We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
35
53
26
12
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
53
26
12
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breede river swimming pool breakfast and dinner wonderful experience excellent value for money off the beaten track staff are very friendly and helpful a lovely stay beautiful surroundings gravel road friends and family traditional south african fare pool table weekend breakaway fruit salad lovely garden enjoy nature
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I loved staying at this hotel, very very clean, friendly staff and lots and lots of FOOD......... You can relax at the swimming pool and you can rent a boat for the day by arrangement,One can do long waIks, enjoy drinks on the deck and it's perfect for little ones, I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing Malagas Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us ans would love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff were able to help us with same day booking. We came with the motorbike and we were allowed to park near our room..it felt more secure. Cosy bar were we met some wonderful people. Neat and comfortable room. All and all, very pleasant stay

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank carlaeveleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Hotel. Hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

There is a 60km gravel road to get to the hotel, but well worth the dust! The staff are very helpful and cheerful. Our room was very spacious and clean,with a tea and coffee station including a small fridge. A lovely garden with pool to sit and relax next to the Breede River. If you feel energetic you may hire a canoe and paddle up the river.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for the time taken to submit your experience with us and pleased that your stay was all you expected, despite the gravel road. We pride ourselves in being of good service and appreciate your feedback confirming this. We hope you will return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Malagas Hotel is great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The accommodation is very comfortable and clean. There is a set menu for breakfast and supper with a varied selection of meals daily (supper). The quality and presentation of the food is very good and copious amounts. Both the supervisory staff and waiters went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We left the Malagas Hotel after spending three nights stay feeling refreshed, invigorated and ready to face th hustle and bustle again. We would definitely like to return again, particularly during the wet winter months when hopefully the surrounding areas won't be as dry as currently experienced during this visit.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rflynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We came here for coffee before crossing the Breede River on the last remaining hand pulled ferry in the world, so we are told. The ferry is a must visit as two or three hard working men and sometimes women haul the ferry across the river by pulling against a wire hauser with a harness. The hotel is old fashioned but has a minute pool and there are boats to hire to go upstream. It seems comfortable but simple.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews