We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue”
Review of Craig-y-Nos Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Penycae B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Just returned from a 3 night at the Castle.
Found it a Great Venue, Staff 1st class, Food V.G.
We had a court yard room which was excellent only problem the flush on the toilet was faulty did report it but not fixed.
Hotel itself out in the wilds of Brecon Beacons, no mobile signal, and wifi not working.
Hot tub was also out of order.
Hotel tour was very good lasting almost 2 hours.
Hotel welcomes dogs and there is a large country park next door.
Our dog wanted to stay longer!
Will we return YES!!!!!!

Room Tip: Court yard rooms are good for dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is great you enjoyed your stay and found food and service to be great. Not sure of the non functioning flush, but will alert our maintenance to have a look at it. It is unfortunate that an electrical fault has put the hot tub out of order, and it may well be that a new one will be purchased if we cannot resolve the issue. Glad your don wanted to stay longer and you will also return, not least it is pleasing you enjoyed the tour.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Was so looking forward to visiting this castle was so disappointed not at all value for money in fact rather expensive for what we got. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and I think this comes at the top of the list for being one that I certainly will not be revisiting. The saving grace is that all the staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DawnDec1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your recent comments. The Castle charges £140 midweek at £150 at weekends and for weddings under most packages at £75 per person. This is indicative of the rates that you would pay in a Castle in a location such as the Brecon Beacons for B & B. We also offer discounts on accommodation midweek, and for weddings subject to availability we offer a special rate for the night before. All our rooms have the usual facilities you would find and we have free wifi in our public areas. A 2 hour history tour is also provided free when staying midweek.

As you have not indicated specifically where you felt there was no value for money, I am unable to respond fully and you may like to contact me direct.

It is though pleasing and appreciative of your positive comments about the staff, and I hope the wedding ran smoothly.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This place is great and old with character and great places to visit if you like walking and waterfalls, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food good wonderful grounds. If you want a chilled break then this is the place

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cruiser1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Your comments are much appreciated – great venue, great places to go, great staff and great food – what more could you ask for.

Thanks

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

A beautiful building in beautiful countryside, the staff are very friendly. My husband and I went for a quiet get away, there are plenty of walks along the river and beyond.

Tea was served in the Dinning room, the bar was a little more cosier. The food quality was very good and delicious.

Would definitely recommend this Hotel for dog lovers, where even the dogs get a bed!

Room Tip: our room looked over the front, the traffic is non existent in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kay2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017


Thank you for your great comments. It is good to hear you enjoyed the Castle and food the food was good and you received a friendly and warm welcome from our staff.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across Craig-y-nos Castle 2 years ago whilst searching for dog friendly accommodation online. I'm so glad we did having just returned from our fourth visit. Don't go expecting luxury but the castle is charming and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal was delicious and the breakfast is fab (dogs even get their own plate of sausages).
The location is perfect for long leisurely walks and my dog absolutely loves playing in the river.
I have absolutely no doubt we'll be back again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank elambourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you so much, it is great to read continuing positive feedback from returning customers. The staff make the Castle and it is good that you were able to comment positively in this respect. I am happy to read of your favourable comments regarding food both in the evening and at breakfast.

We look forward to your return trip.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
27.1 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
36.9 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
24.2 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
620 reviews
33.3 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
0.1 km away
Pentre Riding Stables
Pentre Riding Stables
#2 of 3 in Penycae
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Nos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range: $246 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing