We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Buck - Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Burley Manor(Burley)
US$141
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$180
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$137
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveller rating
626
251
59
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
251
59
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindulgence roomnew forestwalk in showerhomemade biscuitslovely hotelcomfy roomroll top bathlittle touchesbeautiful locationbar areaexcellent staythe pubexcellent foodopen firestayed for one nightrelaxing stayan evening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 973 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for four nights on our minimoon in late March and brought our dog along. Room was beautiful and better than we were expecting, as was the rest of the building (the pub and restaurant). Lots of little extras such as dog treats and hot water bottles in our room. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and cooked to order. We also chose to eat here for three of the evenings because the food was lovely. The staff were all very polite and pleasant. Can imagine it gets very busy in the summer as there is also a large outdoor area with lots of tables.

On checking out we raised a couple of minor issues that we had experienced and the feedback was received very politely and with genuine interest. They did not impact how much we enjoyed our stay and were dealt with very well.

Great location for exploring the New Forest and South Coast. Would definitely stay again if we come back to the New Forest and recommend it to others.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, General Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jo B

Thank you for your feedback following your minimoon with us. I am really pleased you had a good time and that the couple of minor issues were resolved with Dawn

Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in the New Forest. The staff are very hospitable and kind, and the atmosphere is of a generous,happy,hotel that enjoys looking after its’ residents.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Maxc120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, General Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Maxc120

Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased your time with us was very enjoyable, we hope to see you again soon

Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a superb weekend at the White Buck. The room was beautiful, the staff very friendly and attentive and the food delicious.
Walking and bike riding in the New Forest from the Hotel was amazing.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, General Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hilary A

Thank you for you great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your birthday with us and we hope you find the time to visit again soon

Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I haven’t been to the White Buck for a long while as the last time I came here with family it didn’t compare to our previous visits over the years. The standards and food quality wasn’t good. I decided last minute to give them another try on my way to Dorset. I was pleased I had. Although it’s a little pricey, the food was delicious and the service good. I took my little dog in with me and he was most welcome, he loved the complimentary dog biscuits.
We shall certainly be coming back again and will be bringing friends next time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, General Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Julie A

Thank you for your review and your visit yesterday. I was really pleased to see you and glad you enjoyed your experience.

Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall a lovely hotel but if visiting in winter pack your thermals it was certainly not hot. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have tea/coffee and home made biscuits which were a nice treat. The bar area is lovely with a real fire but very busy at the weekend. Service could be better you aren't made to feel special but then it is in a location where you will probably be out walking most of the day. Do make sure you do a bit of research on where you want to walk and print out some maps before leaving home as there are no recommendations or maps in the rooms the best place is to pick up one at the local cycling shop in Burley.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteBuckInnManager, General Manager at The White Buck - Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Traveller

Thank you for your review following your winter visit. We have taken your feedback on board and have maps ready for guests who wish to use them. Should we not have any walks required by the guests we are happy to find and print any required.

Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews