We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a lovely location”
Review of Craig-y-Nos Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Penycae B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Went to the hotel to attend a family wedding, didn't stay as when were looking the rooms looks rather pricey and some of the reviews were not too good. It was a nice place but they could do so much more to make it a stunning place. at a first glance and first impressions go along way was mmm, not being a snob but the front of the hotel looked like the back, it was better in side. the wedding was nice but was not told about welcoming drink as most of us was outside enjoying the autumn sun shine so missed that, the staff were nice and friendly.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your mixed review. Our rooms are priced to match other “exclusive use venues with accommodation, based in a Historical and Romantic setting” not least our Wedding Accommodation Tariff has remained unaltered for a number of years. Feedback online and from our own customers in the main indicate a good level of comfort and service for a reasonable price.

Whilst I appreciate your comments regarding the Castles front looking like the back, I am unsure how to take this – the Castles front shows the building as it is along with the entrance and the Theatre with its rooms wheras the back is just a wall with windows overlooking the magnificent views over hills and mountains and our grounds along with our Conservatory and its views over the gardens and meadow - In order to keep the upkeep of the building, the more customers we attract the quicker that we can do it.

I am unsure how you were not made aware of the welcome drinks – as we liaise with the bridal party to arrange the timing and am sorry that you were outside unaware that they were being served.

It is pleasing though to hear that you found the staff to be nice and friendly.

Do perhaps avail yourself to some of our 2 night (+) accommodation deals.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Beautiful place to stay if you have dogs & want plenty of walks in amazing countryside.Castle is under renovation and they are working so hard on this..staff so friendly & helpful,food glorious,especially breakfast..it really is dogs 1st..humans can come if housetrained lol..but very clean rooms & a wonderful Wedding Venue too,,didn't want to leave & can't wait to go back..if you haven't got dogs,no worries,you will have separate restaurant away from our Furbabies! So relaxing & nothing is any trouble

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room preferably if you take your dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arthurwood101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Greatly appreciated review. Thanks.

It is great to read your positive comments about the staff and the food. I am sure everyone will be pleased to read your favourable comments.

We look forward to your return trip.

It is good to hear you found the rooms clean and tidy and your informative comments about dining arrangements.

Thank you

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

What a wonderful place to stay, full of history and atmosphere, great views.
Best B&B I have ever stayed. Big comfortable bed, clean crisp bedding.
Breakfast was hot, freshly prepared and tasty, tea and coffee freeflowing, served in huge hall overlooking green valley. Make sure you stay for the tour of Castle, most days at 10.30am, takes you from the derelict upper to dark under stage area, a great insight to the past of this wonderful building and grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for your feedback, yes the derelict area which is usually out of bounds has some great history if not as you say creaks and the lights flicker – but it is great that you enjoyed the tour and heard all about the history too!. Your best comment is much pleasing and it is great that you mirror the positive comments for the housekeeping and kitchen, of which both departments will be most happy.

We hope you can visit us again.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my brother's wedding. Stunning location with spectacular views.

The rooms are a bit dated but this adds to the charm of the castle.

The conservatory where the wedding breakfast was served was a spectacular room with fantastic views.

The staff were fantastic and a special mention to the late night barmaid that kept the bar open for our arrival on Thurs night, Great character and an ambassador for Craig y nos as she entertained us with the history of the castle and it's spooky visitors.

Love the dog friendly nature of the hotel and will be booking to return with my canine companion asap.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ceri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thanks for the great review, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed and more so the staff looked after you well.
I am sure that the same welcome will await you on your return and do check out our accommodation deals on line, and next time you come don't forget to take the history tour.

Best Wishes

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

First time in an hotel with our Dog. Not really knowing what to expect. We were treated really well and it could not have been better. There are no restrictions and your dog is made to feel like one of the guests. The dinner was amazing. Best produce and menu changed each evening. Again breakfast was fantastic the nicest bacon and sausages I've ever had in an hotel breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We walked around the grounds and the park. Fantastic stay thank you everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kazza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your great feedback. I am glad that you found the staff looked after you well, and that the food was great both in the evenings and at breakfast.

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
27.1 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,006 reviews
37.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
635 reviews
34 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
511 reviews
33.3 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
538 reviews
13.5 km away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Nos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range: $246 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing