We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Open Zoo with Peeps”

Khao Kheow Open Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.97*
and up
Rainforest Canopy Zipline Adventure from Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Khao Kheow Open Zoo, for over 32 years, has been a cherished resource located in Chonburi Province .The zoo encompasses over 2,000 acres of the Khao Kheow-Khao Chom Puo Wildlife Sanctuary. The zoo grounds are divided into animal habitats (400 acres), public recreational areas (200 acres) and research area (1,400 acres) which is used for the breeding of various endangered species. It is the first zoo in Thailand to become a member of WAZA .
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Open Zoo with Peeps”
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I went there for Trail Running Event .
I love it . Lots of Animal . Such a lovely Open Zoo.
Suitable for children to see more animals here

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank uchamaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    418
    116
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yarcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me my wife and granddaughter visited the zoo last Wednesday.
Altogether an enjoyable day.
Lots of people on here say it's cruel, they have no room, to hot for them etc etc
I've been to many zoo's in Thailand and this is by far the best.
Zoo's are no different all over the world people say too hot for the animals I'm from the U.K. Which I have visited zoo's and think it is to cold there for some of the animals who's right & who's wrong is for God/Buddha to decide
All I now is we had a pleasant day with out spending a fortune

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalakudy, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family space”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great space for travellers with children they loved the way they can interact with animals beautifull greeneryvall round a must visit spacebif you are travelling near pattaya

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank joypani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could be better!!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best and the most satisfactory part of this zoo is the animals are kept very close to the natural state and confinement is not much. The thing which I never like is the animal show.. When I see elephant doing circus and you look at his eyes it looks painful. I like the way this zoo has opportunity to feed animals. Beware of monkeys and ostrich. Bird sanctuary is also very nice. The tourist should always hire a full day taxi for this.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank y_sharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anything but Open”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst its described as an open zoo most of the animals are housed in very confined compounds, particularity the tigers. There is not a good variety of species to see here. The elephant swimming pool is good but not sure if the elephant would share my view. They have a number of animal shows for which there is an additional cover charge. The cover charge for foreigners is double the price for that of Thais . These shows need to be boycotted , firstly because of the price but more importantly for animal welfare, these are wild animals and don't exist for people's amusement/entertainment .

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank t0mthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao Kheow Open Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Khao Kheow Open Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing