We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service people... especially fnb sucks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Balai Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Balai Isabel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Service people... especially fnb sucks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had fun... the place is ok. Aircon is good. Rooms are clean enough... but the restaurant people are either very slow at thinking or theyre just being lazy. They would tell u to get glasses at the restaurant instead of yhem delivering it... they would always tell you that ala carte will take a while to prepare.. and worst of all.. they will tell you that theyre busy so u have to wait. But after waiting a good 3 hours... theyre still busy.hehehe

As for the front office... they are very courteous... only problem is... their whole system is messed up. They add too many extra charges... the staff are doing their own kickbacks and added charges if you dont look close. Safeguards are renting out salbabidas with no receipt kasi pang meryenda raw nila. I mean... what the hell right?

Either management allows this... tolerates it... or they dont know that these things are happening. But either way.. this will definitely be their reason for downfall if they dont find a solution for this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    202
    138
    41
    49
See reviews for
255
74
6
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
246 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This resort is a popular wedding venue and photos I've seen were very lovely so seeing the resort was a bit of a let down. Don't get me wrong. The view of Taal Volcano was spectacular and the infinity pool was lovely especially at night with lights dripping from the trees. But aside from that, everything else was ordinary. The 3-bedroom villa we stayed in had seen better days. It was not very clean and the utensils looked really worn. The stairs made a creepy sound as you go up and down, plus they were so narrow. It was also quite far from the pools (there were 3) and the service vehicle which was supposed to transport guests around the club took ages to come. Plus, we really didn't know how to call for one. There were no instructions in the villa for this. We had complimentary breakfast which was nothing special too. Plus, the service personnel in the dining room didn't seem to know what they were actually serving. The other 3 meals we had were all disappointing in taste. I thought that a venue such as this would have worked on their menu, at the very least. During two instances, the buffet even run out of some dishes. For the price of the rooms, I'd say this place is overpriced because aside from the view it really presented nothing new. One could definitely get better service and facilities elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Bingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
426 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had our big company event here Jan. 2010, and at that time, almost all rooms we blocked on that weekend. The room is okay, we are in the second floor so we have a good view and a terrace. The rooms have two beds, LCD TV with cable and shower bathroom. There is a swimming pool overlooking the lake and it has a nice view. The food is okay, filipino and western food and have a good taste.

All in all, we had a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had a weekend at Balai Isabel Batangas Philippines, 2 hours from Manila,

on the way to Balai it took 2 hours starting around 8am, arrived around 10:15am Saturday.
some roads are being repaired along the way.

upon arrival, wind is good as if the place is a previous subdivision class with a large garden

reception was good,

TIP: the check in time is around 2 or 3 in the afternoon, if your going to arrive earlier than that make it around 12 or 1 because they serve lunch around 12:30pm

upon check in i was amazed on the rooms

nice rooms and the aircon is good, small ref and a small kitchen.

only problem the room that we're in has a problem with flash that was a minor thing

the whole place is huge
1 big pool
1 small pool
1 normal pool

1 wedding reception and a church

you can rent a bike
the basketball court is not that good because one of the ring is not maintained properly

food

the food is good from lunch, dinner and breakfast

over all average

it is good for normal family outing or birthday place

for company offsite or major events like wedding
for me this is a little bit not the place to be


cheers!

Room Tip: rent a whole villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

A very convenient place to stay just to relax. Clean surroundings. Rooms just need a little bit of renovation. Accommodating staff. A lot of swimming pool to choose from.

Overall experience, it was a fun stay!!!!

Room Tip: Cheaper to book directly to the hotel...l
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gcrevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talisay
45.5 km away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
43.8 km away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
42.7 km away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.1 km away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
46.3 km away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
27.4 km away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Balai Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Balai Isabel

Property: Club Balai Isabel
Address: Taal Lake | Banga, Talisay, Luzon 4220, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Price range (per night): $106 - $177
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Balai Isabel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the shores of the world-famous Taal Lake and across from its volcano is a place where you can relax, connect and be with nature. Club Balai Isabel offers an option for an active lifestyle with all the comforts of city living. A mere fifteen minutes from the Tagaytay ridge, it offers an up-close and personal view of the lake and its world-famous volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Club Balai Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Balai Isabel Hotel Talisay
Hotel Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel Talisay, Batangas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing