We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short overnight stay”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

My fiancé & I have stayed at Thurnham Hall previously. Last time we stayed, we were in a lovely courtyard apartment. This time, we were in a huge 2 bedroom apartment in the main house! Wow this was a sizeable apartment indeed, you could hold a huge family gathering here for sure.
We took advantage of the wi fi as unfortunately, we have to keep an eye on work & it is chargeable & my fiancé took advantage of the leisure facilities & enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi & sauna this time round.
It is a shame that breakfast is not offered during the week so we popped into Lancaster later on for some brunch.
If we have Business in Lancaster, then I’m sure we’ll stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kikki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2017

we booked a 1 bedroom apartment. It was really spacious, had a well fitted kitchen and excellent bathroom with roll top bath and separate rainfall shower. The lounge was comfortable with 2 sofas ( one converted to a double bed if needed ), dining table etc. TV only has free view but that was fine for us as we didnt spend much time watching.
Hairdryer didnt work but was quickly exchanged for a brand new one. Reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. Would book again

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Just returned from our three night stay in Thurnham Hall. We stayed in a studio apartment, which was a lovely size. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you would need for a self catering stay.
The main house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and we enjoyed sitting in the bar area in front of the open fire, very festive.
We only ate in the restaurant once, for Sunday dinner, it was very nice and would definitely recommend.
We were room only and the only criticism I have is the price of the extras. The WiFi was nearly £6 a day, and the use of the pool was £10 per couple, with a £1.50 towel hire charge each.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Been a DRI (GVC/Sunterra) member for almost 20 years but recent issues with DRI had resulted in us recently ending our membership, This was our final visit to a DRI resort as members and our previous visits here had always been good.
Stayed for 2 nights in apartment 25. Greeted on entry with a number of Bluebottles which we had successfully dealt with after about 15 minutes or so. Off to the bar to find that all local Lancaster beers had run out and the cask IPA was out as well. Easy to see why the bar was like the Marie Celeste! 2 nights of custom lost. Returned to apartment to find another group of Bluebottles had taken over the kitchen so more time squishing the invaders. Settled in the living area to find a condom wrapper sticking out from under the sofa bed - I suppose it could have been worse! Couple more bluebottles appear so we decided it was time to seek sanctuary in the bedroom. Early out to catch bus into Lancaster where we had a lovely day. Arrived back late to once again be greeted by even more pesky flies. Hopefully the problem will be dealt with before the next guests have to suffer such an experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StuartP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that your stay here at Thurnham Hall did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We apologise that at the time of your visit the local beverages were not available. With regards to the bluebottles, we apologise that you have found them in your apartment, and we regret that this matter had not been reported to us during your stay so that we could address and resolve the situation for you. We do hope that you will get a chance to visit our resort again in the future! Best wishes.
Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Overnight stay. Apartment was fantastic, spacious, well equiped, very well equiped, and extremely comfortable. Onsite pool etc, playground, bar and restaurant. Overall a very nice property. Highly reommended.

Room Tip: Choose an elite room when booking as the offer a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were pleased with the allocated apartment and thought it was spacious and well equipped. We are happy you say you would recommend our resort, and we hope you will come back again soon.
Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
3.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,427 reviews
10.4 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,557 reviews
17.9 km away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,125 reviews
30.6 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.9 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: $76 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing