We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to lay your head in Railay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Railay Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The room was small and basic, but clean. The building was wooden, and had a treehouse/bungalow feel to it. But the rooms seemed to be crammed in to all available space. Overall, fine if you're planning to spend the majority of your time out exploring, climbing, sailing, lying on the beach etc. But definitely not for you if you're looking for more of a 'resort'. I think there may be a pool you can pay to use, somewhere, but the beach was what I was looking for!

We had a fan that only seemed to have one speed and we couldn't get it to stop blowing straight onto us. Not a bad thing through the day, but a bit too much when you're trying to sleep. Turning it off just meant the room turned back into a sweatbox though. Just tolerable for 2 nights, but if staying longer, I probably would've switched to a room with aircon.

Location-wise, it is bang in the middle of East Railay, and just an easy 5 minute walk to West Railay. We ended up staying for this reason, really. As whilst there are other budget places around, this seemed to be the most central of them. Then again, nothing in Railay is too far away... unless you have a super heavy bag to carry!

In most other places in Thailand, I'd call this overpriced. But I suppose in Railay terms it is budget, and overall, tolerable.

The staff that we did encounter were also pleasant and helpful. And we were able to leave valuables at reception without any problems.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, request a room on the ground floor. We were on the first floor, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a good budget option if you are planing to spend most of your time climbing and being outdoors. The resort is a group of three story wooden bungalows full of character set amongst trees and winding paths. The rooms are mostly wooden with fans and could do with updating. The bathroom is adequate at best and we did have problems with the water supply. The rooms on the higher levels offer more light, privacy and peace.

The resort is well located in the middle of West Railay and everything is only a short stroll away. Check in was easy and the restaurant provides good food. Staff are a little inattentive but their friendly attitude makes up for any short comings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keepcalmandcarry0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Previously called Ya Ya resort, Princess Budget Wing is all you need in beautiful Railay. Treehouse type bungalows in the middle of a forest, the rooms were clean, hot shower, a great fan that was very strategically placed directly over the bed and the staff very friendly. Our first room wasn't the best, at the back and looking over a washing line, but we asked them to move us to a front facing room which was perfect. Lovely to lie in bed looking out the window into the trees. Great location - right in the middle of the East side, 2 minutes walk to the beautiful West side and very close to all the restaurants and bars on the East side. I'll definitely stay there again, just ask for a front facing room not on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I've given this hotel 2 stars because it is a 2 star property not because we had a bad experience. This hotel was formerly called Ya Ya resort.

We booked online last minute and stayed over new years (mainly because everywhere else was full). We paid 2200baht for 2 nights. It was a little noisy one of the mornings, but otherwise it was reasonably quiet (we weren't in our room often)

Only thing to be aware of are that the stairs are really steep, so if you're not as fit as you used to be or have bad balance maybe book a better room/ask for a room on the ground floor or stay somewhere else. Other thing to note is that the room was really small! So if that's an issue don't book the budget wing.

Breakfast wasn't included, but we ate up the road and had great meals.

Railey is beautiful!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loukob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Some rooms better than others (we had to change around as there were different numbers of us at different times)

Rooms have a bit of character to them as they are wooden, could say a bit dingy. I liked it though.

It's in a good location and one of the cheapest in Railay so I would stay there again.

Nothing to write home about though...........

Room Tip: higher floors I found better. Nice to have a balcony and generally more airy and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wizardoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Railay Beach hotels
0 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
853 reviews
0 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
975 reviews
0 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Anyavee Railay Resort
Anyavee Railay Resort
#9 of 12 in Railay Beach
413 reviews
0 km away
Railay Great View Resort and Spa
0 km away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa

Address: 145/1 Moo 2 | Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ya Ya Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Princess Budget Wing At Railay Princess Resort And Spa
Princess Budget Wing At Railay Princess Resort & Spa Hotel Railay Beach
Princess Budget Wing At Railay Princess Resort & Spa Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing