We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Manzanillo.”
Review of Casa Namasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Namasol
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Four of us, two couples, stayed here 12 nights at the end of February and beginning of March. Had reserved the two rooms upstairs but ended up staying downstairs the first two nights as the upper was not yet vacated. I would give the upper a 4 and the lower a 2. The upper is much more 'airy'. The location is literally on the edge of town and is great for wildlife viewing. Beautiful tall flowers abound which attracted a huge variety of hummers, butterflies, birds and lizards which we would watch up close off our deck/outdoor covered kitchen area. The howler monkeys woke us up every morning at 5:45 and we watched them every evening while making dinner. You share the deck/kitchen with the other room room so for us travelling together it worked out great! The fridge is a little small but otherwise the countertops were large, stove worked perfectly and it was easy to keep uncluttered and clean. The rooms are large, bathrooms simple, and they have large walk-in showers with good hot water. The beds were the typical for-the-area foam pads and were comfortable, and had the proper bug netting. Mosquitoes were not an issue while we were there and we left the windows wide open the entire time. There was an electrical snafu in our room so our ceiling fan didn't work, so a noisy floor fan had to keep the air moving. There is no A/C. Be aware that you are here on your own. The cleaning lady Marina would stop by in the morning to check on things and ask if we needed our rooms cleaned. She did great. The area is beautiful. It is a 7 minute walk to the water. The beaches are beyond description and many times we were the only souls on 4 miles of sand. Be sure to do a jungle walk with Omar the guide. After hiking with him for 4 hours we did a lot of solo trips on our own. Rent your bikes and kayaks from Bad Bart’s Rentals. We rode up to Punta Uva, Cocles and Puerto easily in half a day. Lots of decent 'sodas' in town to eat with Cool and Calm being our local favorite. Maxi's is good but way over-priced. Best to stock up on groceries and beer in Puerto Viejo as local supplies are pricey. We bought a lot of produce and seafood off the supply trucks that come into town daily. If you see one parked go talk to them. They will sell as cash is king. People here are friendly and helpful, and proud of their small village. Someday I will be back...

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Horble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2016

The lodge is situated directly at the border of the jungle. So in the evening and at night you listen to a tremendous orchestra of rainforests animal biodiversity, while in the morning you can watch the hummingbirds on the balcony in the outdoor kitchen. Every appartment - clean! - provides all the basic stuff you need for a relaxed time. The beach is just a relaxed 5 minutes walk away. Meltema, Molly and colleagues are very supportive if you need information, cleansing, laundry or any other service.
To make it short: A highly recommendable cabina - am looking forward to stay at Casa Namasol again as soon as I´ll be back in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Satchmo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die schönste Aussicht hat man von den Zimmern oben
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anna1232017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: no recomendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
24.5 km away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
12.9 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,509 reviews
28.1 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Se Ua B&B And House Of Adventure
10.5 km away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
240 reviews
1.6 km away
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Almonds and Corals Hotel
#9 of 18 in Manzanillo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Namasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Namasol

Address: Mts From the Dive Shop And 25mts.To the Right 75 | 75 Mts From The Dive Shop And 25 Mts To The Right, Manzanillo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range: $66 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful, cozy rooms and our various jungle tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Namasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Bucus And Tours Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing