We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go there!”
Review of Mumbul Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mumbul Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Anturan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we were certain this was a good value-for-money place to spend the night. We stayed at Mumbul Guesthouse for two nights. The reception was not at all exceptionally welcoming or warm, it was just a normal reception as we had in many other hotels before. When we entered the room, first impression was good, just what you can expect from a guesthouse with these prices. We went to check out the bathroom, the state of cleanliness it was in, was appalling. We had the two rooms at the back and the bathroom of the last room was really aweful. Nothing was cleaned properly. Behind the nightstand there was a big stain on the wall, probably from a spilled soda which could've been clean if it was whiped with a wet cloth. The curtain on the canopy was really dirty, stained and seemed to be used only to prevent things from falling on the bed. And though we had a closed bathroom, the huge gecko's and COCKROACHES managed to get in the bathroom with as a result, poop on the sink. This is not so bad if the room was cleaned daily, this is not the case. it is only cleaned on request and since we stayed only two nights, we didn't have the guts to ask to clean our room since we found this rather insulting. After we struggled through the night, because in the rice fields across our rooms were scarecrows which made a such a sharp noise you could barely sleep, we found ourselves at the breakfast table expecting a decent breakfast. Once again, we were disappointed. We got a glass of orange juice (the fake stuff but this is normal in Bali), a cup of coffee or tea, 6 pieces of fruit and one omelette. Not even toast to go with the eggs. Since my husband is a healthy man, with a normal appetite, we had to go look for breakfast elsewhere to have filled his belly. The only positives are the great wifi in the rooms and the fact that we only stayed here two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our place. We are very sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. One of our priorities of running our place is keeping the rooms spotless and we are sorry that this was not the case for you during your stay. I will certainly bringing up this problem with our cleaning staff.

We give guests the option of requesting their rooms to be cleaned, sheets changed etc. We feel this is more eco-friendly, however, if guests want daily housekeeping, we are more than happy to oblige. I am not sure why you would find this insulting and it is the first time we have had a complaint about this.

The stain you mentioned is a water stain from the bathroom from a previous plumbing problem and we haven't had a chance to repaint the room. We are surrounded by ricefields and farmland, so I think you need to expect some bugs and insects, no matter how clean the rooms are. The rooms you booked are bungalow style rooms with high pitched roofs, which geckos seem to like. The geckos are harmless and they play their role by eating insects. The other two rooms we have flat ordinary flat ceilings. If you had of asked we could have changed you to another room. Larger hotels fumigate their rooms and grounds, but this kills every living thing in the area and this is something we would prefer not to carry out.

Our accommodation is in the budget category, but that does not mean we value providing guests with a clean and safe place to stay. I believe what we provide is excellent value for money with free wifi, pool, lush tropical gardens, free bicycle rental, air conditioning, hot water, tv and DVD player in every room and we have recently installed satellite television in the restaurant, where our current guests have been watching the Olympics. We encourage guests to tell us about any problem they have and we are more than happy to try and fix it straight away.

We would like apologize once again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay here in Mumbul Guesthouse when I visited Lovina at the end of July. The stay here was fantastic to say the least. Mike and Ammanda were very helpful and knowledgeable on the happenings and sights in Lovina and they were very welcoming too.

Overall, great experience I had here at Mumbul and I truly recommend anyone who's coming to Lovina to seriously consider this place as their no. 1 choice of accommodation.

Positives:
Great Wifi. Fast and smooth.
BIG rooms! Spacious and clean!
Nice open air toilets. Really cool!
Restaurant with great tasting food.
Nice pool
Quiet and peaceful.
Near the quiet part of the beach where there no hawkers and there's a farm beside it too!

Negatives:
It's not exactly location friendly. It's a 10min bemo ride and probably 20min walk from central Lovina, unless you take the Perama bus. The bemo would probably set 5-7000 Rupiah off your budget, still less than a dollar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Positives:
The Wifi was great.
The room was great. Big and lots of space.
Loved the view onto the neighboring padi fields
Staff was helpful
Enjoyed the availability of dvds.

Negatives:
The restaurant could have had more food to serve. Considering in the tropics that food goes off quickly, the hotel could introduce a system, where if a guest wants to have dinner in the hotel, they inform the staff by 4pm, then the staff could acquire the ingredients and serve a fresh meal with no worries of wastage.
They served orange juice for breakfast. I think watermelon or pineapple juice would be more appropriate considering we're in Bali.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WahidahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback from reviews so we can know how we can improve our place. Thank you for the suggestion for our restaurant. Some of our dishes need to be ordered in advance, such as Ayam Betutu (grill chicken with Balinese spices). We do put together dinner packages for guests, where they can order lunch or dinner in advance, which is ideal for families or groups. We shop almost daily for food for breakfast and the restaurant. We have been in business for over a year now and we do have plans to develop our restaurant further. The menu has already been updated several times and we are always open to any suggestions for new menu ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The guest house itself was nice, with clean spacious rooms and great breakfast However, the location is a real let down, Anturan has nothing going on at all so you really have to have your own transport to do anything. We had been looking forward to meeting Mike and Ammanda after hearing rave reviews about their service but found Mike, who we saw most of, pretty vague at best. The food in the restaurant was good and prepared fresh which was lovely, but Mike and Ammanda disappeared as soon as we sat down, and there was always staff sitting in the restaurant area smoking or sleeping on the floor - overall the atmosphere felt rather odd!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback on our place and the service we provide, where we are doing well and where we can improve.

Anturan, where our guesthouse is located, is a quiet fishing village on the north coast of Bali. We are surrounded by farmland and ricefields. Tourist development is low key and the people who come here enjoy the quiet and peaceful surroundings.

Since we are near the beach, most of the activities are water based, like snorkeling, swimming, fishing and what Lovina is famous for, dolphin watching. You can also go hiking in the mountains and see rice terraces and beautiful waterfalls. There are many temples to see in the area, including the Buddhist temple in Dencarik. The nearby hot springs are also popular with guests. Some activities are directly accessible in Anturan, while others you do need transport.

Bemos are the local form of public transport and travel up and down the coast. Many tourists rent scooters and drive around themselves. We have a car with our own driver, who can also drive you around. Our tours are reasonably priced and are a great way to visit places less frequented by tourists. We also provide two bicycles which can be used by guests for free.

We provide all of this information in a book which we have personally written and already updated several times. It is available in the restaurant and all of the guest rooms. We have also spent a great deal of time creating our website so guests can have a clear understanding of where our guesthouse is located, the facilities we provide and activities that are available.

We also provide recommendations for nearby restaurants. Lovina doesn't have the nightlife options like the south, but there are a couple of nightclubs in the area and in Kalibukbuk. In Anturan on the beach you will find some places that have live music. Many of the young guys love singing and playing guitar. The people are very friendly and if you spend a few days here you will get to know some of the local characters. Some guests have made friends with people in the area and have visited their homes and have experienced Balinese ceremonies with them.

We, the owners of Mumbul live on site and we are available 24/7 if guests need any kind of assistance. I am sorry that this perhaps wasn't the ideal spot for your holiday, but we love living here and we do our best to ensure our guests enjoy it also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at Mumbul Guesthouse and we loved every moment of our stay here. Mike and Ammanda are very welcoming, and were willing to help with any requests we asked for. During our stay, Mike and Ammanda helped organise for us to have massages and go snorkeling at the amazing Menjangan Island. One of the highlights of our trip was a cooking class where we experienced all the sights and smells of the local market and then cooked what we had bought at the guesthouse with our chef.
The bedroom was clean, comfortable and spacious and the outdoor bathroom was great.
Thank you to all staff at Mumbul Guesthouse for making this such a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anturan
2.5 km away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 24 in Lovina Beach
551 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
246 reviews
7.0 km away
The Hamsa Bali Resort
The Hamsa Bali Resort
#13 of 24 in Lovina Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Villa Lumbalumba Lovina Bali
3.6 km away
Santhika Bed&Breakfast
Santhika Bed&Breakfast
#2 of 41 in Lovina Beach
33 reviews
0.4 km away
Gede Homestay
Gede Homestay
#2 of 6 in Anturan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mumbul Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mumbul Guesthouse

Address: Gang Mumbul, Anturan 81119, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Wisata Mumbul)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Anturan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Anturan
Price Range: $22 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mumbul Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mumbul Guesthouse is located in the fishing village of Anturan on the north coast of Bali. We have just eight rooms all of which have ricefield views. Breakfast is included in the price. We are a short walk to the beach. We have a large pool and offer free wifi internet. Our upstairs rooms offer beautiful views of the sea, ricefields and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mumbul Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbul Guesthouse Bali/Anturan, Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing