We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The "luxurious pool" was empty and a building site... We weren't informed until we arrived, the work was well underway and not recent, The alternative was to use the pool of the presidential Villa which was filthy from so many guests using such a small pool. That alternative lasted for one day when we were informed by staff on the second day that the pool was broken when actually we met the guests who had booked the villa..so we were lied to..the only compensation was 800baht a day to use on either food or spa. You be lucky to get either for that price and the final compensation for the broken alternative pool (which was a lie) was a paid trip to an island for the day to go snorkelling, which was a scam because the weather was so bad it got cancelled everyday something that was easily predicted by the weekly weather forecasting the storms..The only thing stopping us from completely kicking off was the fact that our room was nice. But we did pay through the nose to stay in it. We won't be back and won't be referring friends.. a holiday lost to poor service

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennyX7146QM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 232 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2015

On arrival at the resort, we were informed that the pool was under maintenance. We were not informed of this beforehand, and many guests we witnessed checking in after us were also rather unhappy about this.

We were given 800 baht per room per night in the form of spa/restaurant credit, but not the opportunity to obtain a refund. Given that the pool was one of the main attractions for picking the place, shouldn't the credit have been more substantial (rooms aren't cheap) or guests offered a refund?

Otherwise the room was clean and bed comfortable. Loads of mosquitoes everywhere even in the rooms though (bring loads of insect repellent unless you wish to be eaten alive). Breakfast was ala carte from a selection of western and asian food, in addition to a buffet of salads/fruit/bread. Service at the restaurant could improve, but otherwise service was good at the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Upon arrival we were notified the hotel's pool was going through urgent maintenance and therefore was not usable. Instead, we were directed to use one of the villas' pool. This was very disappointing to us, as the pool was the main attraction when making the reservation. As a compensation we were given a hotel credit of 800 Baht per day (for use at the restaurant/spa).

The room itself (Deluxe Grand Room) was great: ample amount of space, big and comfortable bed, nice linen, lots of pillows, big heavy towels, great shower, spacious bath. A very pleasant stay in that sense.

What bothered us was the noticeable neglect in different areas, like cracks in floor ceramics, great amount of rust almost everywhere, some paint and/or plaster peeling at the front of the hotel grounds (much to our surprise), etc. This is mostly an aesthetic issue but we see it a hygienic one as well.

Apart of that, hotel grounds do look nice and are taken care of for the most part (gardening for instance). The natural background view coupled with the hotel grounds is a gorgeous sight.

As for the restaurant, breakfast was good, nice variety and everything was fresh as one would expect. Other dishes in the menu were also nice,. Only thing to stay away from is the pizza - Nothing terrible, just very amaturish and not worth it.

Staff was very nice and always helpful with everything we needed.

In summary, the experience was great, but it definitely looks like the hotel has been neglected in some areas. I guess the amount of 'pain' varies from room to room and person to person, as visual looks are somewhat of a subjective matter.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel was probably very nice once but is in need of a full renovation. Exterior is not terrible but things like the sliding doors to the shower area would not slide, toilet door would not close. The room had a big bath and a running waterfall in that area. The signs were there of what was probably lovely for the first year or 2, just not maintained.

Nevertheless, the staff were nice and the breakfast ok. For this kind of area, the expectation cannot be too high and it serves it's purposes. A clean place to stay in a convenient location.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brad_K_12987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Stayed here in April 2014 (a late review, the furthest date i could choose below is Oct 2014); took a pool villa with private Jacuzzi together with the honeymoon package.
1. Staff were extremely helpful and kind.
2. Location of hotel from airport is slightly far; requires transit via longtail boat. We didn't mind it.
3. Not much to do on Railay unless you're into mountain climbing, canoeing, water activities. Makes a perfect relaxation spot.
4. Trip to town (Ao Nang) is around 10-15 min by longtail boat. No issues, just need to wait for passengers to fill the boat.
5. Massage was extremely nice.

Room Tip: Pool villas are extremely private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
942 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#4 of 12 in Railay Beach
825 reviews
1.9 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,602 reviews
0.4 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,195 reviews
0.5 km away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $124 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing