We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
192
17
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
17
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor spabeach hideawayour honeymoonwonderful hostsbubble bathmornington peninsulalittle touchesvery special placecelebrate our anniversarysand dunesbush settingshort walkgreat attention to detailbottle of sparklingamazing locationnational parkgrazing platter
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

met by a warm greeting by the hosts who quickly helped us settle in and the left us to our own devices unless we needed them. facilities very good and in a great spot, nice and private. Don't underestimate the walk to the beach, its fund but a bit further than you think

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Colin it was lovely to have you and Jo to stay. We are thrilled that you enjoy your hideaway and the location of Big Blue Backyard, (even though the stones painted with blue arrows didn't whisk you down the bush path to the beach quicker!) We do look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I've just stayed here for three days to recover from my flight from the UK, and to adjust to Australian time, before starting the work part of my trip. My hideaway was perfect - very comfortable bed, great shower/products, and total peace amongst the bush. Lisa was a discreet and very friendly and helpful presence, and Paul cooks the most exceptional food. A short walk through the garden brings you to the roaring ocean at St Andrews beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Geoff, thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you loved your stay.
It was super having you here and we do look forward to your return next time you have cross the world!
Hope your busy schedule in Sydney went well and that at least got a game of tennis in.
Best Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights and could of stayed another three!! The perfect start to our honeymoon.
The attention to detail and room decor (we stayed in the Bush hideaway) was stunning.
The breakfasts and chef cooked meal was mouthwatering.
We will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Breanna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Hi Breanna
We are thrilled that you loved your 'honeymoon' Bush hideaway.

It was lovely to have you here for this very special time and we certainly look forward to your return. Maybe for your 1st Anniversary??

Best Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This is a beautiful boutique accommodation on the picturesque Mornington Peninsula. Three little cabins are hosted by the lovely Lisa, who has the perfect balance of charisma, charm and sense for personal space. Her partner Paul is the excellent chef behind the cooked breakfasts and the (on the request) in room dinner dining. Our room had a spacious bathroom, king bed and TV with a small selection of DVDs. The kitchenette has tea and coffee, some complimentary nibbles and breakfast supplies are restocked daily.

Outdoors, we had a private spa-bath surrounded by dense coastal shrub. Nothing like lying back with a glass of bubbly while birds flit in and out of the branches around you. The back of the property leads straight onto the beach. Walking along the sand and among the rockpools here was a real highlight. Nearby are excellent restaurants, horse riding and galleries.

This is an intimate, very high quality experience that I could not recommend more.

NB: The WiFi is weak. I couldn't do much online without sitting outside, but I wasn't here with business outstanding so it did not detract from my time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This was by far one of the most amazing places that my husband Tony & I have ever stayed (& we have travelled a lot interstate and overseas at mostly 4-5 star. This was a surprise for him for our 1 year wedding anniversary & it surpassed all expectations. Lisa was such a kind and genuine person, we felt at home from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the Dunes Hideaway room & it was so fresh, relaxing & romantic. The low trees and vines give such a serene and secluded feel. There were always birds chirping in the trees and the wind was always lightly blowing. The room as well as out door area was spotless & the little things made a huge impact. Everything in the fridge was complementary, this included soft drinks and a bottle of bubbly as well as some fresh avocado, cheese and salmon served up on a plate. We had complementary biscuits and even little gifts of a massage bar, lip balm and body lotion on our bed when we arrived. They even thought to wish us a happy anniversary on the chalk board in the bathroom! One of the days I had some heat stroke and Lisa gave us some Panadol and replenished the cold water in the fridge to ensure I was okay. You certainly don't get that kind of thing at a hotel! We had the complete package with massages in the early afternoon & a candle lit dinner on one of the nights and the food was amazing! Definitely recommend the beef fillet and the best pavlova we've had to date! We were disappointed we couldn't devour the whole thing! On the morning of check out, Lisa had cooked up a beautiful breakfast that we ate inside our room before we sadly headed home. The food was to die for. We would absolutely recommend this place to everyone we know (we haven't stopped telling people about it since we got back) and hopefully will send my parents up soon too!

Thank you so much Lisa & Paul for such a memorable few days away and for making the surprise even better! Merry Christmas & we hope you enjoy a well deserved break! Bojana & Tony

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank demsaboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you Bojana & Tony

What a wonderful Christmas time review.
It was really lovely meeting you both and having you to stay.
Paul and I are thrilled that you loved your hideaway and everything in it
We are thrilled that you got Big Blue Backyard!

Merry Merry Christmas to you too !
Looking forward to having you back to try one of the other
hideaways for another #LOVEcelebration.

Best Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews