We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue”
Review of Craig-y-Nos Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Penycae B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my brother's wedding. Stunning location with spectacular views.

The rooms are a bit dated but this adds to the charm of the castle.

The conservatory where the wedding breakfast was served was a spectacular room with fantastic views.

The staff were fantastic and a special mention to the late night barmaid that kept the bar open for our arrival on Thurs night, Great character and an ambassador for Craig y nos as she entertained us with the history of the castle and it's spooky visitors.

Love the dog friendly nature of the hotel and will be booking to return with my canine companion asap.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ceri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thanks for the great review, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed and more so the staff looked after you well.
I am sure that the same welcome will await you on your return and do check out our accommodation deals on line, and next time you come don't forget to take the history tour.

Best Wishes

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

First time in an hotel with our Dog. Not really knowing what to expect. We were treated really well and it could not have been better. There are no restrictions and your dog is made to feel like one of the guests. The dinner was amazing. Best produce and menu changed each evening. Again breakfast was fantastic the nicest bacon and sausages I've ever had in an hotel breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We walked around the grounds and the park. Fantastic stay thank you everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kazza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your great feedback. I am glad that you found the staff looked after you well, and that the food was great both in the evenings and at breakfast.

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Love it! Lots of beautiful grounds to walk around. The Castle itself has a wonderful atmosphere. Staff are lovely. I love the place! Only thing is I wish they sold teas and coffees all day. They have a funny hotel cat too. It's such a peaceful hotel and always relaxing. Gethin Jones was staying there last time I was having a drink, so it's even to celeb standard


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JFoodie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks for your great comments – it is lovely to hear of your kind words toward the staff.
We sell coffee and cake from 12.30 to 14.30 during the summer months and holiday time, however if Reception are asked, they will be able to arrange for drinks at any time (either one of our fulfilment staff, or they themselves will be able to help). We do have a few famous people pop up now and again (usually just to meet the cat) so its great that you were able to do so too.
We look forward to seeing you again.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Update:- I was going to give Very Good but after writing this review I upgraded to Excellent as overall it was and the bits that were not made it what it is quirky, quaint and old.

My goddaughter decided to have her wedding here and it is a great setting for a wedding in the conservatory with stunning views.

The hotel is fascinating and the rooms well done in the recent refurbishment. We were in room 26 which was at the rear of the side wing so no road noise and a large bedroom with very large en suite.

While the rooms are well appointed clean and modern the general hotel is a bit frayed. We took a short cut down to the court yard and the hall carpet was tired. The hotel is being upgraded and it takes time and probably a lot of money.

But this is the character of the place its not a Travel Lodge, this is lived in place with rooms that have odd corners and quirky aspects such as stairs to en suites.

It is a very dog friendly place and the staff had taken in a very cute well looked after stray dog that just wandered in to the grounds and they were ringing round everywhere to find the owners. When we were there there must have been 10 dogs of various sizes and in the bar there are dog beds so your pal is comfy. My problem is that I had to stroke them all every time I went for a beer.

The owner of the hotel is clearly the cat that roams the public rooms completely ignoring the dogs who all seemed to know it was the cat's castle and there was no fuss.

Now the staff were really excellent; efficient, kind, helpful and very easy to deal with. The food in the restaurant was good but not exceptional but big portions and very well received by our 26 for dinner on the Thursday.

The location is great for walking and the Dan yr Ogof, located at the National Showcaves Centre for Wales is a short walk up the road and well worth a visit (I will do a separate review for these).

Check out the hotel web site it is really accurate and shows the rooms as they are some more cramped than others but its the honesty that attracted me.

So excellent staff great hotel and the wedding package is excellent. All round a great place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Check the hotel web site its very honest about the hotel good and bad bits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017


Thank you for your honest review, which is much appreciated and your upgraded rating.

I am glad you enjoyed the room at your god daughters wedding and also that you found the Castle to be clean although as you say we are continually looking to upgrade. Sadly yes dog stroking becomes a must for both guests and staff – although in real terms we don't enforce this – but we find that even none dog owners enjoy the Castle. Most weddings of course don't have dogs here on the actual wedding day. It is pleasing to read your positive comments about the staff, and that you also enjoyed the food both on the day of the wedding and the night before.

We would of course welcome you back, and why not take advantage of our 2 or more night deals.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This was a lovely place to stay , also very interesting full of history . Room was very good and bathroom was excelllant . Location was perfect and scenery so pretty . Staff very friendly and helpful . The tour of the castle was very enjoyable and not to be missed , so much history and very enthusiastic guide .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sandramcc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


Excellent comments, Thank you. It is great that you found the Castle a great and interesting place to stay. I am also happy to read your comments about the staff and that you enjoyed the tour.
Best Wishes
M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
27.1 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,024 reviews
33.3 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
539 reviews
37.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
945 reviews
24.2 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
519 reviews
13.5 km away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Nos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range: $251 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing