We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tepe Villa Lux(Anturan)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Lumbalumba Lovina Bali(Anturan)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gede Homestay(Anturan)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
47
39
11
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
39
11
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnice placeguesthouseindonesiadvdsmotorbike
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay here in Mumbul Guesthouse when I visited Lovina at the end of July. The stay here was fantastic to say the least. Mike and Ammanda were very helpful and knowledgeable on the happenings and sights in Lovina and they were very welcoming too.

Overall, great experience I had here at Mumbul and I truly recommend anyone who's coming to Lovina to seriously consider this place as their no. 1 choice of accommodation.

Positives:
Great Wifi. Fast and smooth.
BIG rooms! Spacious and clean!
Nice open air toilets. Really cool!
Restaurant with great tasting food.
Nice pool
Quiet and peaceful.
Near the quiet part of the beach where there no hawkers and there's a farm beside it too!

Negatives:
It's not exactly location friendly. It's a 10min bemo ride and probably 20min walk from central Lovina, unless you take the Perama bus. The bemo would probably set 5-7000 Rupiah off your budget, still less than a dollar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great and spacious!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Positives:
The Wifi was great.
The room was great. Big and lots of space.
Loved the view onto the neighboring padi fields
Staff was helpful
Enjoyed the availability of dvds.

Negatives:
The restaurant could have had more food to serve. Considering in the tropics that food goes off quickly, the hotel could introduce a system, where if a guest wants to have dinner in the hotel, they inform the staff by 4pm, then the staff could acquire the ingredients and serve a fresh meal with no worries of wastage.
They served orange juice for breakfast. I think watermelon or pineapple juice would be more appropriate considering we're in Bali.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WahidahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback from reviews so we can know how we can improve our place. Thank you for the suggestion for our restaurant. Some of our dishes need to be ordered in advance, such as Ayam Betutu (grill chicken with Balinese spices). We do put together dinner packages for guests, where they can order lunch or dinner in advance, which is ideal for families or groups. We shop almost daily for food for breakfast and the restaurant. We have been in business for over a year now and we do have plans to develop our restaurant further. The menu has already been updated several times and we are always open to any suggestions for new menu ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The guest house itself was nice, with clean spacious rooms and great breakfast However, the location is a real let down, Anturan has nothing going on at all so you really have to have your own transport to do anything. We had been looking forward to meeting Mike and Ammanda after hearing rave reviews about their service but found Mike, who we saw most of, pretty vague at best. The food in the restaurant was good and prepared fresh which was lovely, but Mike and Ammanda disappeared as soon as we sat down, and there was always staff sitting in the restaurant area smoking or sleeping on the floor - overall the atmosphere felt rather odd!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate getting feedback on our place and the service we provide, where we are doing well and where we can improve.

Anturan, where our guesthouse is located, is a quiet fishing village on the north coast of Bali. We are surrounded by farmland and ricefields. Tourist development is low key and the people who come here enjoy the quiet and peaceful surroundings.

Since we are near the beach, most of the activities are water based, like snorkeling, swimming, fishing and what Lovina is famous for, dolphin watching. You can also go hiking in the mountains and see rice terraces and beautiful waterfalls. There are many temples to see in the area, including the Buddhist temple in Dencarik. The nearby hot springs are also popular with guests. Some activities are directly accessible in Anturan, while others you do need transport.

Bemos are the local form of public transport and travel up and down the coast. Many tourists rent scooters and drive around themselves. We have a car with our own driver, who can also drive you around. Our tours are reasonably priced and are a great way to visit places less frequented by tourists. We also provide two bicycles which can be used by guests for free.

We provide all of this information in a book which we have personally written and already updated several times. It is available in the restaurant and all of the guest rooms. We have also spent a great deal of time creating our website so guests can have a clear understanding of where our guesthouse is located, the facilities we provide and activities that are available.

We also provide recommendations for nearby restaurants. Lovina doesn't have the nightlife options like the south, but there are a couple of nightclubs in the area and in Kalibukbuk. In Anturan on the beach you will find some places that have live music. Many of the young guys love singing and playing guitar. The people are very friendly and if you spend a few days here you will get to know some of the local characters. Some guests have made friends with people in the area and have visited their homes and have experienced Balinese ceremonies with them.

We, the owners of Mumbul live on site and we are available 24/7 if guests need any kind of assistance. I am sorry that this perhaps wasn't the ideal spot for your holiday, but we love living here and we do our best to ensure our guests enjoy it also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at Mumbul Guesthouse and we loved every moment of our stay here. Mike and Ammanda are very welcoming, and were willing to help with any requests we asked for. During our stay, Mike and Ammanda helped organise for us to have massages and go snorkeling at the amazing Menjangan Island. One of the highlights of our trip was a cooking class where we experienced all the sights and smells of the local market and then cooked what we had bought at the guesthouse with our chef.
The bedroom was clean, comfortable and spacious and the outdoor bathroom was great.
Thank you to all staff at Mumbul Guesthouse for making this such a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The guesthouse has only 4 rooms which makes that it is really calm. The swimming pool although not very large is nice to swim in after a day excursion. The owners are very helpfull and we booked with them a.o. the dolphin tour, lovina tour and the transfer to the gili islands.
The only negative point is that the breakfast is poor; it is always the same they are giving although prepared in a different way. If you have a good appetite it is not sufficient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Mie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The feedback is incredibly valuable to us, so we can continue trying to improve our accommodation and service. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. Our aim is to provide a nutritious and appetizing breakfast, while keeping the price of our rooms low. Having said that we are currently planning a new breakfast menu with greater options, to suit a variety of tastes. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Indonesia and we hope to see you again some time at Mumbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews