We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of breakfasts!”
Review of Craig-y-Nos Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Penycae B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This place is a joy. If you want to take your dog away, this is definitely it. Lovely area, early morning squirrel and rabbit hunting walks, next to the national park so sit in the sunshine, fascinating 'castle' with equally fascinating history, the best of staff, INCLUDING oh joy of joys a MAINTENANCE DOG! The best of breakfasts- self service, but full cooked English, cereals, super brown bread for toast, the BEST vanilla yoghurt I have EVER tasted...could we have asked for more? Came here for my 70th birthday for one night in August, LOVED it, came very quickly for a second visit and definitely not disappointed. The showers are- um- either so full on as to knock you flat, or decidedly quirky, but its all part of the fun.... ideal stop off for a night on the way to Swansea, though a joy in itself. Be warned- WEDDINGS! We tried to get in all summer but couldn't cos of WEDDINGS- but hey, the wedding photos must be AWESOME. Thanks to all the staff who made us n hound so welcome. Oh- one last thing- the café next to the castle sells vodka marmalade. Its delicious....

Room Tip: if you have a dog its good to have ground floor, but this REALLY is dogs welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rosnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback – its great to read that you found the Castle located well in an area that you could enjoy and am glad that you found the staff helpful and friendly, along with our Maintenance Dog too.

It is great to read your great breakfast feedback too, and am sure that the Kitchen Team will enjoy reading this.

Accommodation in summer especially at weekends is very busy and we offer some great midweek deals so you don’t miss out.

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

There's loads to say about our short stay here, so I'll try and cover everything useful. I'll go PROS and CONS - there are way, way more PROS than CONS. It's a great place to stay, especially with dogs.

PROS
The building is beautiful, utterly stunning.
It's in a beautiful part of the world and stands in it's own wonderful grounds which you can explore at your leisure - dogs will love it.
We were in room A35. It was on the first floor. Lots of room for 2 adults and 2 Labradors.
Lots of storage space to put stuff away and nice big bathroom. (Yes, it's dated, but all perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean).
All the girls we met working there were excellent. Their customer service skills second to none. I don't have all their names but Cath at breakfast was so friendly and helpful. (Apart from one encounter - see below)
Evening meal and breakfast were great. Very, very nice food. Plenty of choice and all good.
Bar area where we could eat with the dogs was very cosy and welcoming.

CONS
We were on the first floor and the stairway was quite narrow when you've got bags and 2 dogs.
WIFI - none in the room, only in the bar area. This was a nightmare for us as we had no phone coverage in the room. I'm used to hot and cold running Wifi so it was a bit of a pain.
Not the hotel's fault but there were a couple of dog poos in the seating area outside. Guests at fault, but still it was a bit grim for us religious 'pooper scoopers'.
The water was too hot in the shower. I actually burnt my arm on the pipe. It should be boxed or insulated really.
The bill - I paid for our food and drink at the end of the stay. When I got out to the car I noticed that the bill was wrong, it was too little. It appeared that the food for the second night had been missed. So in I troop to make the extra payment not wanting anyone to get into trouble or the hotel to lose out. However, the lady on reception was less than helpful, (I'm not good at accents, but she may have been South African possibly). She went off looking for a sheet from last night. In the meantime one of the girls from reception came back, simply asked me what we'd eaten, tallied up the menu and said it was X amount. The other lady came back and said, no it's wrong. There are more drinks to go on the bill. Then told me I was wrong. Then asked me to pay for cake and coffee on arrival on Sunday, when we actually arrived on Monday and didn't have any cake or coffee. She then disagreed about something else. I must admit I was utterly dumbfounded, bearing in mind I came back to rectify their mistake. At no point did she apologise. The other girl on reception tried to smooth things out and did apologise. The other lady needs to take some lessons from the young ladies working in the bar and restaurant and on reception. Anyone can make a mistake, it happens all the time, however, how it's handled shows the class of the establishment and the people working there.

Other than that we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017



Thank you for your feedback it is great that you found the Castle to be beautiful and that you found the room clean and large enough to accommodate you. It is also great that you found the staff hard working and with good customer service skill and to name but a few is indicative of the good impression left on you. It is also good that you enjoyed your evening meal.

Sadly, the internet speed in the area is generally slow and despite all the door hammering we do, it seems to be taking an age to increase and putting wifi in the rooms will make the slow internet non existent sadly, hence the availability only in the public areas. I shall speak to our Maintenance team about the water, although I am aware that it is under scrutiny.

It is unfortunate that you morning encounter with our FOH Manager did not go down to well, if only that possibly half the issue was exacerbated by the information being unavailable from the night before, but it was good that our Receptionist was clearly able to work out what was eaten and to charge you the correct amount – sadly, staff should not dispute things with guests to the degree you mentioned, not least to almost dispute it between each other. As you say it is almost not the mistake that causes the issue but the handling of the situation and am sure with our up coming Customer Service Courses, we can iron these small things out.

It is good though that you would still return.

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Just returned from a 3 night at the Castle.
Found it a Great Venue, Staff 1st class, Food V.G.
We had a court yard room which was excellent only problem the flush on the toilet was faulty did report it but not fixed.
Hotel itself out in the wilds of Brecon Beacons, no mobile signal, and wifi not working.
Hot tub was also out of order.
Hotel tour was very good lasting almost 2 hours.
Hotel welcomes dogs and there is a large country park next door.
Our dog wanted to stay longer!
Will we return YES!!!!!!

Room Tip: Court yard rooms are good for dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is great you enjoyed your stay and found food and service to be great. Not sure of the non functioning flush, but will alert our maintenance to have a look at it. It is unfortunate that an electrical fault has put the hot tub out of order, and it may well be that a new one will be purchased if we cannot resolve the issue. Glad your don wanted to stay longer and you will also return, not least it is pleasing you enjoyed the tour.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Was so looking forward to visiting this castle was so disappointed not at all value for money in fact rather expensive for what we got. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and I think this comes at the top of the list for being one that I certainly will not be revisiting. The saving grace is that all the staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DawnDec1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your recent comments. The Castle charges £140 midweek at £150 at weekends and for weddings under most packages at £75 per person. This is indicative of the rates that you would pay in a Castle in a location such as the Brecon Beacons for B & B. We also offer discounts on accommodation midweek, and for weddings subject to availability we offer a special rate for the night before. All our rooms have the usual facilities you would find and we have free wifi in our public areas. A 2 hour history tour is also provided free when staying midweek.

As you have not indicated specifically where you felt there was no value for money, I am unable to respond fully and you may like to contact me direct.

It is though pleasing and appreciative of your positive comments about the staff, and I hope the wedding ran smoothly.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This place is great and old with character and great places to visit if you like walking and waterfalls, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food good wonderful grounds. If you want a chilled break then this is the place

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cruiser1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Your comments are much appreciated – great venue, great places to go, great staff and great food – what more could you ask for.

Thanks

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
27.1 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
984 reviews
36.9 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
13.6 km away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
492 reviews
37.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
619 reviews
0.1 km away
Pentre Riding Stables
Pentre Riding Stables
#2 of 3 in Penycae
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Nos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range: $247 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing