We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
536
366
134
67
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
536
366
134
67
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster afternoon tea evening meal groupon deal poster room bridal suite night break log fire scones sunday lunch small room wedding venue birthday treat reception area relaxing break bed and breakfast following morning
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Both my husband and I have stayed here a few times, never disappoints. The staff are always very attentive, food very good. The house is warm an very welcoming and is a Manor House, absolutely love it would recommend to everyone. The owner Amanda is always very helpful along with all the other staff. Look forward to returning in the New Year again. Thank you Joanne and Garry Holland xxx

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jodutch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I felt I needed to comment on my favourite hotel, after reading a review from Suzy !
As soon as I read this review the tone of it seamed pretty arrogant from the start, both myself and my family have always found Amanda and her staff to be over and above expectations Amanda leads from the front and is one of the nicest people I've met she loves her country manor and this shows in the passion she shows for her hotel we have been staying at the hotel for over 15 years and over that time the refurbishment of this stunning building has been amazing.
The food is second to none and every event we go to is filled with the same attention to detail as the last. We stay at least twice a year.
And going back to the tasteless review I think you need to read some more of the recent reviews my lady, as they are all very good, looking through the pictures, you have posted it seems you have scraped the barrel to try and find something to complain about to me !
So I can only surmise with an attitude I. Which I would imagine you have spoken to Amanda with I'm not surprised she walked away and refused to "carry on the conversation" with you !
I think reviews like these should not be allows to be published without some hard evidence, I just hope your review doesn't put anyone off visiting this beautiful antique country manor which I love x

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 145fionan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I booked myself a room back in August as my good friend was having her son Christened at the Rowley Church in the grounds (which IS beautiful) & my friend also has her wedding booked here in August 2018.

I arrived shortly after 12pm on Sunday 30 Oct 2016 for a 1pm Christening, and my room was ready so I popped my case in grabbed one of the maids as there were 6 flies in my room on the window which she got rid of and headed straight over to the church.

Once the Christening had finished we all (quite a few guests here) headed back over to Rowley Manor as my friend had booked a room, at a cost of £150, to celebrate her son's 1st Birthday too. She was then informed that she wasn't allowed to bring food "into this sort of establishment" so all the food went back into the boot of her mum's car and we headed to her house.

Once that was over I headed back to the hotel so it would have been approx 5pm and I had booked a table for dinner (which was in with the price of the booking) so had about an hour to relax on the bed and maybe watch some TV. The top bed spread smelt as if it hadn't been washed in months, albeit the bed linen smelt & looked clean. I took all the top covers off including an abundance of pillows and cushions which all smelt unwashed.

Dinner was booked for 6:45pm and I was the only person in the room until a few more people started to trickle through from the lounge. I chose Sirloin steak and fries to start and warmed Bakewell tart with ice cream for dessert. Both the Sirloin and fries were quite tasty but the Bakewell tart was not.

Feeling a bit deflated after my dessert I headed to my room. Had to listen to music and watch TV via my iPlayer as my TV had no signal and as I was already in my night wear I really wasn't going to get dressed again.

After falling asleep a couple of times and then waking up several times in the night due to being able to feel all the springs in the mattress I decided I would just get up to shower then head down for breakfast, praying that something would be nice.

The bathroom in Room 4 had a very cheap shower curtain round the step in bath and a cheap shower head and the water took forever to heat up.

Anyway, breakfast was reasonably pleasant and I just couldn't wait to check out.

Now, this is where the next problem started. The Girl checking me out asked if I had enjoyed my stay and I simply reiterated to her what you've just read. She then proceeded to call another lady from round the back of reception, who later I learned was called Amanda and was the owner.

Well, she strut round to the front desk and was already on the defensive saying that "Everybody who stays at Rowley loves it". Really ?!?!?!? I said, you want to read some of your reviews. "I do" she barked at me. If you care to look at some of these reviews who talk about pretty much most of the comments I've made here dating back to February 2015. Nothing clearly has changed. She then proceeded to say to me "This hotel is work in progress". Really ?!?!? I said. Then you shouldn't be so eager to charge your guests for their rooms if you know there are problems. Best still here I HAD taken photos of the problems in Room 4 and she was none too pleased I can tell you. She called over the Maintenance guy and shouted him to rectify the problems in Room 4 immediately. I was mortified as there were other people standing round at this point listening. I said I was simply giving some 'Constructive feedback' as I was asked how my stay was. She barked at me again to say "She was not prepared to stand there and argue with ME !!!" By this point my blood was starting to boil and she had promptly stormed off with the Maintenance guy up to Room 4 to see all the fuss I was making at "Her BEST room" !!!!! There was also on my bill an additional £9.95 for a steak supplement which I was NOT aware of !

The Girl who originally served me came back and looked rather embarrassed and apologised.

I just wanted to leave at this point. I have never felt so utterly disgraced with a Hotel Owner in the whole of my life. What an utter disgrace you are AMANDA you should be ashamed of how you treat me as a guest today. This all could have been dealt with so differently.

You firstly need a lesson in common courtesy and secondly a lesson in taking constructive feedback on board.

Will I ever return to this hotel ???!?!?

I hope not ...... AND I really hope my friend rethinks her future wedding venue.

What an utter shambles !

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
8  Thank SuzyMP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed for one night whilst visiting my daughter who lives in Hull. Got a lovely welcome from the lady on the desk and taken to the bar where she lit the fire. The decor was old and traditional with lots of character which is just up my street. We had also booked afternoon tea which was served in a lovely dining room overlooking the meadows. We got a glass of prosecco with our cuppa and cakes etc. It was all very scrumptious and went down a treat. Our room was a little tired and old fashioned but I didn't mind this as it is part of the character of the Manor. We didn't eat dinner in the Manor as we met our daughter in Hull and ate with her but I am sure it would have been delicious. The breakfast the following morning was superb, freshly cooked, hot and very tasty. A lovely friendly place to stay and would definitely go back.

Room tip: We were at the very end of the corridor which was fine but the free wi-fi was hit and miss, maybe we were out of range a little.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Our day was perfect - that was down to Amanda and her team, all of which deserve a namecheck, but especially Steve, Jason and the night manager (who's name I didn't catch) Vicky, Alice and the whole team. Everything was checked with us and completely lived up to out expectations; we were guided and supported but never rushed through the day. The food was fanatastic, our thanks go to the chef and kitchen team - many of whose we never met or saw but clearly added to our very special day. Highly recommended, intimate, homely and first class service. We will be going back - often. Thank you

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews