We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coorg O farm(Ammathi)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Homestay - Bee Hive(Ammathi)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coorg Cliffs Resorts(Pollibetta)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alathcad(Ammathi)
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
13
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Went in as a vacation with family of 4 adults and 1 toddler. Overall a great place if you want to just break free of office hustle bustle.

Location: A little off the road, this beauty is nested bang in the middle of coffee estate. It is a slight walk to get to main road, though we didnt have to head out without the car quite often so we were okay. The place has a small lawn and each room has a very small sit out area which is very pleasant early in the morning. You can go for a walk in and around the estate if you like and see the usual coffee shrubs.
Rooms & Amenities: Rooms are old style and we got the ones in Annexe built later than the old bunglow. Being a homestay at a hill station, this didnt have anything you would expect in a hotel - no TV, AC, Fridge in the room. Perhaps for the better. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The bed was king sized though the mattresses werent all that thick.
Food: Food is cooked by their regular helps and the menu is very limited as you would imagine in any household. It was a little spicy for our taste but gives you a good feel of local cuisine. Breakfast & Dinner is served in a very limited window in the dining room and lunch is not served at all so you have to get out to fend for it irrespective. The only grouse that we had was that with a 2 year old kid who was scared of the confines of the dinning room, the hosts didnt allow us to carry food to the room.
Service: Practically unavailable to the room. You have to go to the main bunglow to get a water refill. Happy for some and troublesome for others, depending on your preference.

I enjoyed waking up to birds instead of horns and it was a great experience for me. The kid really took a liking to the pet dogs and that helped him settle in a little better.
The hosts carry with them a great family legacy that they are proud of and are very straightforward. A tour of the artifacts from the legacy is in order if you request.

Overall, I would love to go back just for the location and its serenity.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vnagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

1. Very beautiful homestay. Kariappa family is a genius - excellence in sports, arts and hospitality.
2. They have decorated the homestay very well.
3. Comfortable cosy rooms.
4. She is strict about timings for breakfast and dinner. (which is fine considering maids servants availability). This is NOT a resort so do not expect treatment from various servants.
5. It just gets better when she serves dinner. So delicious and variety of dishes.

Approach road is a bit tricky but once you know your way, there is so much to explore.
They have 4 dogs which are left open from kennel in night. So do not venture out unless you inform them.

Overall - Definitely recommended. I just came back yesterday and already thinking when to book the homestay again !!! :)

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
7  Thank Ashutosh_JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

It was an amazing stay at this place... perfect place for relaxing your senses and having great time with family. Icing on the cake was hospitality extended by aunty and uncle both as we enjoyed every moment of it. Stay was very comfortable and food was yum, specially the "palputu" which was authentic corgi food (first hand experience but a good one ) ... Thums up for this place as we relived every moment right from playing badminton to taking walk across the coffee plantation ... Great journey ...

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shanudc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Awesome well managed property with everything you expect from a homestay. Surroundings will give you a chance to connect to nature. Rooms, bathrooms, dining and common areas are tastefully done and well managed by owners and way above some of other homestays.
This could have been a 5/5 experience but for few things which some of us did not like such as:
- Limited veg snacks/food on offer, specially on the new year eve
- Cost of buffet per person is little bit on the higher side
- Owners expects guests to be respectful of schedule but it can be difficult if you are in vacation mood and travelling as a big group.

Overall it was a good experience and a memorable one.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank AbhinavMahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

An early morning walk across the Polaycad estate is an exhilarating experience. The nip in the air during the month of May and the natural beauty of the foliage is a walker’s delight. Even the moderately inclined botanist will spot the orange, lime, guava, sapota, fig, avocado and jack fruit trees amidst the vast expanses of coffee and pepper plantations.
Robin and Malligea Cariappa are wonderful hosts and they took special care to make our stay comfortable and the food cooked to our liking. Robin is an accomplished sportsman who missed qualifying for the 1964 Tokyo Olympic Games in the triple jump event by a whisker. He also played hockey as a centre forward at the national level and is the Captain of the Golfing Society of Southern India.
The Polaycad bungalow, situated on a sprawling 160 acre plot, was built in 1920 by Robin’s father. The property has been beautifully maintained; many of the furniture pieces are over a hundred years old and the walls and flooring have been preserved all these years with changes made only to the bath room tiling and fittings. The food served during our stay was excellent with a wide variety of traditional dishes from Coorg which included pandi curry, paputtu, akki roti and kadabu.
We reached the Polaycad estate by road from Bangalore in approximately five and a half hours over reasonably good roads although there were some rough stretches. We needed to seek directions to the estate once we reached the town of Ammathi in Coorg (Kodagu). The Cariappas don’t advertise their home stay very much and there were no name boards or signs to guide us to the estate.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HariBaskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews