We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malagas Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
32
44
22
11
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
44
22
11
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreede riverswimming poolbreakfast and dinnercountry hotelexcellent value for moneystaff are very friendly and helpfulnew years daywonderful placegravel roadfriends and familygo the extra miletraditional south african farecomfortable roomsbeautiful gardenpool tablelovely experiencetea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Myself and my family have recently returned from a short stay at the above Malagas Hotel.

We were outraged to find that the total price quoted (and paid for upfront) on booking.com, was in fact not the total price we were required to pay for our accommodation. At check out we were presented with an additional bill for accommodation which amounted to 20% of the 'TOTAL' price already paid.

The hotel staff and management were completely relentless in their argument, that this error was no fault of their own, but was the fault of booking.com's software loading their pricing incorrectly. No accountability was taken by the hotel for this error despite their admission that were aware of the problem, and no compromise was offered whatsoever to us, their customer, for their issue with booking.com. We were forced to pay the outstanding amount and left furious at the attitudes of the staff, management and their dishonest pricing policy.

In all my travels, NEVER have I been asked to pay more than the total price quoted in any reservation. The fact that they have done so is completely dishonest, misleading and possibly illegal. Is this not why we have the Consumer Protection Act in place after all ?

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TequilaSheils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

As explained before - when you make a reservation on Booking.com it shows the children's prices as it is not included. The reservation you made was made for 3 Adults and 1 child up to 0 years old which means 3 adults only. Our rates include Dinner and Breakfast unlike most hotel which is a room only, therefore we have to charge for children. When the booking came trough and in the notes it was for 2 Adults and 2 Children we e-mailed you to find out the exact details and to inform you again of the Children's rates before we took the payment. As you explained to me you chose to ignore this e-mail. You were told this again on Check in that you had a balance outstanding and just refused to pay. Guests should please read booking conditions and confirmations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We arrived at this beautiful hotel at about 2pm and shown to our more than adequate accommodation. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that Father Christmas would be arriving at 4.30pm and asked if we have any presents to hand in for him as he would be coming by boat for the youngsters. My kids loved the whole show and getting their presents with other kids, and all the excitement with ice-creams afterwards. Will never forget that this Father Christmas was barefoot and so accommodating to the little kids who hugged him and loved being picked up. Well done for organizing this memorable event. The food was tasty, the service great and we had a great family break.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We spent three great nights at Malgas! Food was real good home cooking, staff were great and helpful! There were all the extra little touches of christmas that was home from home! Rooms were spacious and clean! Great beds! Will recomend this anytime for a prefect geataway

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are quieter and cooler than first floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ftoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Spent 4 wonderfully relaxing days here. A very tranquil setting and a great place to unwind. Food was delicious &good South African cooking .Staff were efficient & friendly . The Breede river flowing past is soothing & birdlife is quite abundant.
.I would highly recommend it & will definitely be back

Stayed: December 2017
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

You, and many other guests have taken advantage of the tranquility and surrounds together with our traditional South African cooking. We appreciate your feedback and pleased that your relaxing stay was a memorable one. Thank you from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Our time-share room was beautifully decorated, convenient and spacious. The little balcony with view of the river is very nice. For the smokers, there are ashtrays on the balcony so you would be able to smoke there. There is a little fridge in the room which is convenient for drinks and coffee & tea facilities is provided. The resort is not self catering and the location makes it quite difficult to eat anywhere else. Their breakfast and snack baskets are mediocre. I ordered toast & scrambled eggs for my toddler and it looked like it was heated from the day before - I am sure it was not but the toast is probably made early and stacked and I am not sure what happened to the eggs. If you prebook breakfast it will cost you R90 for yogurt, fruits & cereals + hot meal of your choice, otherwise it is more expensive. The spread provided on the table is some cheap margarine which has been cut into blocks - this was horrible, butter would have made a good substitute (especially at R90 per head) The snack baskets come pre-packed and they just dunk the whole do in oil and fry - everything tastes the same.

I must however compliment the staff, they were friendly and helpful and the setting is beautiful. I would certainly go again but actively make a plan to avoid eating there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for the review and happy to hear that the rooms satisfactory and staff friendly.
I know we had a problem with our supplier re butter which we sorted out. We do not pre-toast any bread before breakfast and the same for the scrambled eggs which we prepare on order. I will however see that they take out the food immediately as the should - this might have been the problem. The snack baskets is made up by us and yes it is all selected to be deep fried as this is a quick snack that we supply throughout the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews