We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Khan Kheow more than OK! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khao Kheow Open Zoo

Khao Kheow Open Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.59*
and up
Rainforest Canopy Zipline Adventure from Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Khao Kheow Open Zoo, for over 32 years, has been a cherished resource located in Chonburi Province .The zoo encompasses over 2,000 acres of the Khao Kheow-Khao Chom Puo Wildlife Sanctuary. The zoo grounds are divided into animal habitats (400 acres), public recreational areas (200 acres) and research area (1,400 acres) which is used for the breeding of various endangered species. It is the first zoo in Thailand to become a member of WAZA .
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Norfolk, England.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Khan Kheow more than OK! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Despite this being our 3rd trip to Pattaya, we had never heard of this zoo or anyone talking about or recommending it-having visited it, we find it very strange for it is a wonderful place which I cannot recommend highly enough. It is about a 40/45 minute taxi ride from Northern Pattaya.
As a wheelchair user, there are parts, in particular for me, the koala bears & Orang Utan that I was SO sad to miss out on but my husband was able to walk to those areas & take photo's for me. Friends who had visited 2 weeks ago were able to hold an Orang Utan but today, sadly, it seemed this was not available, much to my sorrow.
However, this aside, we hired a buggy and had the freedom to go where we wanted, when we wanted & could stop & start at will. This zoo is vast so a buggy is an essential really. They do run an open bus but you are a little more tied to where they go & when you get on and off.
All the animals look well cared for &, as well as being able to purchase food as you go round, you can also buy food before you enter the actual beginning of the zoo-in the car park area plus food & drink there which is very cheap & also very good too.
Before visiting can I please implore you NOT TO FEED THE MONKEYS! There are signs everywhere &, whilst it may look cute to see a monkey close up with a banana or such like, these wily primates are very quick learners & prolific breeders & whilst you may have purchased a mixed bag of food for various animals, these monkeys steal the food out of your hand or your bag if you are not careful. Anything is easy prey for them & it may be your sunglasses or mobile phone next.
There is such a wide variety of creatures here from birds in aviaries to big cats, camels, kangaroos, rhino, elephants, giraffe's etc. It is SO worth a visit and you will have a wonderful time. The scenery is amazing & for keen photographers, not only can you have great photo opportunities with the animals but landscapes too: beautiful vistas!
There are camping facilities in the grounds & I think there may be a hotel too but we didn't see it.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Nellybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    411
    113
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Safari park for a half day adventure,.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

After coming here you will not want to go to other zoos around Pattaya as they are cruel!
If you travel by car, entrance is 300 bahts adults and 150 bahts child. Golf carts are 350 bahts first 2 hours then additional 300 bahts per hour after, this is a must to go around park.
Best parts were hand feeding giraffes and white rhinos, amazing animals.
Animals all look well cared for and enjoy their normal habitats.
Wild monkeys are funny, they took box of biscuits from buggy, opened box, took biscuits out and threw box back n disgust.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank bsuebingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakaka, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sigh of relief after tiresome episode of FLIGHT OF GIBBON, ZIPLINE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017

A small size SAFARI WORLD, BANGKOK,,, its a well maintained zoo,,, Its good to have fun with Rhino, Ostriches and especially Elephants (the pride of Thai-land),,, feeding them,,, playing with deers is a good experience,,, Good fun and entertainment for kids,,,

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank faheemkhader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

This Zoo is amazing and got a good variety of animals. We went there on way to bangkok from pattaya and really well spent 3 to 4 hours there. Nice opportunity to see animals like kangaroo, giraffe, Hippo. Nice time spent with elv's deers, bintorung. Best part was to play with orangutan which we always wanted to do. Such a loving and cute ape. Nice collection in bird aviary too. Do rent a golf cart to see all zoo at your convenience.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Himanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alright Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Khan Kheow open Zoo is easy to find in the way from BKK to Pattaya just off the Highway.

The Zoo is quiet big and can be entered with your own Car. You can rent Golf Carts (recommend) or jump on any of the Hop on-off buses.

There are loads of animals to see here and most of them seem as happy as you can expect in their small and mostly left alone cages. They all seem healthy and well looked after thou.

The whole Zoo is quiet bewildered and old but the people who work here seem to do a good job with limited tools and funds.

I would recommend the Khao Kheow Zoo for families who like a bit of adventure and encourage to support the facility and people there.

If you are faint hearted and used to the big clean entertainment Zoo's in Europe and North America you might not enjoy this Attraction.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank marcbglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao Kheow Open Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Khao Kheow Open Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing