We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Disappointing Lunch”
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Bull Inn Much Hadham is a charming Country Pub and Restaurant in Hertfordshire north of London. Near to Harlow, Ware, Bishop's Stortford and Stansted Airport. Under new management, Ben and Ali provide a welcoming and friendly local with a wide range of great value tasty pub favourites.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went out for our first indoor lunch since lockdown eased. We had a table booked for 1.30 and arrived promptly and the The Bill was busy which created a nice atmosphere for lunch and was encouraging seeing people out. After buying a bottle of wine (we took the Grandma also) and some drinks we ordered the food straight after. After an hour the food hadn’t arrived so I asked the waitress to check when it would arrive. The lady came back and said it would be ten minutes (this arouses suspicion). The area where we were sat had emptied out , as everyone had finished lunch, and we were the only table left (the atmosphere had gone). We waited a further 15-20 minutes and we’re about to leave when the food came out. Reluctantly we stayed and ate the food but we it was all a little sobering. We were given 20% off the food bill and a round of drinks. Due to my suspicions I said “I bet they had forgotten our food” to be told that the cooks thought the food had already come out!!!! The guy who took our order was stood behind us behind the bar the whole time and surely would have seen us as the only table sat there with no food despite him taking our order. The waitress was apologetic but the guy who served us never said a word. We were in there for well over 1.5 hours for a simple lunch out. Very disappointing

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank H2085QAroberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2020

Three of us were here for Sunday Lunch... very nice beef with all the trimmings, ham cooked in cider, steak and stilton pie very tasty... lovely desserts as well...staff friendly there were only two of them serving but they coped very well...nice and clean and a log fire burning.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

This is the kind of pub that you dream of - authentic olde-world building, comfy seating, great atmosphere, real fires, great beer, tasty food, friendly staff and clientele. This was our first visit and we felt extremely welcome. The staff team are lovely and it’s clear that there are many regulars, equally as friendly. We were looking for a light meal only and chose a sharing starter. We weren’t disappointed in our choice which came quickly, was nicely presented and was very tasty. It’s the kind of place you could easily stay for several hours and we’ll definitely return.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank EconomynotBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review look forward to seeing you again. The Bull Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Great atmosphere, wonderful friendly staff and fantastic food made last night's launch of the new menu just perfect. The menu is a mix of traditional food with tempting new dishes covering everyones taste, the handmade chips are to die for. We also enjoyed a few of the real ales on offer and will be back for seconds very soon.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendycF407TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019

Sitting outside in warm sunshine we were delivered our fare of homemade soup of the day followed by a salad. The soup was very tasty and hot but if the bowl had been filled it would have been better. The prawn salad was interesting but again not great value for money.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Much Hadham, Hertfordshire
Ware, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.