We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and lovely staff”
Review of Miller and Carter

Miller and Carter
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Bursledon
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I went here last night for my boyfriends birthday. We opted for the 3 courses for £25.95 on Thursdays and we were so impressed!
The food was served quickly despite it being very busy.
We both had the cluck and duck wings as a starter which were absolutely amazing.
Then for main we both had the rump steak, it was cooked perfectly and the portion size was very generous
At the time of booking I asked if they could decorate my boyfriends desert as it was his birthday, they did and sung happy birthday which was very nice of the waitresses.
Overall at £26 for three courses we were extremely pleased with the quality of food and service given. Very good value for money, we will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller and Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello Sarah.

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are always so proud to see five star reviews and love when our guests have had an excellent time!

We really look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Miller & Carter Southampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Loved the decor and ambiance, food was nice but not amazing, fillet drastically undercooked for medium, didn’t like the way the waitress called everyone darling, confused by the lump of lettuce served as a side? Finished plates were left far too long, despite not being busy and plenty of staff around. The quality of the steak is good, but, for the prices charged, I would have expected them to have been cooked better. Will go back though.

1  Thank andymichelle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller and Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello there!

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. The kitchen team will be disappointed to see that your steaks weren't cooked as you requested, and we all apologise for this! The lettuce wedge is an accompaniment to the steak, it is served along side it to help bring out the rich flavours in the steak.

We also apologise that you were kept waiting so long for empty plates to be cleared, we know how annoying this can be and will definitely share your comments with the team in the hope that you notice improvement on your next visit!

Thanks again for your feedback.
Miller & Carter Southampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

On the recommendation of friends, booked a table for our wedding anniversary at this restaurant. Had the Sunday Special ie 3 courses for £24.95. As I had subscribed to their steak newsletter, I also was eligible for a glass of wine with my dinner.

Decor at the restaurant was very tasteful and everywhere spotlessly clean, including the toilets.

Staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful.

Food excellent. Will definitely visit again.

Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller and Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello Helen.

This is an excellent review and one we will very proudly share with the team! Thanks so very much, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Miller & Carter Southampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We enjoyed a lovely meal and evening here. The restaurant was absolutely packed as it was a Saturday night. We were seated and served on time. The food was hot with lots of flavour and the desserts were lovely. I will definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidaymad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller and Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello there!

Thanks very much for the excellent review. This will be really appreciated by the team. Hopefully next time we can provide you with a five star experience!

Miller & Carter Southampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

A party of 24 visited the restaurant Saturday afternoon we had enjoyed our meals and majority of the party paid their bills and left.unfortunately two of the party were left to pay theirs ,which they did ,but the restaurant insisted there was £45 outstanding and they would have to pay it.
The organiser of meal then went back the day after to complain but the manager said there was nothing they could do
Be aware of ordering drinks at the table and ensure you check the bill
In addition to this the day before we asked to add another person to the party but was told there was no room but clearly on the day there were empty tables next to us so was disappointed by this

1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller and Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello Stephen.

The management team are aware of your issues in house and have been dealt with accordingly, but I still wanted to acknowledge your review.

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, hopefully we see you again in the future.
Kind regards, Miller & Carter Southampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller and Carter also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Miller and Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing