We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Otro Lado
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$65
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
87
16
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
16
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolprivate retreatpanama cityspirit houselocal artan adventuretropical paradiseone of a kindboat riderooms and common areasscuba divinglunch or dinnerhowler monkeysluxurypropertybeachesbay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2016

For the moment we arrived to this exquisite paradise, we were impressed; first, with the detail the staff welcomed us and then with everything else we got to enjoy through out our short stay. From the wonderful little cabana that was decorated with unique items and artistry to the the amazing culinary creations the chef cooked for us. Not to mentioned the individual service we got when we went to the beach. They packed our lunches in a picnic basket and we got surprised we were served. Detail, detail to make you feel so welcomed and really make you feel you are in vacation, just to enjoy yourself and let the world pass you by. Truly I recommend this great find and definitively will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Violet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

This trip was unchartered territory for our family of four. We are cautious about new adventures. We've been to many Caribbean destinations but never Central/South America. El Otro Lado allayed all fears, especially skeptical thoughts about past reviews. Could this place really live up to such great reviews?
We arrived after a long day of travel by plane and car (8 1/2 hrs). First impressions: Remote, peaceful, private, like being invited into someone's special art gallery. This place has love and passion around every corner. The owner has shared her love and stewardship for the locals and the land in a way that is genuinely delightful. Picture taking opportunities are plentiful. Highlights of our visit were: great food quality (we are not an easy family to contend with regarding dietary restrictions, but were thoroughly satisfied ) the warm pool, attentive but discreet service, great music playlists that are tasteful, a walk up to the lake above the hotel, paddle boat ride on the lake, sitting in a hammock overlooking Portobello Bay. If traveling a long way by plane we recommend staying a night or two in Panama City before traveling by car to the resort. Google translate on my cell phone came in quite handy many times. We were extremely impressed by the level of professionalism on two occasions: one was our air conditioner was fixed within fifteen minutes of notifying staff, the other was an issue regarding transfers that was dealt with in a timely and satisfying way. We definitely recommend El Otro Lado!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Machiklabdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We spent three perfect days and nights in El Otro Lado in late March. The resort is simply exquisite. No detail is missed. The staff is incredible. The food terrific. The rooms and facilities first rate. Highly recommend the cruise through the mangroves and the beach adventures. Great hikes and wildlife galore. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VinceBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

A stunning luxury private retreat accessed by boat. It was so beautiful, quiet and peaceful, overlooking the water with the forest as a backdrop. Heaven.

We explored the town of Portobello with its old cathedral and the ruins of a Spanish fort.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank GAHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

El Otro Lado was a beautiful surprise. The hotel is hidden in silent place in Portobelo, near the sea and "inside" a forest. Everything is so colorful and very well decorated with local art. The pool is amazing, where I spent most of my time there. The food was also great. Very private, only a few houses (8 rooms).

Room Tip: Sea House is beautiful. Also Sun House, Spirit House, Forest House and rooms of Casa Grande.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Larissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews