We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craggy peaks and Serene waters. Majestic Views and Calming Blues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We took a shot in the dark in deciding on Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa in Krabi. The only deciding factor was that it was on Railay beach East which was less crowded than its western flank and Ao Nang to the north. We were not disappointed.

Just getting to the resort is a pleasurable experience - a flight to Krabi town then by road to Ao Nam Mao pier, then a tuk-tuk for the last mile to the boat (you can walk this too), then a long tail boat ride to Railay beach and finally a tractor-trailer to transport you and your belongings directly to the footstep of the hotel.

The hotel is in pristine surroundings - both ends flanked by towering cliffs that you can't help admire all times of the day and night. And the open sea out in front. Everything of importance is walkable or boatable.

The hotel room was magnificent. The standard rooms are in a ground +2 floor configuration and we took the top floor (there's a lift) which has splendid 360 degree views. The room is large and well-provided, decent aircon, a minibar, good plumbing and with a large size balcony with seating in front. There are ground level independent villas too but I doubt that they afford the views that you get from the top.

The service is a 50:50 experience. The front desk is extremely friendly and knowledgeble, going to great lengths to make you comfortable. A couple of them even escorted us on a shopping and sight-seeing trip after their normal working hours. The satisfaction ends there though. The restaurant is mostly staffed with people who do not speak English. Ordering breakfast can be a challenge. The housekeeping staff too does not understand basic instructions so all communication with them needs to happen via the front desk. But in Thailand you overlook all this when even the incomprehension comes with a genuine smile!

There is just one restaurant for all meals. The breakfast coud do with fresh juices and a choice of teas. The Thai lunch was very tasty and filling. The service is a bit slow but again on a holiday you don't mind. Besides there are dozens of restaurants at close walking distance.

The swimming pool and bar is delightfully located; you can see all passers-by on the outside from within the pool. The spa is well appointed. There is a shop which is opend only on demand and a small fitness centre, both we never tried because there is so much more to do outside. These are some absolute musts while at Krabi -

Island hopping
Pranang caves (nominal entrance fee)
Ao Nang for night shopping and seafood.
Many beaches
Rock climbing

What we enjoyed the most was a cross-country trek from Railay East to Ao Ton Sai. It is quite strenous and could take up to an hour and we were delighted to accomplish it. Its not really difficult though it always appears so.

Bhu Nga Thani is a pleasurable resort, a place we feel we must visit again, good value for money and so much more to see and do!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivekgokarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 544 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed at Bhu Nga Thani for 8 nights for the relaxing getaway leg of our trip to Thailand. On arrival at Krabi airport, the driver greeted us for our transfer to the resort (via road and then longtail boat). We booked this with the hotel prior to travelling and it's highly recommended. On arrival, we were not disappointed - the hotel grounds were immaculate. Check-in was quick and painless and we were shown to our room, which again, exceeded our expectations - the bed was huge, the bathroom well equipped, the fixtures beautifully designed and the facilities were exactly what you would expect. The room had a balcony, furnished with a day bed, that overlooked the East Railay beach and, if you were up early enough, gave a fantastic view of the sunrise.

Breakfast was fine with a good selection of fruit, cereals and breads. You could also order a cooked breakfast, although I would say that the service could be a bit hit and miss and we often had to find someone to ask them to take our order. You got the feeling that the staff really didn't enjoy doing the early shift!

The pool area was excellent with lots of loungers and impressive fountain / waterfall features. The swim-up bar was also a nice touch. The food we ordered by the pool was of a good quality and freshly prepared, although maybe a little on the pricey side. The spa looked gorgeous with a huge range of available treatments, but the high prices put us off using it, particularly when there are beach-side massage huts nearby charging less than a third of the price for a Thai or Swedish massage.

In terms of its location, we spent hours agonising over East or West Railay - please don't! Walking from one side to the other takes 5-10 minutes along a flat path. Being on the East side just means that you don't walk out of your hotel onto a useable beach (the East side is mostly mangrove). The beach on the West side is stunning and is lined with good quality restaurants and a couple of bars. There are also some decent restaurants further along the East side (nearer to the back-packer bungalow end), which are worth trying.

Now the reasons why it wasn't quite perfect. During our stay, we experienced some sleepless nights thanks to a bar further down the East beach, which insisted on kicking out loud pumping dance music from about midnight to 4 or 5am. The bar is actually quite a distance from the resort, but due to the mountainous surroundings, it echoed its way to the hotel and was clearly audible through the closed windows (even with ear plugs!!). There were only a couple of nights where we were spared the music and this really did put a dampener on our stay. We spoke to the manager and I also managed to speak to one of the family members who own the hotel and they are aware of the problem and are seeking to take steps against the bar to prevent it from making excessive noise so late at night. It's bizarre that the problem should exist in the first place - this isn't what Railay is about - it's an entertaining location with bars and restaurants, but it's definitely not a party resort and has tried to differentiate itself from Koh Samui, Phuket, etc. I really hope that the owners manage to put pressure on the bar to reign in the noise, as Bhu Nga Thani is certainly not the only hotel that's impacted by this - we spoke to people staying at a resort closer to the bar, and they'd gone almost 3 days without any sleep!

Overall, Bhu Nga Thani comes highly recommended - it's immaculately presented, well positioned and, with the exception of some less-than-happy service at breakfast, all the staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful and courteous. If they can stamp down on their noisy neighbours, then it would be perfect and we'd almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We booked orignally for 3 nights but extended our stay here one night directly when we saw the hotel. After that we extended 3 more nights. We really liked this hotel and could have stayed here longer. Were relax - nice pool area, very beautiful main entrance & restaurant area, designed rooms with view of the sea (if you live on third floor), very friendly and service minded staff, a certain Mr. F in the reception were very helpful in all times. Some of them would be good if they improved their English. Please also have fresh juice at the breakfast. Very nice spa area and also a small gym. Highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Railay!! Almost forgot - free Wifi is included!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrikMadelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

beautiful hotel is very nice and relaxing . Helpful is good .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tehilaislael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

i and my wife staied in this hotel for a 3 days, it is very nice,romantic and elegant hotel.
the service and the staff is great, as we arrived thay gave us a cold drink and wet towel.
every day we recived 2 free botles with water. the swimming pool is very nice with jacusy.
the view from the room and the pool was amazing, u can see the sea from the room.
the breakfast is very good.
next time we will visit Krabi we will defenetly stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leokuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
942 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
824 reviews
1.9 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,596 reviews
0.4 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,189 reviews
0.5 km away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $126 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing