We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malagas Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
32
44
22
11
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
44
22
11
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreede riverswimming poolbreakfast and dinnercountry hotelexcellent value for moneystaff are very friendly and helpfulnew years daywonderful placegravel roadfriends and familygo the extra miletraditional south african farecomfortable roomsbeautiful gardenpool tablelovely experiencetea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Spent 4 wonderfully relaxing days here. A very tranquil setting and a great place to unwind. Food was delicious &good South African cooking .Staff were efficient & friendly . The Breede river flowing past is soothing & birdlife is quite abundant.
.I would highly recommend it & will definitely be back

Stayed: December 2017
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

You, and many other guests have taken advantage of the tranquility and surrounds together with our traditional South African cooking. We appreciate your feedback and pleased that your relaxing stay was a memorable one. Thank you from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Our time-share room was beautifully decorated, convenient and spacious. The little balcony with view of the river is very nice. For the smokers, there are ashtrays on the balcony so you would be able to smoke there. There is a little fridge in the room which is convenient for drinks and coffee & tea facilities is provided. The resort is not self catering and the location makes it quite difficult to eat anywhere else. Their breakfast and snack baskets are mediocre. I ordered toast & scrambled eggs for my toddler and it looked like it was heated from the day before - I am sure it was not but the toast is probably made early and stacked and I am not sure what happened to the eggs. If you prebook breakfast it will cost you R90 for yogurt, fruits & cereals + hot meal of your choice, otherwise it is more expensive. The spread provided on the table is some cheap margarine which has been cut into blocks - this was horrible, butter would have made a good substitute (especially at R90 per head) The snack baskets come pre-packed and they just dunk the whole do in oil and fry - everything tastes the same.

I must however compliment the staff, they were friendly and helpful and the setting is beautiful. I would certainly go again but actively make a plan to avoid eating there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for the review and happy to hear that the rooms satisfactory and staff friendly.
I know we had a problem with our supplier re butter which we sorted out. We do not pre-toast any bread before breakfast and the same for the scrambled eggs which we prepare on order. I will however see that they take out the food immediately as the should - this might have been the problem. The snack baskets is made up by us and yes it is all selected to be deep fried as this is a quick snack that we supply throughout the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Nice clean rooms [ not luxurious ] fans in the ceiling and flat screen tv. Nice cozy bar with pool table. Out side lots to do for the kids , boats to rent on daily base or longer than one day. Food was good . Breakfast simple but ok .Dinner very good and the service also good.If you want to relax this is the place to be,

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are the best, Do not have to climb stairs
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwapogwapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Accommodation is clean and comfortable in en suite rooms. Good "home-cooked" food - wholesome with the emphasis on traditional South African fare. Dinner, bed and breakfast rates are very reasonable - excellent value for money. The hotel is attractively situated on the banks of the Breede River and it is a fairly easy drive to visit De Hoop Nature Reserve and the Bontebok Park near Swellendam. The Malagas Hotel is good to visit to unwind, away from the hustle and bustle of town life.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the South Side are very private.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, General Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to write your review and for describing your stay as exactly as it is. Happy that you appreciated the tranquility of the conservancy surrounds and certainly hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We spent 3 nights here on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The gardens have seen better days, which is a shame - there is plenty of water! The location is very peaceful. The restaurant was very disappointing. They are exploiting the fact that they have a monopoly - it is 40 km on dirt roads to Swellendam and, as the ferry doesn't run at night, Witsand is not an option. The most people at dinner was 8 so you would think that the food would be lovely and fresh and where possible locally sourced. Instead it all seemed to be poorly heated frozen offerings. The plates were never hot and the food was luke warm. I would recommend that they focus on 3 good courses instead of 5 bad ones. The main course was the best each night but when we asked for gravy (on the menu but not served) because the pork was very dry we had to wait ages and then had to serve it with a spoon as it was too thick to pour (I think it may have been of the instant variety). The sauces (mushroom and pepper) also appeared to be of "add boiling water" origin. At breakfast the only honey was imported from China - and yet the little shop within walking distance sells local honey. They had no butter - the supplier hadn't delivered! One of the staff kindly fetched some from her own kitchen but that should never happen. We sat a bit late chatting with another couple over coffee one evening until at 21:00 the barman came and said we would have to go to our rooms as he was locking up the main building! So sadly I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for the review. As you know the whole of the Western Cape suffers from drought this year. Although we have a river running past the property it does not mean that we always have fresh water. As for locally sourced products, we cannot go driving around to different farms everyday to collect different items for the menu. Honey from China I have not heard of and we do not keep frozen meals in the kitchen. I will address the barman for closing early and it is a pity you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews