We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anything but Open”

Khao Kheow Open Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.97*
and up
Rainforest Canopy Zipline Adventure from Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Khao Kheow Open Zoo, for over 32 years, has been a cherished resource located in Chonburi Province .The zoo encompasses over 2,000 acres of the Khao Kheow-Khao Chom Puo Wildlife Sanctuary. The zoo grounds are divided into animal habitats (400 acres), public recreational areas (200 acres) and research area (1,400 acres) which is used for the breeding of various endangered species. It is the first zoo in Thailand to become a member of WAZA .
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anything but Open”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst its described as an open zoo most of the animals are housed in very confined compounds, particularity the tigers. There is not a good variety of species to see here. The elephant swimming pool is good but not sure if the elephant would share my view. They have a number of animal shows for which there is an additional cover charge. The cover charge for foreigners is double the price for that of Thais . These shows need to be boycotted , firstly because of the price but more importantly for animal welfare, these are wild animals and don't exist for people's amusement/entertainment .

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank t0mthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    419
    116
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Animal rights”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2017

We visited the flight of the Gibbon and the zoo afterwards.
Everything promised in the flyer is a lie. I can't believe all those positive comments here.
I work as an animal care taker in one of switzerlands most iconic zoos and that zoo after the flight made me really sad. Lack of water, small enclosures, no space to hide, and the most shocking thing : Visitors can feed the animals. They have monitoring about the food intake of their animals at ALL.
Animals are presented as entertainment objects, everywhere you get those "Madagaskar" characters statues and stuff.
There was even a bear living with a lion labeled as "friends for ever" I nearly had to puke.
Horrible, will never visit again.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Funkymacaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nothing changes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2017

Another Birthday outing ..now 6 Years old .. and again at the Gate, .. foreigners are herded to a separate pay / ticket booth, .. and only charged just three times that of the locals, ,for entry ! A disappointing start to a fairly shabby experience. Under maintained, often grubby with many allotments closed .. not a thrilling experience for most of our party ..aggravated by the outstanding greed and unfriendly service tendered..

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
3 Thank PenthouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Love this place. If the US has something like this, I am sure to take the kids there more often. Not many places where you can feed the giraffe, elephants, hippo and a host of other animals. Kids had a great time even the young one. Also, the place is very humane. I do not enjoy seeing animals in chain or doing acts. There is none of that here. Only a sanctuary setting here.

The only disappointment for us was that all of the banana were sold out so had to get grass for the elephants which they didn't seem to like as much so they weren't coming to us as often.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank joepall889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Best zoo ever been too, so much to see, animals have beautiful enclosures and very well looked after, great to interact with some of the animals, will definitely visit again.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao Kheow Open Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Khao Kheow Open Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing