We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lancaster House(Lancaster)
US$130
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Lancaster M6(Forton)(Great Value!)
US$37
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Toll House Inn(Lancaster)
US$97
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$37
Travelodge
View Deal
Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crofter's Hotel(Garstang)
US$72
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Morecambe(Morecambe)(Great Value!)
US$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Globe Hotel(Overton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
442
192
55
32
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
192
55
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrethe main houseduck pondbedroom apartmentgrounds are lovelyself cateringper dayroaring firefull kitchenwell equipped kitchenbar and restaurantsofa bedrelaxing breakpool and gymliving areafriendly duckstime share
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

we booked a 1 bedroom apartment. It was really spacious, had a well fitted kitchen and excellent bathroom with roll top bath and separate rainfall shower. The lounge was comfortable with 2 sofas ( one converted to a double bed if needed ), dining table etc. TV only has free view but that was fine for us as we didnt spend much time watching.
Hairdryer didnt work but was quickly exchanged for a brand new one. Reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. Would book again

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Just returned from our three night stay in Thurnham Hall. We stayed in a studio apartment, which was a lovely size. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you would need for a self catering stay.
The main house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and we enjoyed sitting in the bar area in front of the open fire, very festive.
We only ate in the restaurant once, for Sunday dinner, it was very nice and would definitely recommend.
We were room only and the only criticism I have is the price of the extras. The WiFi was nearly £6 a day, and the use of the pool was £10 per couple, with a £1.50 towel hire charge each.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Been a DRI (GVC/Sunterra) member for almost 20 years but recent issues with DRI had resulted in us recently ending our membership, This was our final visit to a DRI resort as members and our previous visits here had always been good.
Stayed for 2 nights in apartment 25. Greeted on entry with a number of Bluebottles which we had successfully dealt with after about 15 minutes or so. Off to the bar to find that all local Lancaster beers had run out and the cask IPA was out as well. Easy to see why the bar was like the Marie Celeste! 2 nights of custom lost. Returned to apartment to find another group of Bluebottles had taken over the kitchen so more time squishing the invaders. Settled in the living area to find a condom wrapper sticking out from under the sofa bed - I suppose it could have been worse! Couple more bluebottles appear so we decided it was time to seek sanctuary in the bedroom. Early out to catch bus into Lancaster where we had a lovely day. Arrived back late to once again be greeted by even more pesky flies. Hopefully the problem will be dealt with before the next guests have to suffer such an experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StuartP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that your stay here at Thurnham Hall did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We apologise that at the time of your visit the local beverages were not available. With regards to the bluebottles, we apologise that you have found them in your apartment, and we regret that this matter had not been reported to us during your stay so that we could address and resolve the situation for you. We do hope that you will get a chance to visit our resort again in the future! Best wishes.
Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Overnight stay. Apartment was fantastic, spacious, well equiped, very well equiped, and extremely comfortable. Onsite pool etc, playground, bar and restaurant. Overall a very nice property. Highly reommended.

Room Tip: Choose an elite room when booking as the offer a little more
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were pleased with the allocated apartment and thought it was spacious and well equipped. We are happy you say you would recommend our resort, and we hope you will come back again soon.
Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We are diamond resort members and a weekend away at Thurnham Hall cost us almost £400 in points, accommodation only.

My husband had booked it as a treat for my 50th birthday, he'd told the resort staff that the weekend was a special occasion but this wasn't acknowledged at any point.

We'd decided to take advantage of the restaurant, the breakfast is expensive and not buffet style. Our Friday evening meal was average. However it was our Saturday evening meal which totally ruined our weekend, starters arrived promptly, after a wait of another hour we tried to make enquires but no food appeared, when the waiter told us at 9pm that there would be a further wait we walked out, our meal had been booked for 730, we had hoped to enjoy the evenings entertainment.

The resort is in the middle of nowhere, we had no food with us, at no point did anyone show concern as to what we were going to eat. There was no one on site to complain to.

We've complained since and have been offered a £50 voucher for the restaurant, we live an hour away, fuel would cost almost as much.

We were totally dissatisfied with our stay, particularly in view of the cost to us, we've been totally dissatisfied with the response to our complaint, such a shame as the resort is in a beautiful location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you have experienced disappointment on your recent stay. We apologise that the restaurant experience did not meet with your expectations, and for all inconvenience, we have offered you the £50 voucher that can be used in our restaurant. We do hope that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay here and that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews