We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast ”

The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Hessle
Certificate of Excellence
Description: 5 Star Rated Family Owned And Run Tea And Coffee Room, Serving Traditional Breakfast , Light Lunches, Homemade Cakes Made On Site Daily, Afternoon Tea, Cream Teas, Ice-cream Sundaes - Gluten Free Options. Tables Outside And Waitress Service , Bookings Advised For Afternoon Teas Please.
Restaurant details
Description: 5 Star Rated Family Owned And Run Tea And Coffee Room, Serving Traditional Breakfast , Light Lunches, Homemade Cakes Made On Site Daily, Afternoon Tea, Cream Teas, Ice-cream Sundaes - Gluten Free Options. Tables Outside And Waitress Service , Bookings Advised For Afternoon Teas Please.
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

One of the best breakfast I had in hull and for 6.50 can’t go wrong, give it try you won’t regret it

Thank Noor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki F, Owner at The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

thankyou - hope you pop back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018

I visited this cafe today with a group of friends and first impressions were good. The decor is nice and staff were friendly. Big downsides are they only offer coconut milk as an alternative, no soya or oat. The menu is very limited especially as there are a lot of people who have dietary requirements. Only vegan option was toast but no dairy free spread! Or beans on toast (without spread) but only enough beans for one slice!

4  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki F, Owner at The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello , Thanks for the review, we are sorry that you found us not really to your liking, its always very hard when it comes to dietary needs and personal choices like vegetarian and vegans.
We offer coconut milk as an alternative as we have found soya milk to be very unreliable and curdles in the hot water with teas and coffees making it not feasible for use.
when we changed the milk the people we asked said no to oat milk they would prefer coconut but at least we DO offer an alternative, I'm sorry we don't offer anything for vegans, the TripAdvisor saying we cater for vegans is a automated thing when you say you cater for GF and vegetarians (which we do have alternatives for)i have tried to get it off but to no avail - if i was to buy the dairy free spread i would literally use it once and throw it away its simply not viable , we are opposite to a vegan cafe so vegans tend to go in there really.
beans were given to you in a pot (as you had asked for it like that) so i am sure the person who prepared your toast would have thought it was just a side order , our beans on toast does certainly not come with a small amount of beans.
so i apologize for that as it does seem it was a error in the order .
on the plus side your other friends raved about it and said they would love to come back.
we do try our best to cater for everyone but with so many likes and dislikes it is quite impossible.
kind regards
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Popped in because we should ALL support places like this, NOT the big coffee chains who pay little or no tax. Anyway, rant over I have to say the full English @ £6.50 is great value-- egg,2 bacon,2 sausage,beans,tom and loads of mushrooms plus 2 slices of toast. The quality was superb, fat herby Lincolnshire sausages, nice bacon which is not the cheap watery stuff, dry cured and tasty. Will return to sample the homemade cakes, some nice original combos EG lime and lemon sponge,terrys choc orange cake looked FAB!!! Then again the ETON mess cake looked pretty good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garyspeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki F, Owner at The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

This is amazing - just what we like to hear

your support is appreciated and hope to see you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner popped in here for some food on Saturday. It was our first visit and we enjoyed the food.

I chose to have a jacket potato with coronation chicken, it was delicious and creamy, and was accompanied by Dorito style crisps, salad and coleslaw (which came served in a tea light holder which we found rather strange)

My partner had a full English breakfast, he enjoyed all of it.

To drink, I had Tango and my partner had a cappuccino. Both our drinks came served with small white chocolate mice, which was a nice touch

Our food arrived quickly and was very tasty.

Thank Princess-Tashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki F, Owner at The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

thanks for the review

And we have done away with the coleslaw pots !!

they were just a put us on until we sourced some more hard wearing ones, that didn't chip so easily but decided to do away with the idea of pots .

hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

I recently visited The Black Cat for a catch up after Christmas with my friends. The cafe was very busy however our orders were still taken efficiently and we were looked after. The food was nice, nothing particularly special, but was nice. This was my second time visiting the cafe and think
I will visit again.

Thank Footprints739208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki F, Owner at The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Many thanks for the review
look forward to seeing you again
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room also viewed

Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
North Ferriby, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Cat Tea & Coffee Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing