We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Review of Bell & Bear

Bell & Bear
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Olney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant features Modern European cuisine with an emphasis on local produce in an old fashioned setting. The bar specialises in interesting Real Ale & Cider with a small tapas menu
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We were staying on a hotel break nearby and found the Bell and Bear on TA.
Fascinated by the "reprinted facebook statement" on their website, and their menu we visited, and were not dissappointed.
The starters were good ( squid and pate) - but the main courses of guinea fowl and beef both excellent, with imaginative vegetables and wonderful sauces.
The Staff were courteous, efficient and fun - and the location in the middle of this pretty village ideal - easy to see how they have achieved what they set out to do, combining a "village heart" pub without pretentions with a restaurant serving "high end food". We would recommend this pub highly ( do read the website and book in advance)

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowySoph, Owner at Bell & Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We can only say thank you, and that we are touched. We, as a small family team try very hard to make people happy, we know we are not perfect but feedback like this makes us feel better about what we do and why we do it.

We hope enjoyed the rest of your visit.

Jon, Sophie, Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Another fantastic roast sirloin. We had the pate and squid as starter and the lemon posset to finish. Excellent service as always. The best place to eat for miles around.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank B5023GHsuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowySoph, Owner at Bell & Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Our Sunday beef is always sourced from the best, we don't just mean a reasonably wholesaler, we mean local farmers and butchers,. Using a quality cut like sirloin and not cutting corners is so important. Our benchmark is to ensure you're getting a Sunday roast better than you get at home. We have customers that come every week for Sunday beef and have done for years. Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.

Jon, Sophie, Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Came here with my mum and sister after a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed in the least!

The pub is a little tired inside and very small but it adds to its charm!

We were greeted by very friendly staff and we noticed straight away they had a good rapport with a few tables - regulars we assumed, good sign!

We all ordered different dishes for each course and not a single one of us was disappointed! The food was absolutely stunning and the service was top notch to match!

We can’t wait to return here and try some more of the chefs work!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank sophh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowySoph, Owner at Bell & Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

If you think the pub looks tired now you should've seen it 8 years ago when we started!

We make no secret of the fact that we simply cannot afford the big refurb like some other local pubs, as much as we would love to. We also realise you can't eat a chandelier and you can't drink a sofa, nor will posh wallpaper look after you, so we are so pleased that you all had a great time.

This is one of our all time favourite reviews as it's not often people see us for what we try to be and that makes us feel so much better.

Thanks to all of you ladies, we hope to see you soon.

Cheers!

Jon, Sophie, Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We went for lunch today with our friends, the pub were very accommodating with a time change on our booking. We were seated straight away, there was our table of 4 and another table of 15. Our drinks were delivered promptly and orders taken for our food. We received our lovely presented starters on slate, chicken liver pate was delicious. Followed by our main courses 3 had the chicken in bacon sauce and the other had battered hake all of us really enjoyed our meals almost 4 clean plates. The pub has a friendly family run feeling vibe, staff were pleasant and friendly. We didn’t have room for deserts on this visit maybe next time. Thank you for a lovely lunch we will visit again for an evening meal soon.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tiggerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowySoph, Owner at Bell & Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank's for your kind words. We are very pleased you had a nice time, it's not always easy to guarantee in such a small space when there are large parties. Thanks for your kind words.

All the best.

Jon, Sophie, Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Just a fantastic place to eat and drink really. I’ve been here many times for a local beer, and for some incredible meals too. Jon and Sophie run the place really well, and the rest of the staff are excellent too. That being said there’s a far too friendly old man behind the bar, I think they let him work so he has something to do... ;)

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank hourman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowySoph, Public Relations Manager at Bell & Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

This 'barman' as he calls himself appreciates he has been noticed. His response was a rather chipper:
"Arrrrrrrr Waaaaaaa?" we believe he means "Oh What?"

He does set also good example to staff and customers with his four drink limit.

Drink Responsibly.

Team Bell & Bear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell & Bear also viewed

Weston Underwood, Olney
Olney, Buckinghamshire
 
Olney, Buckinghamshire
Olney, Buckinghamshire
 
Maulden, Bedfordshire
North Crawley, Milton Keynes
 

Been to Bell & Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing