We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malagas Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
32
44
22
11
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
44
22
11
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreede riverswimming poolbreakfast and dinnercountry hotelexcellent value for moneystaff are very friendly and helpfulnew years daywonderful placegravel roadfriends and familygo the extra miletraditional south african farecomfortable roomsbeautiful gardenpool tablelovely experiencetea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I loved staying at this hotel, very very clean, friendly staff and lots and lots of FOOD......... You can relax at the swimming pool and you can rent a boat for the day by arrangement,One can do long waIks, enjoy drinks on the deck and it's perfect for little ones, I will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing Malagas Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us ans would love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff were able to help us with same day booking. We came with the motorbike and we were allowed to park near our room..it felt more secure. Cosy bar were we met some wonderful people. Neat and comfortable room. All and all, very pleasant stay

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carlaeveleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Hotel. Hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

There is a 60km gravel road to get to the hotel, but well worth the dust! The staff are very helpful and cheerful. Our room was very spacious and clean,with a tea and coffee station including a small fridge. A lovely garden with pool to sit and relax next to the Breede River. If you feel energetic you may hire a canoe and paddle up the river.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for the time taken to submit your experience with us and pleased that your stay was all you expected, despite the gravel road. We pride ourselves in being of good service and appreciate your feedback confirming this. We hope you will return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Malagas Hotel is great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The accommodation is very comfortable and clean. There is a set menu for breakfast and supper with a varied selection of meals daily (supper). The quality and presentation of the food is very good and copious amounts. Both the supervisory staff and waiters went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We left the Malagas Hotel after spending three nights stay feeling refreshed, invigorated and ready to face th hustle and bustle again. We would definitely like to return again, particularly during the wet winter months when hopefully the surrounding areas won't be as dry as currently experienced during this visit.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rflynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionMalgas, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We came here for coffee before crossing the Breede River on the last remaining hand pulled ferry in the world, so we are told. The ferry is a must visit as two or three hard working men and sometimes women haul the ferry across the river by pulling against a wire hauser with a harness. The hotel is old fashioned but has a minute pool and there are boats to hire to go upstream. It seems comfortable but simple.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews