near the middle of the east side with the path connecting to the west side very close by.

Good layout to the room with a decent amount of space for belongings. Separate toilet/shower which is always a bonus.

Shower was moldy however and didn't drain well for showers of longer than a couple of mins.

Service was definitely below average compared to all the other places we've stayed at in Thailand. Breakfast was ok but again service was below average.
One of the guys was meant to order our transfer and forgot to do it! Another young fellow looked like he was stoned the whole time.

We had staff huff and puff when we ordered cocktails at the pool as we interrupted his sleep on the job!!!

Restaurant was nice when lit up at night and food service food was ok.

A little more attention to service and cleanliness would make this place great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooneymadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here with my 4 year old daughter,mother, sister and brother in law.

We had 2 rooms and stayed in low season (mid-October).We managed to get a great deal on a travel website so were very excited to be staying somewhere that looked so lovely!

When we first arrived ...after catching the ferry back from Koh Phiphi... we had to call the hotel to tell them that we were waiting on the beach which was the other side of Railay from the Mangroves where the hotel was situated. It took about 25mins for someone to walk across to show us the way to the room,but luckily the naughty monkeys entertained my daughter during this time!! We were aware though that had the ferry taken us to the mangrove side (its usual route if the tide is high) then we would have experienced no wait at this stage.

On arrival at the hotel we were given complimentary drinks and a refreshing flannel which was lovely after a few hours travel. Our rooms were adjacent to one another on the 1st floor which gave us beautiful views of the lovely rocks which make Railay's beauty.

The rooms are HUGE with the most amazing and comfy bed I have slept in. The bath was like a private pool and although it took a long while to fill up I was impressed it kept the heat of the water very well!

The infinity pool overlooks the mangroves and the swim up bar just made it the perfect spot to relax in the afternoons. My daughter loved the fact that the pool doesnt shut until 9pm so we could go swimming in the dark!!

Staff were always friendly and breakfast was lovely, catering for everyone - and I now have a child who wants pancakes draped in maple syrup and honey every morning!!

There did seem to be an abundance of mosquitoes in the evenings, mainly due to the close proximity of the mangroves, but plaster yourself in ''mozzy spray'' and hopefully they might leave you alone!!

Plenty of places to eat nearby if you dont want to eat in the hotel. We didnt eat in the hotel so can not comment on any meal other than breakfast.

A 10 min walk along a lovely path where you see caves and monkeys, you come to the idyllic Phra Nang Beach .... its beauty is astonishing and it is well worth renting a kayak to explore around the nearby rocks and caves!

As a family we had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend it!

NB... due to it being a resort and SPA we were very much looking forward to treating ourselves to treatments, but the prices are very high (higher than what you would expect to pay in the UK!!) so we did not use the spa during our stay and did not receive a free 15min which may possibly be only for those staying in mid or high season

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to make the most of the views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aimi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We are a couple and stayed at Railay Beach for 2 nights. We booked the ground floor rooms with the big bathtub. At first we were delighted! we got the room 103. it was a huge beauful room, the bath was decirated with flowers, the room was spotless clean, no bad smells and it was all very impressive. the only thing that made it a bit uneasy at that point was what we had witnessed with another guest who arrived on the same hotel transportation. On the pickup platform dagged by a tractor that is sent by the hotel to pick us up from the boat, the wooden floor broke underneath the guy's feet and he fell through the floor with one of his legs down to his thigh. The hotel staff came to assist and helped him to the lobby, but that was very unsettling and we felt bad for him. We and other people were only a steps behind and it could happen to any if us. At that point we were sure that he broke or twisted hus leg, however talked to him later and turned on he was lucky after all, because he only had bruises.
We also noticed that hotel staff spoke very poor english with such a heavy accent that no matter how hard i tried i wasnt able to understand a word.
Yet we were still very pleased with the room and the facilities and spent the first day enjoying it. The problem started at night when i noticed something was biting me, the bites were unusually itchy and there were lots of them. At first i thought there was mosquito in the room and got completely under covers, howevet within a short time new bites kept appearing. It felt so horrible i woke my husband up crying. Even though it was hard to beleive it seemed to come from the bed. i was still sitting on the bed when i felt s new bite in a place were my leg was pressed against the mattrass so i had no doubts left something in the bed was biting me. we looked at the sheets and saw tiny black dots, they didnt move, but could be a byproduct of some bug. i dont know what they were.
We went down to the receprion at 3 am, the person there seemed to be underdtanding and spoke a good english. She sent us back while telling us she will consult the manager. within few minutes she came with a key to the room 108 and told us we could sleep there and come check in the morning wether we can move rooms. Room 108 was the same size and design, but smelled like mould, although we were just exhausted and took it. The receptionist mentioned only one time she was sorry for our incinvinience, and offered me a thai remedy for bites and overall we were greatful to her. in the morning we came back to the reception and talked to a different staff, we were just told to move to 108. No appologies and no reimburcement were offered. the staff behaved as if it was our problem, nothing to do with the hotel. When we took our things to the new room i noticed it had some black mold by the sink and no floweres in the bathroom were half dead and black, also the mold smell was there. however we were still tiered from the sleepless night and shocked by the indiference of the staff we just decided to stay for the second night. Later we booked a ferry to phuket for the day after whichd was not untill 2.50 as the receptionist informed. we asked for a late checkout and were offered extention till 1. Then my husband mentioned theg owed us for the trouble and we were again sent away untill confirmation with manager. an houf later we were told we could stay until 2.30.
The boat pick up was ectually at 3.30 and not 2.50 as the reseptionist informed, so we had to wait anothet 40 min in the outside heat.
One othet minus, the breakfast was just bad. The selection was small and the food was tasteless. For 15 min we sat the table we were not offered tea or coffee, even though other tables were. when we asked it took about 10 more min ntil we got it. Even tough we came an hour before breakfast time ended vegetables and salads were already out and only replaced when we funished our meals.
Overall it was a huge disappointment espevially the night bites, the staff's indiference and poor english (only the night receptionist was ok) and the poor breakfast. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds too, but our stay left a really bad taste. would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonBlackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews